UQ eSpace: manage your research outputs and datasets

Definition

The curation and/or production of a substantial collection of creative works exhibited together in that particular arrangement for the first time in a recognised gallery, museum, or event, where the curation embodies research and is undertaken on a systematic basis in order to increase the stock of knowledge and/or advance understanding in fields across the research spectrum, primarily in the creative arts, design, and the humanities.

Original curation of creative works or the generation of novel insights about existing works that extend or synthesise knowledge and/or advance the development and understanding of the creative arts, design, and/or humanities.

The exhibition or event should exhibit originality, extending the boundaries of existing ideas, methodologies, approaches, or scholarly or creative techniques. The exhibition or event’s originality may inhere in its utilisation of usually unrelated forms, genres, and/or subject matter.

Works may include:

• The curation and/or production of creative works or artefacts exhibited in a recognised gallery, museum or similar venue, in order to:
  • show new works or a new interpretation/arrangement of works exhibited previously; or
  • to explore a new, innovative or significant thesis; or
  • to make a substantial declaration of historical, cultural or theoretical principles.

Evidence type suggestions (at least one required):

• Digital or digitised catalogue, program, website or representation of the exhibition/event (required if the work is selected for ERA peer review).
  Documentation should include the exhibition/event name, date(s), venue(s), curators and a listing of contributors and their works.
• Peer recognition of the work via:
  • commissioning by a nationally or internationally recognised peer review body, distinguished public or private body, editorial group or commissioning editor/curator/director
  • awards, short-listing, prizes, honours, etc.
  • invitation to repeat or tour the exhibition/event
  • substantial public recognition of the work by peers in the field through online or print reviews, including in academic journals, professional publications or established critical blogs.

N.B.   Event/Exhibition catalogues written by authors who are not curators should be submitted as stand-alone creative works, via the Creative Work - Textual (Book) or Creative Work - Textual categories.

Additional information for:

• File types
• Deposit form data entry
• Impact evidence

Sample eSpace works:

• Architecture exhibition (Civic Visions: Council House, Perth, 2019/2020)
• Co-curated UQ Antiquities Museum contested histories exhibition (2019/2020)
• Directed and conducted choral performance (Morton, Gloria and Requiem, 2019)
• Recollecting home (curated photographic exhibition, SLAQ, 2018/2019)
• Curated performance series (Migrations: Harbour Europe, three plays produced in collaboration between Migrant Dramaturgies Network and LegalAliens Theatre, 2019)
• Extended art exhibition (two venues) (Robert Smithson: Time Crystals, Qld Art Museum & Monash University Museum of Art, 2018)
• UQ Anthropology Museum exhibition (From Relics to Rights, 2017)
• Historical photographic exhibition (Wild Australia, 2017)UQ Antiquities Museum exhibition (Useless Beauty: Luxury and Rome,
  2016/2017)
• Directed/conducted music performance (Murphy, Illuminae, SLAQ, 2016)
• Curated art exhibition (Pierre Huyghe: Tarrawarra Museum of Art, 2015)

All Curated or Produced Exhibition or Event works in UQ eSpace. 

Definition

The curation of creative works or performances arranged together for the first time in a substantial festival, where the curation embodies research and has been undertaken on a systematic basis in order to increase the stock of knowledge in fields across the research spectrum, primarily in the creative arts, design, and the humanities. A festival may be presented across multiple venues, consist of multiple related events or contain multiple elements.

Original curation or production of creative works or performances that extends or synthesises knowledge and/or advances the development and understanding of the creative arts, design, and humanities.

The festival should exhibit originality, extending the boundaries of existing ideas, methodologies, approaches, and/or scholarly or creative techniques. The festival’s originality may inhere in its utilisation of usually unrelated forms, genres, and/or subject matter.

Works may include:

• The curation of a festival bringing together creative works or artefacts and live performance, in order to:
  • present new works in an innovative way; or
  • present a new interpretation/approach to works presented previously; or
  • offer a theme that provides new perspectives and/or experiences.

Evidence type suggestions (at least one required):

• Digital or digitised representation of the festival, such as a published program, catalogue or website (required if the work is selected for ERA peer review).
  Documentation should include the festival name, date(s), venue(s), curators and a listing of contributors and events or works.
• Peer recognition of the work via:
  • commissioning by a nationally or internationally recognised peer review body, distinguished public or private body, editorial group or commissioning editor/curator/director
  • awards, short-listing, prizes, honours, etc.
  • invitation to repeat the festival or parts of it
  • substantial public recognition of the work by peers in the field through online or print reviews, including in academic journals, professional publications or established critical blogs.

