The owner and the UQ lead on a record will receive access to the storage immediately following data storage provisioning. Both the owner and UQ lead will receive instructions on how to access the storage in an email message.
For other collaborators added to the record, the process includes an additional step. They will first receive an email notifying them that they have been added to the project record. This email will contain a link to login and enable access to the storage. Following successful login, these collaborators will then receive instructions about how to access the storage in an email message (similar to the the email sent to the owner and UQ lead).
All collaborators (including the owner and UQ lead) can also access these storage instructions via UQRDM. To view these instructions, open the relevant record and click "instructions for access" at the top.
More detailed instructions on how to use and access the storage are provided.
This is likely because you are using a computer/laptop that is signed in with your UQ staff account. To solve this problem, you will need to add your staff email address as a collaborator on the record.
Follow these steps to add another collaborator to the record. You should add your staff email address as a collaborator.
Once you have added your staff details, you will receive an email to your staff account with a link to login to UQRDM. You should then login using your staff account details (e.g.uqyname1).
Note: It is important that you use a different browser (e.g. if using Chrome, change to Firefox) or an incognito window when accessing the link to login with your staff account.
If you require assistance with this process please contact ITS Support.
If a folder is deleted via the UQRDM cloud web interface, and you are also using the sync client, it won't go away unless you disable the sync client. Similarly, if a folder is deleted via the sync client (local folder), and you are logged into the UQRDM cloud web interface at the same time, it won't go away until you close the webpage. If you require further assistance with this issue please contact ITS Support.
There are no limits on what you can store (e.g. all file formats are supported). If you have many small files it is advised that you create a zipped file to increase the sync speed when using UQRDM Cloud. For further advice on this process please contact ITS Support.
Yes it is possible to request more than 1TB of storage space for a project-based allocation. Please note that priority will be given to projects that are collaborative in nature - meaning those that have more than one person listed on the record.
Before you lodge a request for more storage, please ensure that you and your collaborators fill (or nearly fill) the 1TB allocation.
To lodge a request for more storage, please contact the ITS Support, with details of your allocation (project short code and storage code).
If you have requested storage for a UQRDM project, or have been added as a collaborator to a UQRDM project record, the R drive will automatically map and overwrite an existing R drive mapping for Windows computers. It is recommended that you remap your existing R drive before you request storage for a UQRDM project, or are added as a collaborator to a project record.
If you need assistance, contact the ITS Support.
You can upload and download your files directly from the UQRDM cloud interface (cloud.rdm.uq.edu.au). Any new or edited files uploaded to the cloud interface will be immediately synced to the R: drive. This allows you to work offsite, and be confident that your files are being made available to collaborators at UQ on the R: drive or other collaborators seeing the cloud interface. There is no delay.
When a file is open in multiple places at one time a conflict file is created if both are saved, and it's unclear to the sync client which is the most up to date.
During a sync run, the client must first detect if either the local version of the file (on the desktop), or the version in the cloud web interface (cloud.rdm.uq.edu.au) has changed. In the event that a file has changed in both the local folder and in the cloud web interface since the last sync run, it cannot easily be decided which version of the file is the one that should be used. However, changes to any side will not be lost. Instead a conflict case is created within the local folder. The conflict file will not be synced to the cloud web interface until it is resolved. To resolve the conflict, you should decide whether you want to keep both versions of the file, or only one. If you wish to keep both, you should rename the conflicted version of the file to a different name. If you wish to keep only one version, delete the one you do not want to keep. Once you have resolved the conflict, the changes should sync back to the cloud web interface.
Note that the conflict file only ever appears in the local folder (not via the cloud web interface).
Important note: The situation could vary depending on different operating systems and software used. Contact ITS Support for further advice.