Skip to main content

Vancouver referencing style

Vancouver - numbered referencing style

Australian medicines handbook (AMH)

Elements of the citation

Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Sponsor of website/publisher; Year published. Title of section  or defined word; [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day]. Available from: URL. DOI: (if available)​

Format for date is: 2017 Nov 10  - the month is always abbreviated to the first 3 letters of its name. The day and month can be omitted if not available.

Note: a fullstop is placed after the URL if a DOI follows.

Reference
  1. Australian medicines handbook online [Internet]. Adelaide (S. Australia): Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd; 2000. Paracetamol; [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 10]. Available from: https://amhonline-amh-net-au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/.
In-text ....... medicines.1 
EndNote reference type

Electronic book

Year field: enter - Year. Title of section: [updated date: cited date]
eg.  2000. Paracetamol; [updated 2017 Jul: cited 2017 Nov 10]

British Pharmacopoeia online

Elements of the citation Author. Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Year published. Title of section  or defined word; [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day].  Available from: URL. DOI: (if available)
Reference
  1. British Pharmacopoeia Commission. British Pharamacopoeia 2017. [Internet].The Stationery Office (TSO); 2017. St John's Wort; [updated 2017; cited 2017 Nov 13]. Available from: https://www-pharmacopoeia-com.ezproxy.;library.uq.edu.au/bp-2017/herbal-drugs/st--john-s-wort.html?published-date=2016-08-;text=st+johns+wort
In-text St John's Wort2.......
EndNote reference type

Electronic book 

Year field: enter - Publication year. Title of section/definition; [updated year month day; cited year month day]eg. 2017. St John's Wort; [updated 2017; cited 2017 Nov 13]

Cochrane Library

Elements of the reference Authors) - Family name & initials.  Title of article. Database name [Internet]. Publication year [cited year month day]; (issue number). Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Coleman T, Chamerlain C, Davey MA, Cooper SE, Leonardi-Bee J. Pharmacological interventions for promoting smoking cessation during pregnancy. Cochrance Database of Systematic Reviews [Internet]. 2015. [cited 2017 Nov 14]; (12). Available from: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com.ezyproxy.library.uq.edu.au/
    doi/10.1002/14651858.CD010078.pub2/ful
In-text ...recommended during pregnancy.3
EndNote reference type

Electronic article

Year field: enter - Publication year [cited date - year month day]
eg. 2015 [cited 2017 Nov 14]; - (include the semi colon punctuation)

Type of Work field: enter Internet

Issue field: enter issue number eg. 12

The database name can also be abbreviated - EndNote abbreviates the database name to Cochrane Database Syst Rev.

Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines Complete (eTG complete)

Elements of the citation Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year. Title of article; [updated date year month day; cited date year month day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. eTG complete [Internet]. Melbourne (Vic): Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd; 2017. Juvenile idiopathic [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 14]. Available from: https://tgldcdp-tg-org-au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/viewTopic?topicfile=juvenile-idiopathic-arthritis&guidelineName=Rheumatology#toc_d1e163
In-text ......in juvenile arthritis.4
EndNote reference type Electronic book

Year field: enter - Publication year. Title of article; [updated date; cited date]
eg. 2017. Juvenile idiopathic arthritis; [updated 2017 Jul; cited 2017 Nov 14]

MIMS Online

Elements of the reference Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Sponsor of website/publisher; Year published. Title of section  or defined word; [updated date - year month day; cited date - year month day].  Available from: URL. DOI: (if available)
Reference
  1. MIMS online [Internet]. Crows Nest (NSW): MIMS Australia; 2017. Betamin; [updated 2017 Nov; cited 2017 Nov 10]. Available from: https://www-mimsonoine-com-au-ezyproxy.library.au/Search/AbbrPl.aspx?ModuleName=
    Product%20Infor&searchKeyword=vitamin+b&PeviouPage=~/Search?QuickSearch.aspx&SearchType=&ID=21830001_2
In-text Betamin5 is used to....
EndNote reference type

Electronic book

Year field:  enter - Year. Title of section: [updated date: cited date ] - all with correct punctuation 
eg. 2017. Betamin; [updated 2017 Jul: cited 2017 Nov 10]

UpToDate

Elements of the citation Author(s) - Familiy name followed by initials. Title of article. In: editor(s) - family name followed by initials, editor/editors. Database name. [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; Publication year. [updated date - year month day; cited date year month day]. Available from: URL
Reference
  1. Weiss PF. Oligoarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis. In: Klein-Gitelman M, TePas E, editors.;​UpToDate. [Internet]. Waltham (MA): UpToDate Inc; 2017. [updated 2017 May 23; cited 2017 Nov 14]. Available from: https://www-uptodate-com.ezp3.library.uq.edu.au/contents/oligoarticular-juvenile-​idiopathic-arthritis?source=search_result&search=uveitis&selectedTitle=10~150
In-text ......for successful treatment.6
EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Year field: enter - Publication Year. [updated date; cited date]
eg. 2017. [updated 2017 May 23; cited 2017 Nov 14]