Skip to main content

APA 6th referencing style

A guide to using the APA 6th referencing style.

Abbreviating corporate authors or groups as authors

“The names of groups that serve as authors (eg. corporations, associations, government agencies…) are usually spelled out each time they appear in a text citation. The names of some groups are spelled out in the first citation and abbreviated thereafter. In deciding whether to abbreviate the name of a group author, use the general rule that you need to give enough information in the text citation for the reader to locate the entry in the reference list without difficulty. If the name is long… and the abbreviation is familiar…, you may abbreviate the name in the second and subsequent citations. If the name is short or if the abbreviation would not be readily understandable, write out the same each time it occurs”. (American Psychological Association, 2010, p. 176)

Corporate author - organisation, association, company, government department

Example:

United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (UNICEF)

Government report - print

Elements of the reference

Author(s) of report – person or government department, use & for multiple authors. (Year of Publication). Title of report - italicised (Report Number - if available). Place of publication: Publisher.

In-text reference

(Productivity Commission, 1999)

The Productivity Commission (1999) found that ....

Reference list

Productivity Commission. (1999). Australia's gambling industries : inquiry report (No. 10). Melbourne, Australia: Productivity Commission.

EndNote reference type Government document

Government report - online

Elements of the reference

Author(s) of report – person or government department, use & for multiple authors. (Year of Publication). Title of report - italicised (Report Number - if available). Retrieved from http://www.xxxxxx

In-text reference

(Australian Communications and Media Authority, 2011)

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (2011) stated that ....

Reference list

Australian Communications and Media Authority. (2011). Enduring concepts: communications and media in Australia. Retrieved from http://www.acma.gov.au/-/media/Networks/Information/pdf/Enduring-Concepts-Communications-and-media-in-Australia.pdf

EndNote reference type Government document

Industry/Corporate report

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s) or company name - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of report - italicised (Report Number - if available). Retrieved from Organisation Name website: http://www.xxxxxx

In-text reference

(The Coca-Cola Company, 2017)

The Coca-Cola Company (2017) has found that ....

Reference list

Include the publisher in the retrieved statement only when they are not included as the author. eg. Retrieved from Organisation Name website: http:xxxx

The Coca-Cola Company. (2017). 2016 sustainability report. Retrieved from http://www.coca-colacompany.com/content/dam/journey/us/en/private/fileassets/pdf/2017/2016-sustainability/2016-Sustainability-Report-The-Coca-Cola-Company.pdf

EndNote reference type

Report

Include company name website: Web Address in URL field only when it is not listed as the author.

eg. The Coca-Cola Company website: http://www.coca-colacompany.com

Report from non government organisation with individuals as authors - electronic

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s) - use for multiple authors. (Year). Title of report - italicised (Report Number - if available). Retrieved from Organisation Name website: Web Address

In-text reference

(Gray & Tracey, 2016)

Gray and Tracey (2016) have found that ....

Reference list

Gray, T. & Tracey, D. (2016). Implementing a trauma informed framework in a disability non-government organisation: Research report. Retrieved from Centre for Educational Research, School of Education, Western Sydney University website: https://www.westernsydney.edu.au/__data/assets/file/0010/1168066/GRAY_and_TRACEY_HWNS–Implementing_a_trauma_informed_framework_in_a_disability_non_government_organisation_
RESEARCH_REPORT1.pdf.

EndNote reference type

Report

Include non government organisation name website: Web Address in URL field 

eg. Western Sydney University website http://www.westernsydney.edu.au

Report from online database with individual as author

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - last name, initial(s) - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of report - italicised (Report Number - if available). Retrieved from Database name: web address.

In-text reference

(Johnson, 2018)

Johnson (2018) argued that ....

Reference list

Johnson, S. (2018). Document management services in Australia (IBISWorld Industry Report OD5517).
Retrieved from IBISWorld database: http://clients1.ibisworld.com.au.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/reports/
au/industry/default.aspx?entid=5517

EndNote reference type

Report

Add Database name: web address to URL field

Report from online database with organisational author

Elements of the reference

Author(s) – organizational/company name - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of report - italicised (Report Number - if available). Retrieved from Database name: web address

In-text reference

(Euromonitor, 2018)

Euromonitor (2018) reported that ....

Reference list

Euromonitor. (2018). Footwear in Australia (Country report). Retrieved from Passport database: http://www.portal.euromonitor.com.ezproxy.library.uq.edu.au/ portal/analysis/tab

EndNote reference type

Report

Add Database name: website address to URL field