Skip to Main Content

UQ Research Data Manager

Provides information about how to use the UQ Research Data Manager (UQRDM) to store and manage research data for research projects.

Overview

Several research institutes and some research equipment have specific access to high speed access caches which requires alternate connection details.

Currently these exist:

\\uq.edu.au\UQ-Inst-Gateway1
\\uq.edu.au\UQ-Inst-Gateway2

These map collections to servers with names like data.<institute>.uq.edu.au, e.g. data.aibn.uq.edu.au, data.imb.uq.edu.au, data.qbi.uq.edu.au, and data.cai.uq.edu.au

Please see the following sections for details.

   Note these instructions are specific to individual institutes, if you have any questions, please contact your local IT support.

IMB

Creating a project record and applying for storage

When creating a project record in UQRDM, IMB users must select the option to mount storage on HPC facilities.

  1. Go to Services in your UQRDM project record and select 'add storage'.
  2. Use the drop down box to choose the type of storage. 

Type of data being stored options

  1. Select 'The storage allocation will be used to store data that needs to be accessed by UQ HPC facilities'.
  2. Do not choose this type of storage  if your collection includes human identifiable data.
  3. Then email help@imb.uq.edu.au to request your UQRDM project collection be mounted locally on the IMB high speed access point. Include the storage allocation identifier, e.g., IMBPROJ-Q1234, in your email.  The identifier consists of two parts: the short code (e.g. IMBPROJ) which is created by the Owner of the record when setting up the project record, and the storage code (e.g. Q1234) which is assigned by ITS when the storage is allocated. 

Accessing your storage

To access your storage:

  • Via desktop with UQ Username (allows access to all your locally accessible projects)
    • Windows: \\uq.edu.au\uq-inst-gateway2
    • Mac: smb://uq.edu.au/uq-inst-gateway2
  • ​​Direct access (for an individual project data collection only)
    • Windows: \\data.imb.uq.edu.au\{Project ID}
    • Mac: smb://data.imb.uq.edu.au/{Project ID}

You can access your data via the Cloud, however there may be delays in files being available.

Please contact help@imb.uq.edu.au if you have any questions or need further assistance.

QBI

Creating a project record and applying for storage

When creating a project record in UQRDM, QBI users must select the option to mount storage on HPC facilities, unless you are working with human identifiable data.

  1. Go to Services in your UQRDM project record and select 'add storage'.
  2. Use the drop down box to choose the type of storage.

Type of data being stored options.

  1. Select 'The storage allocation will be used to store data that needs to be accessed by UQ HPC facilities'.
  2. Do not choose this type of storage  if your collection includes human identifiable data.
  3. Then email help@qbi.uq.edu.au to request your UQRDM project collection be mounted locally on the QBI high speed access point. Include the storage allocation identifier, e.g., IMBPROJ-Q1234, in your email.  The identifier consists of two parts: the short code (e.g. IMBPROJ) which is created by the Owner of the record when setting up the project record, and the storage code (e.g. Q1234) which is assigned by ITS when the storage is allocated. 

Accessing your storage

To access your storage:

  • Via desktop with UQ Username (allows access to all your locally accessible projects)
    • Windows: \\uq.edu.au\uq-inst-gateway1
    • Mac: smb://uq.edu.au/uq-inst-gateway1
  • Direct access (for an individual project data collection only)
    • Windows: \\data.qbi.uq.edu.au\{Project ID}  
    • Mac: smb://data.qbi.uq.edu.au/{Project ID}

You can access your data via the Cloud, however there may be delays in files being available.

Please contact help@qbi.uq.edu.au if you have any questions or need further assistance.

AIBN

Creating a project record and applying for storage

When creating a project record in UQRDM, AIBN users must select the option to mount storage on HPC facilities, unless you are working with human identifiable data.

  1. Go to Services in your UQRDM project record and select 'add storage'.
  2. Use the drop down box to choose the type of storage.  

Type of data being stored options.

  1.  Select 'The storage allocation will be used to store data that needs to be accessed by UQ HPC facilities'.
  2. Do not choose this type of storage  if your collection includes human identifiable data.
  3. Then email help@aibn.uq.edu.au to request your UQRDM project collection be mounted locally on the AIBN high speed access point. Include the storage allocation identifier, e.g., IMBPROJ-Q1234, in your email.  The identifier consists of two parts: the short code (e.g. IMBPROJ) which is created by the Owner of the record when setting up the project record, and the storage code (e.g. Q1234) which is assigned by ITS when the storage is allocated. 

Accessing your storage

To access your storage:

  • Via desktop with UQ Username (allows access to all your locally accessible projects)
    • Windows: \\uq.edu.au\uq-inst-gateway1
    • Mac: smb://uq.edu.au/uq-inst-gateway1
  • Direct access (for an individual project data collection only)
    • Windows: \\data.aibn.uq.edu.au\{Project ID}
    • Mac: smb://data.aibn.uq.edu.au/{Project ID}

You can access your data via the Cloud, however there may be delays in files being available.

Please contact help@aibn.uq.edu.au if you have any questions or need further assistance.

CAI

Creating a project record and applying for storage

When creating a project record in UQRDM, CAI users must select the option to mount storage on HPC facilities, unless you are working with human identifiable data.

  1. Go to Services in your UQRDM project record and select 'add storage'.
  2. Use the drop down box to choose the type of storage. 

Type of data being stored options.

  1. Select 'The storage allocation will be used to store data that needs to be accessed by UQ HPC facilities'.
  2. Do not choose this type of storage  if your collection includes human identifiable data.
  3. Then email help@cai.uq.edu.au to request your UQRDM project collection be mounted locally on the CAI high speed access point. Include the storage allocation identifier, e.g., IMBPROJ-Q1234, in your email.  The identifier consists of two parts: the short code (e.g. IMBPROJ) which is created by the Owner of the record when setting up the project record, and the storage code (e.g. Q1234) which is assigned by ITS when the storage is allocated. 

Accessing your storage

To access your storage:

  • Via desktop with UQ Username (allows access to all your locally accessible projects)
    • Windows: \\uq.edu.au\uq-inst-gateway1
    • Mac: smb://uq.edu.au/uq-inst-gateway1
  • Direct access (for an individual project data collection only)
    • Windows: \\data.cai.uq.edu.au\{Project ID}  
    • Mac: smb://data.cai.uq.edu.au/{Project ID}

You can access your data via the Cloud, however there may be delays in files being available.

Please contact help@cai.uq.edu.au if you have any questions or need further assistance.