Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Get started
Access recommended books, journals, databases and websites for your Drama assignments and research. Locate and view available stage productions.
Finding introductory material
Consult introductory material for a broad overview of your issue or topic, and to identify key concepts, theories and researchers in the field. Introductory material may include :
- subject or discipline specific dictionaries and encyclopedias
- handbooks
- companions
- introductions
- guides
- histories
Find introductory material by combining a topic keyword with one of the material type descriptors above, e.g. "theatre performance" handbook.
These are some examples of introductory material available for this subject in the Library. The list is not extensive, and you should perform your own search to see what else is available in our collections.
The Oxford encyclopedia of theatre and performance by Find authoritative information on people, places, plays, companies, industry terminology, concepts and criticism.
The Cambridge Introduction to Performance Theory by Explains the origins of performance theory, defines the terms and practices within the field. Overview of key figures, their theories and impact.
The Routledge Companion to Dramaturgy by Overview of contemporary dramaturgical practice, with contributions by both academics and working dramaturgs.
Dramaturgy: the Basics by Dramaturgy: The Basics introduces the art of dramaturgy, explaining how dramaturgy works, what a dramaturg is, and how to appreciate their unique contribution to theatre-making.
Key databases to find coursework and research material
Databases to find scholarly journal articles and eBooks
- ProQuest performing arts periodicals databaseCovers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
- Cambridge core publications onlineSearch all journal and book content published by Cambridge.
- MLA international bibliographyIndexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, including information related drama and theatre. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
Databases to find play scripts, stage productions and film adaptations
- Digital theatre plusProvides access to streamed video collection of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources. Productions include both stage productions and film adaptations.
- Drama online This link opens in a new windowAlong with playscripts, and context and critical resources, Drama Online includes some streamed video of stage productions and TV/film adaptations. This includes stage productions from National Theatre Live. Note: Students looking for the Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) productions should go to the Digital theatre plus database.
For more information on available databases in our collections, go to the Databases and journals section of this guide.
Related guides
Subject guides: