Case law
- RefWorldRefworld is the leading source of information necessary for taking quality decisions on refugee status. Includes foreign law legislation
- European Database of Asylum LawIncludes significant European cases. Searchable in English.
- Human Trafficking Knowledge PortalComprehensive database including cases involving human trafficking.
Case law databases
Key databases for Australian case law
Key databases for Australian case law- Lexis+Lexis Advance contains Australian and New Zealand reported and unreported decisions. Citator information can be accessed via CaseBase.
- Westlaw AustraliaWestlaw Australia contains Australian and New Zealand legal content including cases, legislation, looseleaf services, and journal articles. Westlaw Australia replaces Westlaw AU.
- CCH iKnowConnectProvides full-text access to primary and secondary materials relating to domestic and global securities, banking, trade regulation, government contracts, telecom, information technology, federal energy guidelines, transportation law, and products liability and safety.
- Australasian Legal Information Institute : AustLIIThis free service contains judgments from all Australian jurisdictions. Citator information can be accessed via Lawcite.
- JadeAccess Australian legislation and case law using this free service. Includes JADE Citator Search.
Key databases for International or foreign case law
- Westlaw UKContains UK and some European case law. Use Law Reports Online to access decisions from the authorised law reports (AC, Ch, Fam, QB).
- ICLR onlineContains full collection of authorised law reports (AC, Ch, Fam, QB) for England and Wales from 1865 onwards.
- LexisNexis (International)Contains extensive collection of case law with primary focus on North America. Includes international case law collection.
- WestlawIncludes case law from Australia, UK, Europe, Canada, Hong Kong and the United States. Contains international case law.
- HeinOnlineContains full reprint of English Reports, Canadian Supreme Court Reports, Early American case law and the United States Supreme Court Library.
Case books
Migration and Refugee Law in Australia: Cases and Commentary by Publication Date: 2006
UNHCR Compilation of Case Law on Refugee Protection in International LawPublication Date: 2008
Find a case by abbreviation or law report title
Use this list to find commonly used law report series and court abbreviations. Abbreviations for courts are not hyperlinked. If the abbreviation you were looking for does not appear in the list, please check one of the below abbreviation directories:
- AAtlantic Reporter
- A 2dAtlantic Reporter, Second Series
- A Crim RAustralian Criminal Reports
- AALRAustralian Argus Law Reports
- AARAdministrative Appeals Reports
- AATAdministrative Appeals Tribunal
- AATAAdministrative Appeals Tribunal (of Australia)
- ACLaw Reports. Appeal Cases 1890-
- ACATACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal
- ACCAustralian Company Law Cases
- ACDAdministrative Court Digest
- ACLCAustralian Company Law Cases
- ACLRAustralian Company Law Reports
- ACompTAustralian Competition Tribunal
- ACopyTAustralian Copyright Tribunal
- ACTAATAustralian Capital Territory Administrative Appeals Tribunal
- ACTCAAustralian Capital Territory Court of Appeal
- ACTSCSupreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory (including Full Court)
- ACSRAustralian Corporations and Securities Reports
- ACTRAustralian Capital Territory Reports
- Ad & ElAdolphus and Ellis's Reports
- AdamAdam's Justiciary Reports
- ADFDATDefence Force Discipline Appeal Tribunal
- AERAll England Law Reports
- AFTRAustralian Federal Tax Reporter
- AILRAustralian Industrial Law Reports
- AINAustralian & New Zealand Insurance Cases
- AIPCAustralian Intellectual Property Cases
- AIRCAustralian Industrial Relations Commission
- AIRCFBAustralian Industrial Relations Commission — Full Bench
- AJRAustralian Jurist Reports
- ALDAdministrative Law Decisions
- ALJRAustralian Law Journal Reports
- All ERAll England Law Reports
- All ER ARAll England Law Reports Annual Review
- All ER (Comm)All England Law Reports (Commercial Cases)
- All ER Rep ExtAll England Law Reports Reprint, Australian Extension Volumes
- All ER ReprintAll England Law Reports Annual Review
- All SAThe South African Law Reports
- ALMDAustralian Legal Monthly Digest
- ALRThe Argus Law Reports
- ALRAustralian Law Reports
- ALTThe Australian Law Times
- AMCAmerican Maritime Cases
- ANZ ConvRAustralian and New Zealand Conveyancing Reports
- ANZ ICAustralian & New Zealand Insurance Cases
- APADAustralian Planning Appeal Decisions
- App.CasLaw Reports. Appeal Cases 1875-90
- ARIndustrial Arbitration Reports, New South Wales
- Ar RepArgus Reports, Victoria
- Arg LRArgus Law Reports
- Arg RepArgus Reports
- AspAspinall's Reports of Maritime Cases
- Asp MCAspinall's Maritime Cases
- ASRAustralian Social Security Cases
- ATCAustralasian Tax Decisions
- AtkAtkyn's Chancery Reports
- ATPRAustralian Trade Practices Reporter
- ATRAustralian Tax Reports
- Aust Jur RAustralian Jurist Reports
- Aust JurAustralian Jurist
- Aust Torts ReportsAustralian Torts Reports
- B & AdBarnewall and Adolphus's Reports
- B & AldBarnewall and Alderson's Reports
- B & CBarnewall and Cresswell's Reports
- B & SBest and Smith's Reports
- BCCBritish Company Cases
- BCLCButterworths Company Law Cases
- BCLRBritish Columbia Law Reports
- Best & SimBest and Smith's Reports
- Bing NCBingham's New Cases, English Common Pleas
- Black HHenry Blackstone's Common Pleas Reports
- BLRBuilding Law Reports
- BLRGButterworths Local Government Reports
- BMCBritish Maritime Cases
- Bos & PBosanquet and Puller's Reports
- Bos & PNRBosanquet and Puller's New Reports, Common Pleas
- Bott PLBott's Poor Law Cases
- Brod & BingBroderip and Bingham's Reports
- BrownBrown's Reports
- BulstBulstrode's King's Bench Reports
- BunbBunbury's Exchequer Reports
- BurrBurrow's King's Bench Reports
- Cab & EllCababe and Ellis's Queen's Bench Reports
- Can CCCanadian Criminal Cases
- Can S CtCanada Supreme Court Reports
- CampCampbell's Nisi Prius Reports
- CARCommonwealth Arbitration Reports
- Car & PCarrington and Payne's Nisi Prius Reports
- CCCounty Court
- CCCrown Cases
- CCCrown Court
- CCACourt of Criminal Appeal
- CCPCourt of Common Pleas
- CCRCounty Court Reports
- CFRescueil des arrets de la Cour Federale du Canada
- ChLaw Reports. Chancery Division
- Ch AppLaw Reports. Chancery Appeal Cases
- Ch DLaw Reports. Chancery Division
- ChitChitty's King's Bench Practice Reports
- CLCAustralian Company Law Cases
- CLRCommonwealth Law Reports
- CMLRCommon Market Law Reports
- CMLR(AS)Common Market Law Reports, Antitrust Reports
- Co RepCoke's Reports
- CokeCoke's King's Bench Reports
- ComComyn's Reports
- Comm ARCommonwealth Arbitration Reports
- CowpCowper's Reports
- CoxCox's Reports
- CP RepCivil Procedure Reports
- CPLaw Reports. Common Pleas
- CPDLaw Reports. Common Pleas Division
- Crim App RepCriminal Appeal Reports
- Crim LRCriminal Law Review
- Ct Rev (Qld)Court of Review (Qld)
- Ct of SessionsCourt of Sessions
- CTBRCommonwealth Taxation Board of Review Decisions
