Library search
Use Library search to find online and hard copy:
- books
- ebooks
- journal articles
- newspapers
- magazines
- theses
- audio-visual material.
Library search will give you an overview of the material available on your topic.
Finding books in Library search
Textbooks and general reference books are a great resource to use at the start of your research. Adjust the filter to 'Books' before doing your search.
Alternatively, once you have done a search, use the 'Content type' filters to limit to 'Books'.
Recommended introductory texts
The international handbooks of museum studies by ISBN: 1118829050Publication Date: 2015The International Handbooks of Museum Studies is a multi-volume reference work that represents a state-of-the-art survey of the burgeoning field of museum studies.
The Routledge International Handbook of New Digital Practices in Galleries Libraries Archives Museums and Heritage Sites by ISBN: 9781138581296Publication Date: 2020The Routledge International Handbook of New Digital Practices in Galleries, Libraries, Archives, Museums and Heritage Sites presents a fascinating picture of the ways in which today's cultural institutions are undergoing a transformation through innovative applications of digital technology. With a strong focus on digital design practice, the volume captures the vital discourse between curators, exhibition designers, historians, heritage practitioners, technologists and interaction designers from around the world.
Museum Theory by ISBN: 9781119642084Publication Date: 2020Museum Theory offers critical perspectives drawn from a broad range of disciplinary and intellectual traditions.
Databases
Databases contain discipline specific information including journal articles, theses, and industry publications.
Recommended databases include:
- ARTbibliographies modern (ABM)ART bibliographies modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- AATA online - Art and archaeology technical abstracts onlineDatabase of abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. The database contains back issues of the AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts), in addition to abstracts published by the Fogg Art Museum at Harvard University and by the Freer Gallery of Art of the Smithsonian Institution. It also includes the AATA Matte Paint supplement.
- APAIS-ATSISAPAIS-ATSIS indexes and abstracts articles from a wide range of periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers and books in the social sciences and humanities relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
- JSTORThe JSTOR archive of digitised full text journals, covering arts and sciences but does not include current issues.
Find the full list of recommended databases for Museum Studies in the Library's database search.