Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Key databases
Use key databases to find information sources e.g. systematic reviews:
- Cochrane LibraryUp-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care.
- PubMedCitations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- UQ Health Database Comparison (PDF, 150KB)Learn the differences between common health databases.
More databases on the subject -
EmbaseBiomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from Embase and MEDLINE.
-
ERICERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
-
MEDLINEContains citations and abstracts covering a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
-
PsycINFOProvides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. The database includes literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
-
Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Grey literature refers to both published and unpublished research material that is not available commercially.
-
AIHW Reports & DataAustralia's health performance data, including by State and Territory, Primary Health Network and Hospital.
-
OECD Health StatisticsOffers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.
-
OECD iLibraryOrganisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD): books, papers and statistics
-
WHO weekly epidemiological record (WER)An essential instrument for the rapid and accurate dissemination of epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks of diseases under the International Health Regulations and on other communicable diseases of public health importance.
-
World Bank eLibraryOffers the complete collection of World Bank formal publications and journals since the 1990s, as well as reports, working papers, and top data from the World Bank’s World Development Indicators.
-
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)Open access repository for the World Bank's research outputs and knowledge products.
Multimedia
- EduTVContains documentaries and educational programs from a range of Australian and overseas sources.
- Kanopy streaming videoCollection of instructional videos, documentaries, interviews, feature films and more. Browse by subject.
- TVNewsContains news, current affairs and documentary series broadcast on Australian television.
Tips and tutorials
- How to find guidesTechniques and resources to find specific information formats.