Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Key resources
Music Research Essentials by Publication Date: 2024Music Research Essentials is for undergraduate music students and provides discipline-specific information on the fundamentals of doing music research. Students will gain knowledge and skills in responding to a topic or question, developing effective research strategies, using information technology and search tools efficiently, locating and discriminating between sources of information, using secondary and primary sources, documenting and referencing sources, as well as setting assignment work out clearly and consistently. Music Research Essentials has been designed with first-year students in the School of Music at the University of Queensland in mind, but it also provides generic information that is more widely applicable.
Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles, videos and music;
- ERICERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
- A+ educationIndexing and full text database that provides Internet access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education. Good for Australian information.
- ProQuest education databaseProvides access to full-text professional magazines and journals that address all aspects of K-12 education.
- Arts:liveARTS:LIVE is a fantastic tool for pre-service teachers to get a head start on delivering creative education in the classroom. ARTS:LIVE is Australia’s gold standard for online creative education.
eBooks
The Library provides access to a range of eBooks on Music Education.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education by Publication Date: 2012
