Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Databases
Use Library Search to find scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles. This will search across all the databases to which UQ Library subscribes.
Or, for a more targeted search, try these key databases for anthropology:
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- Social science database(Via Proquest) Extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology and sociology.
- JSTORArchive of digitised, full-text journal articles, including select coverage of archaeology and anthropology journals. Check coverage dates (last 3-5 years are usually not included).
- Australian public affairs full text (APAFT)Indexing and full text database of published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books.
- eHRAF world culturesContains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
Concepts and definitions
To learn more about a specific term or concept, search for it in Library Search then use the Reference Entries content type filter. This will show you definitions from encyclopedias, dictionaries or handbooks.
See the Reference sources section of this guide for key encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks.
Referencing styles
The School of Social Science recommends using an author-date referencing style, such as:
Always double check with your lecturer or supervisor about which style to use.
Assignment help
- Student Support: Study skills and assignment writingStudent Services offers online guides and learning workshops to help with study skills and assignment writing.