Get started
Find books, journal articles, scores and sound recordings for ethnomusicology.
-
Music Research Essentials
by
Publication Date: 2024Music Research Essentials is for undergraduate music students and provides discipline-specific information on the fundamentals of doing music research. Students will gain knowledge and skills in responding to a topic or question, developing effective research strategies, using information technology and search tools efficiently, locating and discriminating between sources of information, using secondary and primary sources, documenting and referencing sources, as well as setting assignment work out clearly and consistently. Music Research Essentials has been designed with first-year students in the School of Music at the University of Queensland in mind, but it also provides generic information that is more widely applicable.
Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles, videos and music;
-
Oxford music onlineOxford Music Online includes Grove Music Online which combines the full text of key music reference material: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
-
RILM abstracts of music literatureProduced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale, is an international guide to writings about music. Coverage includes all types and aspects of music and music literature, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy.
-
Ethnographic video onlineEthnographic Video Online is a resource for the study of human culture, behaviour and society. The streaming video collections contain ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork. Thematic areas include: language and culture, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles.
-
Oxford History of Western MusicThe earliest notations to the sixteenth century -- The seventeenth and eighteenth centuries -- The nineteenth century -- The early twentieth century -- The late twentieth century -- Resources : chronology, bibliography, master index.
-
Oxford bibliographies. MusicOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on musicology and ethnomusicology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
eBooks
The Library provides access to a range of eBooks on Ethnomusicology.
-
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea
by
Publication Date: 2017 -
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Ethnomusicology
by
Publication Date: 2015 -
