Dictionaries and encyclopaedias
Browse the shelves
- New Zealand's Legal System byPublication Date: 2005
- Law alive byPublication Date: 2019
Databases
- AGIS plus textThe Attorney-General's Information Service indexes legal scholarship from Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific.
- New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)This website contains many New Zealand journals and law reviews.
- World Journals (via Westlaw)Includes journal articles from multiple jurisdictions.
Legislation
Constitutional law
Constitutional law- World constitutions illustratedContains full text of Constitution, plus selected commentaries, scholarly articles and bibliography.
Acts and regulations
Acts and regulations- New Zealand LegislationContains Acts, bills and legislative instruments. Includes historical versions.
- New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)Contains Acts, Regulations and bills. Includes historical collection Acts.
- Early New Zealand StatutesCovers 1841-1940.
- Parliamentary Counsel OfficeResponsible for drafting and publishing New Zealand legislation.
Bills and parliamentary material
Bills and parliamentary material- New Zealand ParliamentContains copies of bills and parliamentary publications including Hansard and the Journals from 2002 onwards.
Case law
- New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)Contains case law from New Zealand's Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court and lower courts.
- Judicial Decisions Online (Ministry of Justice)Contains all Supreme Court decisions, Court of Appeal decisions (from 2003) and High Court decisions (from 2005).
- Decisions of the Judicial Committee of the Privy CouncilArchived webpage of the National Archives. Holds decisions prior to 2010.
Law reports
- New Zealand Law Reports (NZLR)Authorised reports of decisions of the New Zealand Supreme Court, the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council and the High Court.
Case citators
Law reform materials
- Law CommissionNew Zealand's law reform commission. Access reports, issues, papers and more.