- CTBR (NS)Taxation Board of Review Decisions, New Series
- D & RDecisions and Reports of the European Court of Human Rights
- DCRNew Zealand District Court Reports
- De G & JDe Gex and Jones' Chancery Reports
- De G F & JDe Gex, Fisher and Jones Reports
- De G J & SmDe Gex, Jones and Smith's Reports
- De G M & GDe Gex, Macnaghten and Gordon's Reports
- DFCAustralian De Facto Relationships Cases
- DLRDominion Law Reports (Can)
- DLR (2d)Dominion Law Reports, Second Series (Can)
- DLR (3d)Dominion Law Reports, Third Series (Can)
- DLR (4d)Dominion Law Reports, Fourth Series (Can)
- DPPDirector of Public Prosecutions
- ECHREuropean Court of Human Rights
- ECJEuropean Court of Justice
- ECREuropean Court Reports
- ECRReports of Cases before the Court
- ECRReports of Cases before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance
- ECR-SCEuropean Court Reports. Reports of Community Staff Cases
- EHRREuropean Human Rights Reports
- ELREnvironmental Law Reporter of NSW
- EOCEqual Opportunity Cases
- EOTEqual Opportunity Tribunal
- EqEquity Court
- Eq CasesLaw Reports, Equity Cases
- EREnglish Reports
- ETMREuropean Trade Mark Reports
- ETSEuropean Treaty Series
- EUEuropean Union
- Eu LREuropean Law Reports
- Eur Court HR (ser A)European Court of Human Rights Series A: Judgments and Decisions
- Eur Court HR (ser B)Pleadings, Oral Arguments and Documents, European Court of Human Rights
- Ex DLaw Reports, Exchequer Division
- FFederal Reporter
- F 2dFederal Reporter, Second Series
- F 3dFederal Reporter, Third Series
- F SuppFederal Supplement
- FamLaw Reports, Family Division
- Fam L RepFamily Law Reporter
- Fam LRFamily Law Reports (Aust)
- FamCAFamily Court of Australia
- FamCAFCFamily Court of Australia — Full Court
- FCFederal Court
- FCCanada Federal Court Reports
- FCFull Court
- FCAFederal Court of Australia
- FCAFCFederal Court of Australia — Full Court
- FCRFederal Court Reports
- Fed LRFederal Law Reports
- FLCAustralian Family Law Cases or Family Law Cases
- FLRFamily Law Reports
- FLRFederal Law Reports
- FLRThe Fiji Law Reports
- FMCAFederal Magistrates' Court of Australia
- FMCAfamFederal Magistrates' Court of Australia — Family Law
- FSFederal Supplement (USA)
- FWAFair Work Australia
- FWAFBFair Work Australia — Full Bench
- GLRGazette Law Reports
- HansardParliamentary Debates
- HC of AHigh Court of Australia
- HCAHigh Court of Australia
- HCABHigh Court of Australia Bulletin
- HCASLHigh Court of Australia — Special Leave Dispositions
- HCATransHigh Court of Australia — Transcript
- HCJBHigh Court Judgements Bulletin
- HCt CanHigh Court of Canada
- HKCHong Kong Cases
- HKCFARHong Kong Court of Final Appeal Reports
- HKLRHong Kong Law Reports
- HKLRDHong Kong Law Reports and Digest
- HLHouse of Lords
- HRCDHuman Rights Case Digest
- HREOCHuman Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission
- IASCRIndustrial Arbitration Service Current Review
- IC (Qld)Industrial Court, Qld
- ICCInternational Chamber of Commerce
- ICJInternational Court of Justice
- ICJRInternational Court of Justice Reports =
Recueil des arrets, avis consultatifs et ordonnances - ICJYBInternational Court of Justice Yearbook
- ICRIndustrial Cases Reports
- IHRRInternational Human Rights Reports
- ILRInternational Law Reports
- IMTInternational Military Tribunal
- IPRIntellectual Property Reports
- IRIndustrial Reports
- IRSouth Australian Industrial Reports
- Ir RThe Irish Reports
- IRCIndustrial Relations Commission
- IRC of AIndustrial Relations Court of Australia
- IRCAIndustrial Relations Court of Australia
- IRCRIndustrial Relations Court Reports
