Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Indexes materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, including information related drama and theatre. Provides access to journals and series published worldwide, monographs, working papers and proceedings, and bibliographies.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing full-text and user-friendly online access to humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Databases to find play scripts, stage productions and film adaptations
Provides access to streamed video collection of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources. Productions include both stage productions and film adaptations.
Along with playscripts, and context and critical resources, Drama Online includes some streamed video of stage productions and TV/film adaptations. This includes stage productions from National Theatre Live. Note: Students looking for the Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) productions should go to the Digital theatre plus database.
Find stage productions and adaptations as well as behind-the-scenes and background videos. Use Browse function to search via The Arts and subsections of Dane, Literature, Performing Arts. Note: not all video content is available via our subscription.
Databases to find historical and archival resources
Content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives and consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
Prompt books for performances of Shakespeare's plays between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries, and supporting material for 17 selected plays. Documents are indexed by genre, country, theatre, associated names, and other key search terms. Also present: ephemera, photographs, illustrations, music scores, correspondence, and illustrations.
This collection of documents offers insights into the performance practice in the particular space of the reconstructed Globe Theatre. It details the way in which the theatre was constructed as a place of radical experiment. It documents over 200 performances through prompt books, wardrobe notes, programmes, publicity material, annual reports, show reports, photographs and architectural plans.
19th Century UK Periodicals is a database using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of Australia, and other sources, to make available digitised versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals.
Simultaneously search or browse across the following archives: Times Digital Archive, 17th-18th century Burney collection newspapers, 19th century British Library newspapers. Parts 1 and 2, TLS historical archive, Illustrated London news historical archive, Economist historical archive, Listener historical archive