Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Databases
- PubMedCitations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- EmbaseEvidence based medicine, biomedical and pharmacological literature from the National Library of Medicine and EMBASE library.
- BioCycA collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them. It includes selected publications, with a focus on E. coli, B. subtilis, H. sapiens, and S. cerevisiae.
- Scriver's OMMBID the online metabolic and molecular bases of inherited diseaseOMMBID is a compendium of genetic disorders and information from the entire field of genetics
- ReaxysSearch scientific topics, substances, reactions and properties in Reaxys.
Watch a video on how to plan a search on a microbial topic in Reaxys
- CAS SciFinder-n- World's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, nucleotide and protein sequences, reactions, spectra and patent and journal references. PLEASE NOTE: Before using CAS SciFinder-n for the first time you MUST REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
Journals
- American society for microbiology journalsPremium content from ASM publications
- Microbiology and molecular biology reviewsHighly ranked microbiology journal
- Nature reviews. MicrobiologyHighly ranked microbiology journal
- Other microbiology journalsList of microbiology journals held by UQ library
Related library guides
- Clinical guidelines and trialsFind clinical guidelines from both Australia and overseas as well as published and unpublished clinical trials.
- Laboratory protocols and methodsSets of instructions that allow scientists to recreate experiments in their own laboratory.
Instructional videos
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
A collection of online training videos and tutorials focusing on software and skills in IT, design and business.
CLIPS - Communication learning in practice for scientists
JoVE - Journal of visualized education (video modules on immunology and infection)
Digital Essentials
Complete the Digital Essentials modules to help you quickly build your digital skills for study and work. Learn about online UQ systems, find tools for specific tasks and develop skills for using digital resources.
Complete these modules to build your study and assignment skills:
- Information essentials — types of information, finding and evaluating online information, fake news
- Types of assignments — written, video, audio, presentations, posters, blogs, 3D models, coding
- Write, cite and submit — plagiarism, referencing and referencing styles, EndNote, submission requirements