- IRTImmigration Review Tribunal
- ITELRInternational Trust and Estate Law Reports
- ITLOSInternational Tribunal for the Law of the Sea
- KBDLaw Reports. King's Bench Division 1901-51
- L & TRLandlord and Tenant Reports
- L EdLawyers' Edition of the Supreme Court Reports
- LECLand and Environment Court (New South Wales)
- Leg RepLegal Reporter
- LGERALocal Government and Environmental Reports of Australia
- LGRALocal Government Reports of Australia
- Lloyd's RepLloyd's Law Reports
- Lloyd's RepLloyd's List Law Reports
- LRLaw Reports 1865-
- LR Adm & EcclAdmiralty and Ecclesiastical Cases
- LR CCHLaw Reports. Crown Cases Reserved 1865-75
- LR Ch AppLaw Reports. Chancery Appeal Cases
- LR CPLaw Reports. Common Pleas 1865-75
- LR (NSW)New South Wales Law Reports
- LR EqLaw Reports, Equity Cases 1865-75
- LR ExLaw Reports, Exchequer 1865-75
- LR HLLaw Reports. English and Irish Appeals and Peerage Claims, House of Lords
- LR Ind AppThe Law Reports. Indian Appeals
- LR PCLaw Reports, Privy Council Appeals 1865-75
- LR P&DLaw Reports, Probate and Divorce Cases 1865-75
- LR QBLaw Reports, Queen's Bench 1865-75
- LR RPLaw Reports, Restrictive Practices 1957-72
- LRCLaw Reports of the Commonwealth
- LRC (Comm)Law Reports of the Commonwealth, Commercial Law Reports
- LRC (Const)Law Reports of the Commonwealth, Constitutional and Administrative Law Reports
- LRC (Crim)Law Reports of the Commonwealth, Criminal Law Reports
- LRIAThe Law Reports. Indian Appeals
- LRP & DLaw Reports, Probate and Divorce Cases 1865-75
- LRPCLaw Reports, Privy Council
- LRPDLaw Reports, Probate Division
- LRQBLaw Reports, Queen's Bench
- LRQBDLaw Reports Queen's Bench Division
- LTLaw Times
- LTNSLaw Times Reports, New Series
- LTRLaw Times Reports
- Mar LCNSAspinall's Maritime Law Cases, New Series
- MCMagistrates' Court
- Med LRMedical Law Reports
- MPMember of Parliament
- MRTAMigration Review Tribunal of Australia
- NFSCSupreme Court of Norfolk Island
- NNTTANational Native Title Tribunal
- NSWADTNew South Wales Administrative Decisions Tribunal
- NSWADTAPNew South Wales Administrative Decisions Tribunal — Appeal Panel
- NSWCANew South Wales Court of Appeal
- NSWCCCompensation Court of New South Wales
- NSWCCANew South Wales Court of Criminal Appeal
- NSWCSATCommunity Services Appeals Tribunal of New South Wales
- NSWDCDistrict Court of New South Wales
- NSWDRGCDrug Court of New South Wales
- NSWFTTFair Trading Tribunal of New South Wales
- NSWIRCommIndustrial Court of New South Wales
- NSWLECLand and Environment Court of New South Wales
- NSWLRNew South Wales Law Reports
- NSWRNew South Wales Reports
- NSWSCSupreme Court of New South Wales
- NTCANorthern Territory Court of Appeal
- NTCCANorthern Territory Court of Criminal Appeal
- NTSCSupreme Court of the Northern Territory (including Full Court)
- NZLRNew Zealand Law Reports
- MVRMotor Vehicle Reports
- OROntario Reports
- PLaw Reports, Probate 1891-1971
- PC AppLaw Reports, Privy Council Appeals
- PCAPermanent Court of Arbitration
- PCIJPermanent Court of International Justice
- PCIJPublications of the Permanent Court of International Justice
- PDLaw Reports, Probate Division 1875-90
- PDSCPractice Direction Supreme Court (Qld)
- PILCHPublic Interest Law Clearing House
- PNGLRPapua and New Guinea Law Reports
- PPParliamentary Paper
- Priv C AppPrivy Council Appeals
- ProbLaw Reports, Probate Division
- Prob & DivLaw Reports, Probate and Divorce
- Q CARQueensland Criminal Reports
- Q Case NoteQueensland Law Reporter Case Note
- Q Conv RQueensland Conveyancing Reports
