Library Guides: Vancouver referencing style: Dictionaries / Encyclopaedias

Dictionary

Elements of the citation	Author/editor - family name and initials. Title of dictionary. edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year. Title of entry eg. defined word; p. [page number].
Reference list - with author/editor - without author/editor	Stedman TL. Stedman’s medical dictionary. 28th ed. Philadelphia (PA): Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; Apraxia; p.119‐20. OR Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 30th ed. Philadelphia (PA): Saunders; 2003. Encephalomalacia; p. 609.
In-text reference	...is defined as...,¹
EndNote reference type	Book or Dictionary Year field: enter - Publication year. Defined word: p. page numbers. eg. 2006. Apraxia; p.119‐20 Include the full‐stops but do not add a full‐stop after the page numbers. EndNote will put it in. If using the Dictionary reference type – add the dictionary name to the Dictionary title field

Elements of the citation

Author/editor - family name and initials. Title of dictionary. edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year. Title of entry eg. defined word; p. [page number].

Reference list
- with author/editor
- without
author/editor

Stedman TL. Stedman’s medical dictionary. 28th ed. Philadelphia (PA): Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; Apraxia; p.119‐20.

Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 30th ed. Philadelphia (PA): Saunders; 2003. Encephalomalacia; p. 609.

In-text reference

...is defined as...,¹

EndNote reference type

Book or Dictionary

Year field: enter - Publication year. Defined word: p. page numbers. eg. 2006. Apraxia; p.119‐20

Include the full‐stops but do not add a full‐stop after the page numbers. EndNote will put it in.
If using the Dictionary reference type – add the dictionary name to the Dictionary title field

Online dictionary

Elements of the citation																				Dictionary title [type of medium eg. Internet]. edition. Place of publication: Publisher; Year. Title of entry; [cited Year Month Day]; [about - number of screens]. Available from: URL or database name Year - use copyright date if no publication date can be found - copyright date has the letter 'c' in front of it - eg. c2017 Cited date:- Year must be done in full, Month is abbreviated to the first three letters of the month
Reference list																				Merriam-Webster medical dictionary [Internet]. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster Incorporated; c2017. Clone; [cited 2017 Oct 4]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/clone#medicalDictionary
In-text reference																				clone³ is defined as....
EndNote reference type																				Electronic book Year field: enter - Publication/copyright year. Dictionary term; [cited date]; [number of screens] eg. c2017. Clone; [cited 2017 Oct 4]; [about 1 screen]

Encyclopaedia article/chapter - multi volume set

Elements of the citation																				Author(s) of article – Family name and initials. Title of article/chapter. In: Family name and initials, editors. Title of encyclopaedia. Place of publication: Publisher name; Year of publication. Vol - Volume number p. (page numbers of article/chapter).
Reference list																				Brookman F. Hair care products. In: McDonough J, Egolf K, Reid JV, editors. The Advertising Age encyclopedia of advertising. New York (NY): Fitzroy Dearborn; 2003. vol 2 p.703‐8.
In-text reference																				Brookman⁴ has advocated that...
EndNote reference type																				Book section