Skip to Main Content

Vancouver (AMA) referencing style

A guide to referencing in the Vancouver (American Medical Association - AMA) style. Includes tips for using EndNote.

Example reference list

Spacing between references in a reference list or bibliography

  • Double line spacing between each citation.
  • EndNote only puts a single line space between each citation.
  • Check with your school/lecturer what spacing they require.
  • Journals using the Vancouver style may also have their own line spacing requirements.

References

  1. Vieira, AR. Genetic Basis of Oral Health Conditions. Springer; 2019. Accessed June 26, 2024. https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-030-14485-2
     
  2. Snowdon J. Severe depression in old age. Med Today. 2002;3(12):40‐47. Accessed June 27, 2024. https://medicinetoday.com.au/mt/2002/december/feature-article/severe-depression-old-age
     
  3. McInnes D, Bollen J. Learning on the job: metaphors of choreography and the practice of sex in sex‐on‐premises venues. Venereology. 2000;13(1):27‐36. Accessed June 27, 2024. https://search.informit.org/doi/epdf/10.3316/informit.558995805550155
     
  4. Australian respiratory surveillance report: viral respiratory diseases epidemiology and surveillance section.  Australian Centre for Disease Control. Report 6. June 21, 2024. Accessed June 28, 2024. https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/australian-respiratory-surveillance-report-6-3-june-to-16-june-2024
     
  5. Speed M. Is Ultra-processed Food Really That Bad? Financial Times; December 20, 2023. Accessed September 9, 2024. https://www.ft.com/video/453b0ade-5788-4234-a070-7c166c34c501
     
  6. Oral health and dental care in Australia: key facts and figures trends 2014. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. Cat. no. DEN 228. August 18, 2014. Accessed June 28, 2024. https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/dental-oral-health/oral-health-dental-care-2014-key-facts-figures/contents/table-of-contents
     
  7. Michaelsen, FK. Child growth. In: Koletzko B, Bhatia, J, Bhutta, ZA, et al, eds. Pediatric Nutrition in Practice. 2nd ed. Karger; 2015:1-5. Accessed June 26, 2024. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/uql/reader.action?docID=3563946
     
  8. Xie Y, Choi T, Al-Aly Z. Postacute sequelae of SARS-CoV-2 infection in the pre-Delta, Delta, and Omicron eras. N Engl J Med. Accepted manuscript. Published online July 17, 2024. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2403211
     
  9. Cunningham A, Kotagiri A. A long history of dense deposit disease. BMC Ophthalmol. 2018;18(suppl 1):228. doi:10.1186/s12886-018-0853-8
     
  10. Kleinman JT, Mlynash M, Zaharchuk G, et al. Yield of CT perfusion for the evaluation of transient ischaemic attack. Int J Stroke. 2015;10(suppl A100):25-29. doi:10.1111/j.1747-4949.2012.00941.x

Difference between a reference list and a bibliography

Reference list

  • A reference list contains details only of those works cited in the text of the document.
  • A reference list should appear at the end of your document with the entries listed numerically and in the same order that they have been cited in the text.

Bibliography

  • A bibliography details works not cited in the text but which are relevant to the subject and were used for background reading. Bibliographies are used much less frequently than reference lists. If you think a bibliography is appropriate for your work you should check the requirements for your document, e.g. check with your lecturer, or with the journal you're submitting to.
  • A bibliography is a separate list from the reference list and should be arranged alphabetically by author or title (where no author is given) in the Vancouver style.