- Q Ct of Cr APPQueensland Court of Criminal Appeal
- QARQueensland Administrative Reports
- QADTQueensland Anti-Discrimination Tribunal
- QBLaw Reports, Queen's Bench 1891-1901 1952-
- QBDLaw Reports, Queen's Bench Division 1875-1890
- QBRQueen's Bench Reports, (Adolphus & Ellis, New Series) 1841-1852
- QBTQueensland Building Tribunal
- QCQueen's Counsel
- QCAQueensland Court of Appeal
- QCLLRCrown Lands Law Reports (Queensland Land Court) 1859-1973
- QCATQueensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal
- QCLRQueensland Criminal Reports
- QCRQueensland Criminal Reports
- Qd RQueensland Reports
- QDCQueensland Disctrict Court
- QGAATQueensland Guardianship and Administration Tribunal
- QI CtQueensland Industrial Court
- QICQueensland Industrial Commission
- QJPQueensland Justice of the Peace Reports
- QL BeorBeor's Queensland Law Reports
- QLACLand Appeal Court of Queensland
- QLATQueensland Liquor Appeals Tribunal
- QLCQueensland Land Appeal Court
- QLCLand Court of Queensland
- QLCRQueensland Land Court Reports
- QLJ (NC)Queensland Law Journal (Notes of Cases)
- QLJRQueensland Law Journal Reports
- QLRQueensland Law Reporter
- QLRQueensland Law Reports
- QLR (Beor)Beor's Queensland Law Reports
- QLRCQueensland Law Reform Commission
- QLRTQueensland Land and Resources Tribunal
- QMTQueenland Medical Tribunal
- QNTJBQueensland and Northern Territory Judgments Bulletin
- QPEQueensland Planning and Environment Court
- QPECPlanning and Environment Court of Queensland
- QPELRQueensland Planning and Environmental Law Reports
- QPLRQueensland Planning Law Reports
- QRQueensland Reports
- QSCSupreme Court of Queensland
- QSCRQueensland Supreme Court Reports
- QSRQueensland State Reports
- Queens LJQueensland Law Journal Reports
- Queens LRQueensland Law Reports by Beor 1876-1878
- QWNQueensland Weekly Notes
- R Int Arb AwardsReports of International Arbitral Awards
- RCSRecueil des arrêts de la Cour Suprême du Canada (Canada Supreme Court reports)
- Rev RRevised Reports
- RIAAReports of International Arbitral Awards
- RRTARefugee Review Tribunal of Australia
- RRTDRefugee Review Tribunal Decisions
- S CtSupreme Court Reporter
- S Pac LRSouth Pacific Law Reports
- SASouth African Law Reports
- SACCASouth Australian Court of Criminal Appeal
- SADCSouth Australian District Court
- SAEOTSouth Australian Equal Opportunity Tribunal
- SAERDCEnvironment, Resources and Development Court of South Australia
- SAI CtSouth Australian Industrial Court
- SAICSouth Australian Industrial Commission
- SAIRSouth Australian Industrial Reports
- SAIRCIndustrial Relations Court of South Australia
- SAIRCommIndustrial Relations Commission of South Australia
- SALRSouth Australian Law Reports (1865-1920).
- SAPRSouth Australian Planning Reports
- SARSouth Australian Industrial Reports
- SASCSupreme Court of South Australia (including Full Court until end of 2009)
- SASCFCSupreme Court of South Australia — Full Court
- SASRSouth Australian State Reports
- SAWCATWorkers Compensation Appeal Tribunal of South Australia
- SAWCTWorkers Compensation Tribunal of South Australia
- SCCSupreme Court of Canada
- Scot LRScottish Law Report
- Scots LTRScots Law Times Reports
- SCRSupreme Court Reports (Canada)
- SCR LeggeLegge's Supreme Court Cases (NSW)
- SCR (NS) (NSW)Supreme Court Reports (New Series) (NSW) 1878-1879
- SCR (NSW)Supreme Court Reports (New South Wales)1862-1876
- SCR (Q)Supreme Court of Queensland Reports 1860-1881
- Seld Soc RepSelden Society Reports
- SLTScots Law Times
- So Afr LRSouth African Law Reports
- SALRSouth Australian Law Reports (1865-1920).
