Key databases for sociology
Use Library Search to find scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles. This will search across all the databases to which UQ Library subscribes.
Or, for a more targeted search, try these key databases for sociology:
-
Australian public affairs full text (APAFT)Includes journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.
-
eHRAF world culturesContains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life.
-
FAMILYIndexes and abstracts current Australian writing and research on Australian families and children.
-
ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
-
Social science databaseThis database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
-
Sociological abstractsAbstracts and indexes literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences.
-
Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Other useful subject guides
You may find the Social Sciences subject guides useful. These include the Subject Guides: Gender studies; Criminology, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies; Community development; and Social and public policy
News and newspapers
Photo by brotiN biswaS on Pexels.
- Australia New Zealand Reference CentreCombines Australia and New Zealand specific magazines, newspapers & newswires, reference books, and company information to create a collection of regional full text content.
- FactivaProvides full text access to a comprehensive collection of Australian and international newspapers as well as global company and industry information.
TV documentaries or feature films or videos
Assessment writing guide
- School of Social Science guide for written assessmentsFind information on how to plan, research and write your assignments in the School of Social Science.