Skip to main content

APA 6th referencing style

A guide to using the APA 6th referencing style.

Dictionary or encyclopaedia – print version

Elements of the reference

Author(s) or editor(s) of work – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors or editors. (Ed. or Eds. - if editor used) (Year of publication). Title - italicised (Edition - if other than first). Place of publication: Publisher.

In-text reference

(Wolman, 1989)

In Wolman (1989), it was argued that ....

Reference list

Wolman, B.B. (Ed.). (1989). Dictionary of behavioral science (2nd ed.). San Diego, CA: Academic Press.

EndNote reference type

Book

Edited book (if editor used)

Dictionary or encyclopaedia - electronic

Elements of the reference

Author(s) - family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year of publication). Title of entry. In - Editor(s) - initial. last name (Ed. OR Eds.), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first). doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx

Author(s) - family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year of publication). Title of entry. In - Editor(s) - initial. last name (Ed. OR Eds.), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first). Retrieved from http: www.xxxxxx

In-text reference

(Onwuegbuzie & Mayoh, 2016)

Onwuegbuzie and Mayoh (2016) found that ....

Reference list

Onwuegbuzie, A. J. & Mayoh, J. (2016). Mixed methods. In H. L. Miller Jr (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of theory in psychology. doi: 10.4135/9781483346274.n192

EndNote reference type Electronic book section

Dictionary or encyclopaedia - no author

Elements of the reference

Entry title. (Year of publication). In Editors - initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors, Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first ed.). Retrieved from
http: www.xxxxxx

Entry title. (Year of publication). In Editors - initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors, Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first ed.). doi: DOI

In-text reference (Community, 2009)
Reference list

Community. (2009). In J. Scott & G. Marshall (Eds.), A dictionary of sociology (3rd rev. ed.). Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199533008.001.0001/acref-9780199533008-e-337?rskey=wDCUCP&result=1&q=community

EndNote reference type Electronic book section