- SQRState Reports Queensland
- SR (NSW)The State Reports (New South Wales)
- SR (NSW) B & PState Reports (New South Wales) Bankruptcy and Probate 1901-1970
- SR (NSW) EqState Reports (New South Wales) Equity 1901-1970
- SR (WA)The State Reports (Western Australia)
- SRQState Reports Queensland
- SSATSocial Security Appeals / Administrative Tribunal
- SSRSocial Security Reporter
- St R QdQueensland State Reports 1902-1957
- St RQState Reports Queensland 1902-1957
- St TrCobbett and Howell's State Trials
- Tas CCATasmanian Court of Criminal Appeal
- Tas Irreg NotesTasmanian Irregular Notes
- Tas LRCTasmanian Law Reform Commission
- Tas RTasmanian Reports
- Tas R (NC)Tasmanian Reports (Notes of Cases)
- Tas SR (NC)Tasmanian Reports (Notes of Cases)
- TASADTAnti-Discrimination Tribunal of Tasmania
- TASCCATasmanian Court of Criminal Appeal
- TASFCSupreme Court of Tasmania — Full Court
- TASRMPATResources Management and Planning Appeal Tribunal of Tasmania
- TASSCSupreme Court of Tasmania (including Full Court until end of 2009)
- TLRTasmanian Law Reports
- TLRThe Times Law Reports
- TPCDTrade Practices Commission Decisions and Determinations 1977-1982
- TPRTrade Practices Reports
- UKHLUnited Kingdom House of Lords
- UKHRRUnited Kingdom Human Rights Reports
- UKSCSupreme Court of the United Kingdom
- UNHCRUnited Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
- UNHRCUnited Nations Human Rights Commission
- UNHRCRUnited Nations Human Rights Committee Reports
- UNLOSUnited Nations Law of the Sea
- UNLRUnited Nations Law Reports
- USUnited States Reports
- US L EdUnited States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition 1790-1955
- US L Ed 2dUnited States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition, Second Series 1956-
- US Sup CtUnited States Supreme Court Reporter (USA) 1882-
- US Sup Ct BullUnited States Supreme Court Bulletin
- VARVictorian Administrative Reports
- VCATVictorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal
- VCCVictorian County Court
- VDBTVictorian Domestic Building Tribunal
- Vic ACRVictorian Accident Compensation Reports
- Victorian Law Reports (VLR)Authorised reports of decisions of the Victorian Supreme Court (1875-1957).
- Vic Sup Ct FCVictorian Supreme Court Full Court
- VicADVictorian Appeal Division
- VIRVictorian Industrial Reports
- VLRVictorian Reports; Victorian Law Reports 1875-1956
- VLRCVictorian Law Reform Commission
- VMHRBMental Health Review Board of Victoria
- VRVictorian Reports
- VRBVeterans Review Board
- VSCVictoria Supreme Court
- VSCAVictoria Supreme Court of Appeal
- WADCDistrict Court of Western Australia
- WALRWestern Australia Law Reports
- WALRCWestern Australia Law Reform Commission
- WarWestern Australian Reports 1960-
- WASATWestern Australia State Administrative Tribunal
- WASCSupreme Court of Western Australia
- WASCAWestern Australia Court of Appeal (including Full Court until end of 2004)
- WBATRWorld Bank Administrative Tribunal Reports
- WCR (NSW)Workers Compensation Reports (NSW)
- WCR (Qld)Workers Compensation Reports (Queensland)
- WCR (WA)Workers Compensation Reports (Western Australia)
- WIPOWorld Intellectual Property Organization
- WIPRWorld Intellectual Property Reports 1987-
- WLRWeekly Law Reports
- WNWeekly Notes, England
- WN (NSW)Weekly Notes (NSW)
- WTOWord Trade Organization
- WTRWorld Tax Reports