Dictionaries and encyclopaedias
Books
- The British Constitution byPublication Date: 2009
- Unlocking the English Legal System byPublication Date: 2020
- Smith and Keenan's English Law byPublication Date: 2007
Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles:
- Westlaw UKContains UK and European legislation, case law, journal articles, and other secondary material.
- UK Journals (via Westlaw)UK Journals & Law Reviews contains law reviews published by Sweet & Maxwell and OUP.
- All UK Law Reviews and Journals (via LexisNexis)Covers of 60 United Kingdom journals.
Legislation
Constitutional law
Constitutional law- World constitutions illustratedContains full text of Constitution, plus selected commentaries, scholarly articles and bibliography.
Acts and regulations
Acts and regulations- Westlaw UKContains Public & General Acts, Local Acts, Statutory Instruments, Statutory Rules and Orders.
- legislation.gov.ukPublishes authorised Acts and Statutory Instruments of the United Kingdom, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
- United Kingdom Legislation Locator (via Westlaw)Guide to current, historical, and future versions of U.K. statutes and statutory instruments. Includes references to citing case law and secondary sources.
- Statutes of the RealmContains Statues of the Realm v.1 (1235) - v.11 (1713).
- BAILII - British and Irish Legal Information InstituteBAILII databases contain British and Irish case law, legislation and other materials.
Bills and parliamentary material
Bills and parliamentary material- U.K. Parliamentary papersU.K. Parliamentary papers delivers searchable full text of the British House of Commons Parliamentary or Sessional Papers from 1688, along with a detailed subject index. Also includes the full text from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament, from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.
- Publications & Records (via www.parliament.uk)Includes Hansard (Commons and HL), business papers, publications, committee publications and research publications
- Hansard 1803-2005Digitisation of Hansard from the House of Commons and Lords.
- UK Parliament Deposited papersDeposited papers are documents that are made available to Parliament, usually by a Government minister in response to a direct request for information by an individual MP or member of the Lords. Find deposited papers from 1987 to now.
Case law
Key databases for case law
- Westlaw UKContains an extensive collection of UQ case law.
- ICLR onlineContains full collection of authorised law reports for England and Wales from 1865 onwards.
- All United Kingdom Cases (via LexisNexis)Covers authorised law reports England and Wales and over 20 other series of law reports.
- United Kingdom Case Law Locator (via Westlaw)UK and EU cases, citations, history, and digest information.
Law reports
- Law reports. Appeal Cases (AC)Authorised reports of decisions on appeal to the Supreme Court (formerly the House of Lords) and the Privy Council (1875-current).
- Law Reports. Queen's Bench DivisionAuthorised reports of decisions of the Queen's Bench Division of the High Court.
- Law Reports. Chancery DivisionAuthorised reports of decisions of the Chancery Division of the High Court.
- Law Reports. Family DivisionAuthorised reports of decisions of the Family Division of the High Court.
Other reporter series
- English Reports (ER)Reported decisions of all English courts from 1220 to the commencement of the official Law reports in 1866.
- Historical English Reports (HeinOnline)Find historical reprints of the English Reports (1220-1867).
- Weekly Law Reports (WLR)Reported decisions of the House of Lords, Privy Council, Court of Appeal, and also in the European Court of Justice. Many decisions are subsequently reported in the authorised law report series.
- All England Law Reports (All ER)Decisions from English superior courts.
- Lloyd's Law ReportsThe first time you access the database, you will need to create a profile in order to access the full-text content. Please see links and information in the Library record in the "View It" section for details of how to do this.
Case citators
Case citators- Westlaw UKTo see citator information, search for case and then select case analysis.