Additional information for:

• File types
• Deposit form data entry
• Impact evidence

Sample eSpace works:

• Artist in residence festival curated events (Topology, Darwin Festival, 2015)
• Curated/conducted music festival (Bach, 300th Anniversary Festival, 2014)

All Curated or Produced Festivals in UQ eSpace

Definition

The curation and/or production of a substantial collection of material which embodies research and is undertaken on a systematic basis specifically for dissemination through a website in order to increase the stock of knowledge and/or advance understanding in fields across the research spectrum. The research is concerned primarily with the selection and arrangement, rather than the production, of content.

Original curation or edition of digital material that extends or synthesises knowledge and/or advances the development and understanding in all scholarly disciplines.

Experimental and/or interactive web-based exhibition, repository, or searchable database that extends the boundaries of existing ideas, methodologies, approaches, applications or practices.

The website should exhibit originality, which may be in one of the following ways:

• the exploitation of digital media to explore material in ways not possible in traditional exhibition or publication
• new combinations of usually unrelated materials
• dynamic rendition of usually static material
• new modes of creative visualisation, interactivity, or searchability for users.

Works may include:

• Digital repositories
• Interactive and searchable databases
• Digital reference works
• Digital archives

Evidence type suggestions (at least one required):

• Dynamic or static digital representation of the website, repository or database.  Documentation should include the exhibition/archive/database name, publication date(s), curators and a listing of contributors and content (required if the work is selected for ERA peer review).
• Peer recognition of the work via:
  • commissioning by a nationally or internationally recognised peer review body, distinguished public or private body, editorial group or commissioning editor/curator/director
  • awards, short-listing, prizes, honours, etc.
  • substantial public recognition of the work by peers in the field through online or print reviews, including in academic journals, professional publications or established critical blogs.

N.B. Content or material exhibited that was created by a researcher should be submitted via the Recorded or Rendered Creative Work - Web Exhibition category.

Additional information for:

• File types
• Deposit form data entry
• Impact evidence

Sample eSpace works:
When available....watch this space.

• Queensland Places curated web exhibition (2015)
• PNG Speaks (2015)
• Indigenous Voices of Queensland (2015)
• Digital Archive of Queensland Architecture (2014)
• Cultural Atlas of Australia (2011)

All Curated or Produced Web Exhibitions in UQ eSpace

Definition

The curation and/or production of a substantial collection of archaeological, scientific, or other material objects exhibited together in that particular arrangement for the first time in a recognised gallery, museum, or event where the curation embodies research and is undertaken on a systematic basis in order to increase the stock of knowledge and/or advance understanding in fields across the research spectrum.

Original curation of archaeological, scientific, or other material objects that extends or synthesises knowledge and/or advances development and understanding in the humanities or other scholarly disciplines.

The exhibition should exhibit originality, extending the boundaries of existing ideas, methodologies, approaches, and/or scholarly or creative techniques. The exhibition's originality may inhere in its utilisation of usually unrelated forms, genres, and/or subject matter.

Works may include:

• Curated or substantial public exhibitions or events that do not fit into any other 'Curated or Produced Exhibition of Event' category
• Objects presented together for the first time
• Existing groups of objects presented via new and innovative curatorial methodologies, interpretations or approaches

Evidence type suggestions (at least one required):

• Digital or digitised catalogue, program, or dynamic or static representation of the exhibition/event. Documentation should include the exhibition name,  date(s), venue(s), curators and a listing of all works or objects (required if the work is selected for ERA peer review)
• Peer recognition of the work via:
  • commissioning by a nationally or internationally recognised peer review body, distinguished public or private body, editorial group or commissioning editor/curator/director
  • awards, short-listing, prizes, honours, etc.
  • invitation to repeat or tour the exhibition/event
  • substantial public recognition of the work by peers in the field through online or print reviews, including in academic journals, professional publications or established critical blogs.

N.B. Event/Exhibition catalogues written by authors who are not curators should be submitted as stand-alone creative works via the Creative Work - Textual (Book) or Creative Work - Textual categories.

Additional information for:

• File types
• Deposit form data entry
• Impact evidence

Sample eSpace works:

• Curated drama event series (UQ Drama Creative Fellowship, a series of events with Dr Katalin Trencsény, 2019)
• Extended artwork exhibition (Light from Light, eleven commissioned artists across five global public institutions, 2012)

All Curated or Produced Exhibition or Event - Other (Scholarly Disciplines) works in UQ eSpace