Skip to Main Content

EndNote referencing software

How to use EndNote 21 and 20 Desktop for Windows and Mac, EndNote Online (Web) and EndNote for iPad and iPhone, thesis and publications writing, advanced tools, output (referencing) styles, syncing, sharing and collaboration and common issues.

About Find Full Text tool

You can use the Find Full Text feature to assist in locating the full articles of your references.

You can search for up to 250 references at one time.

For best results:

  • use the UQ VPN if not on campus with a UQ computer e.g. Library computer.

Set Find Full Text preferences

The Find Full Text tool can be used to locate and attach PDFs and web addresses for your references. 

To get the best results, set up the Preferences:

  1. On Windows, go to Edit.
    On Mac, go to the application menu.
  2. Click on Preferences, and select Find Full Text
  3. Check all the checkboxes for Web of Science, DOI, PubMed, and OpenURL
  4. In the OpenURL Path box, paste in:

 https://uq.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UQ_INST/openurl?

  1. Leave the Authenticate with URL box empty. Note: Find Full Text is not compatible with OpenAthens
  2. Click on Apply
  3. Click the OK.

Screenshot of EndNote Preferences window by © Clarivate.

Use Find Full Text tool

Why Find Full Text may not work

  • UQ VPN is not active.
  • All the Find Full Text options are not selected, with correct web addresses added.
  • The database or online journal has blocked PDF harvesting.
  • Changes to the database or online journal has temporarily blocked PDF harvesting. 
  • The OpenURL cannot find a specific article PDF, e.g. when a whole entire issue of articles is contained in one large PDF rather than individual PDFs or fails because of a redirect. 
  • It is not available as a PDF. If it is a recent article, try again later as this may be temporary. 

Note: Some providers are known to have limited success in returning results e.g. EBSCO, JSTOR, ScienceDirect, and Wiley.

Alternative options

Other options to try include: 

  • OpenURL Link
  • the Found URL (if available)
  • EndNote Click browser extension
  • attach PDF to an existing reference
  • import PDF to create a reference.