Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Getting started
This guide will help you find key information and resources for your study and research in the field of Australian Government
Key databases
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- Australian public affairs full text (APAFT)Includes journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities.
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks
These general works for a broad overview of your issue or topic.
Find introductory material by combining a topic keyword with one of the material type descriptors above, e.g. Dictionary of Australian politics
Some good books to start with
The Oxford Handbook of Australian PoliticsPublication Date: 2021
The Australian Policy Handbook by Publication Date: 2018
A Dictionary of Australian Politics by Publication Date: 2010
Keywords in Australian Politics by Publication Date: 2006
Referencing styles
Referencing is acknowledging other's work or ideas that you have used in your assignment. The School of Political Science and International Studies (POLSIS) uses Chicago 17th referencing style. This style has a UQ Library guide with details on how to reference different types of documents. POLSIS' School based Essay guide provides more information on the topic referencing as well as links to these 2 styles and it is required reading.