Skip to main content

Philosophy

A guide to the Philosophy subject area. Find links to authoritative information sources.

Finding introductory material

Consult introductory material for a broad overview of your issue or topic, and to identify key concepts, theories and researchers in the field. Introductory material may include :

  • subject or discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias 
  • handbooks
  • companions
  • introductions
  • guides
  • histories

Find introductory material by combining a topic keyword with one of the material type discriptors above, e.g. philosophy handbook.

Encyclopaedias

Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy.

REP online covers the philosophical canon, as well as philosophy from all continents and all period. It contains the full content of the original classic 10-volume set plus updated and newly commissioned entries by leading scholars.

Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy

Each Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.

Handbooks: Cambridge Companions to Philosophy

The Library has an extensive collection of titles from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy series, both online and in print.

You can access these via Cambridge Collections Online, or by searching for "Cambridge Companions to Philosophy" in the UQ Library Search

Selected online titles appear below.

Databases

 Use these key databases to find journal articles, videos and music;

Get started

 Access recommended books, journals, databases and websites for your assignments and research.

 Your liaison librarian can provide expert advice for your subject: