Open educational resources (OER)

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
Provides a more holistic view of finance and answers the question of how business and investors can incorporate environmental and social factors into financial decision-making.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
This book provides detailed foundational tools to assess and evaluate the costs and benefits associated with public or private decision making through a cost-benefit analysis (CBA). This book is targeted at students with preliminary foundations in economics.

CC BY-NC 4.0
Developed for an international cohort, this text is designed to explain business finance concepts in an easily understood manner without overwhelming students with too much content.

2nd edition
CC BY-NC 4.0
This textbook is based on materials sourced from different practitioners from the world of research design, data collection, analysis, and interpretation.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
This book has been written for sports management students to learn general marketing knowledge and theories relevant to the sports industry, such as sponsorship, endorsements, customer experience, pricing and operations.

CC BY 2.0
Principles of Economics 3e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The third edition takes a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts.

CC BY 2.0
Covers the scope and sequence of most one semester introductory macroeconomics courses. The third edition takes a balanced approach to the theory and application of macroeconomics concepts.

CC BY 2.0
Covers the scope and sequence of most one semester introductory microeconomics courses. The third edition takes a balanced approach to the theory and application of microeconomics concepts.

CC BY 4.0
Principles of Marketing is designed to meet the scope and sequence for a one-semester marketing course for undergraduate business majors and minors

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
'Mastering Reinforcement Learning’ guides readers from the fundamental concepts to the latest techniques, seamlessly blending theory, practice, and code. This book is designed for both beginners and those with some experience in reinforcement learning who wish to elevate their skills and apply them to real-world scenarios.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Step by step, students get real engineering data and scenario examples along with chapter-long case studies that illustrate concepts in realistic, thoroughly detailed situations.

CC BY-SA 4.0
Reconciliation+design is a set of adaptable resources developed to enable Engineering faculty to include Indigenous reconciliation in engineering courses.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
The book is most suitable for a one-term, introductory engineering thermodynamics course at the undergraduate level. It may also be used for self-learning of fundamental concepts of classical thermodynamics

CC BY-SA 4.0
A collection of readings and exercises aligned with the course, ME 270, Introduction to Mechanical Engineering Design, at Iowa State University. This course provides an overview of mechanical engineering design with applications to thermal and mechanical systems, and an introduction to current design practices used in industry.

CC BY-NC-ND 3.0
The book is not meant to be an introduction to Python or to programming in general. Instead it is meant to help Python users learn to use Python's data science stack–libraries such as IPython, NumPy, Pandas, Matplotlib, Scikit-Learn, and related tools–to effectively store, manipulate, and gain insight from data.

CC BY-NC 4.0
"Quality in Healthcare: Assessing What We Do" is an open educational resource specifically designed to enhance the knowledge of undergraduate nursing and midwifery students in research, clinical improvement, and clinical audit processes.

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ
An introduction to communication essentials for novice student dental practitioners on initial clinical placements involving medically complex patients.

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
Developed for preceptors hosting students in the Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons) program. Within this resource, preceptors can find supporting guides and information on placements, the work integrated learning program, and the Entrustable Professional Activities.

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ
This book aims to introduce the dental environment and give practical guidance on how to navigate the equipment, instruments, procedures and how to stay safe.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
This resource focusses on how best to deliver exercises for individuals, including advice and guidance on how to change exercises to achieve the outcomes you need.

CC BY-SA 4.0
Taking a transformational, place-based approach, the OER case studies for health are set within Australian metropolitan and regional areas so learning is contextual and relatable.

CC BY-NC
Packed full of practical tips and examples to equip students with the knowledge to engage with research, making it invaluable for students embarking on health research for the first time.

CC BY-NC 4.0
This guide is designed to support health and social care researchers and practitioners to conduct qualitative research.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
This open resources textbook contains 10 Units that describe and explain the main concepts in statistical analysis of psychological data. In addition to conceptual descriptions and explanations of the basic analyses for descriptive statistics, this textbook also explains how to conduct those analyses with common statistical software (Excel) and open-source free software (R).

CC BY 4.0
Chapters include subjects of basic math skills, unit conversions, medication math, interpreting lab values, and introductory statistics. Within each chapter, there is a main lesson followed by sample exercises and sets of practice questions.

CC BY-NC 4.0
An open access textbook designed primarily for use by first and second year undergraduate students of British Psychological Society accredited Psychology degree courses in the UK.

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
Music Research Essentials is for undergraduate music students and provides discipline-specific information on the fundamentals of doing music research.

CC BY-NC
This introductory book on CSR and Sustainability Communication, discusses the evolution of the sustainability story in corporate, political, and environmental discourses as well as paradigms and theoretical approaches to better understand communication about, of and for sustainability.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ
Bringing together aspects of ethics, social and civil responsibility, advocacy and publics, this introductory textbook provides a new approach to communication theory and practice in the post truth era.

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ
Using language data to learn about language: A teachers’ guide to classroom corpus use contains English, Portuguese and Spanish teaching resources to be used in international language classes.

CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
In this volume, the varied histories of Australian rock art research from different parts of the country are explored not only in terms of key researchers, developments and changes over time, but also the crucial role of First Nations people themselves in investigations of this key component of their living heritage.

CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
This book is an essential guide for non-Indigenous linguists wanting to engage more deeply with Indigenous communities and form genuinely collaborative research partnerships. It fleshes out and redefines ethical linguistic research and work with Indigenous people and communities, with application beyond linguistics.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
An integrated suite of learning resources developed for the core music theory and musicianship curriculum. Includes engaging and progressive video demonstrations and interactive listening and vocal exercises that integrate musical knowledge with foundational musical skills.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Learn what it means to think like an historian! Units on “Thinking Historically,” “Reading Historically,” “Researching Historically,” and “Writing Historically” describe the essential skills of the discipline of history. “Performing Historically” offers advice on presenting research findings and describes some careers open to those with an academic training in history.

CC BY
Designed to meet the scope and sequence of your course, Introduction to Philosophy surveys logic, metaphysics, epistemology, theories of value, and history of philosophy thematically.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Exploring the pathways offered by the intersection of the digital and the humanities, Making Sense of Digital Humanities seeks to support students and faculty engaging with the complex ways digital humanities enhances our understanding of modern society.

CC BY-NC 4.0
A collaboration between Australian universities. The updated 2024 edition of this guide is designed to support students undertaking legal studies and contribute to the development of research skills in Australian law schools.

CC BY-NC 4.0
This book aims to equip law clinic students with useful knowledge, skills, tips and know-how to make the most of their law clinic experience and how to develop important employability skills for future success, whether in the legal profession or related pursuits.

CC BY-NC 4.0
Svantesson on the Law of Obligations provides an accessible, yet comprehensive, overview of how the rules of common law and equity, together with the provisions of applicable legislation such as the Australian Consumer Law, the Fair Trading Acts, and the Sale of Goods Acts, affect contractual and other obligations. The material dealt with is approached from an Australian perspective.

CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
This collection brings together critical perspectives on voluntary assisted dying itself, and on various practices adjacent to it, including questions of state power, population ageing, the differential treatment of human and non-human animals at the time of death, the management of health care processes through silent ‘workarounds’, and the financialisation of death.

CC BY 4.0
Although this open education resource (OER) is written with the needs and abilities of first-year undergraduate criminology students in mind, it is designed to be flexible. As a whole, the OER is amply broad to serve as the main textbook for an introductory course, yet each chapter is deep enough to be useful as a supplement for subject-area courses.

CC BY-NC 4.0
Designed to actively engage your exploration and critical analysis of human anatomical variation in an Australian and New Zealand context. Provides a summary of the range and frequency of anatomical phenotypes in Australian and New Zealand patients by drawing from contemporary anatomical science research.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Designed to help students develop the fundamental mathematical and quantitative literacy required to navigate and interpret evidence-based Biomedical data. This will provide students with the skills and confidence to habitually question any quantitative data they come across and to use these skills to make informed judgements regarding their veracity.

CC BY-SA 4.0
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology is a textbook for biomedical, life science and health majors. The book is organised by body system and contains interactive resources to test your knowledge.

CC BY
This workbook presents a series of questions related to a particular area of anatomy. Answers to those questions are included at the end of the book. This approach to self-assessment in basic human anatomy will be helpful to students in preparing for clinical-based learning activities as well as for other types of knowledge assessment and evaluation.

CC BY 4.0
Each chapter in this book starts with a main section that describes one or more key concepts in bioimage analysis.

CC BY
An openly licensed textbook covering mathematical topics necessary for a program in biomedical physics, including differential and integral calculus, infinite and Fourier series, complex variables, matrices, vector analysis, curvilinear coordinates and multiple integrals, vector calculus, first order differential equations, diffusion equations, and probability distribution functions

CC BY 4.0
Printable study companion aligned with Medical Terminology, an open educational resource that focuses on breaking down medical terms into their word parts, pronouncing medical terms, and learning the meaning of medical terms. This resource is targeted for health services students in the first year of their college programs.

CC BY-NC 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
This book has been written to provide a friendly introduction to data analysis and statistical modelling. It covers all the material in a standard introductory course at university, as well as more advanced topics such as multiple and logistic regression.

This book is designed as a succinct and focused resource, specifically aimed to help students grasp key threshold concepts in Biochemistry.

CC BY-NC 4.0
Designed to help you develop the ability to use mathematics to solve the kinds of problems that don't come with answers in the back of the book.

CC BY-NC 4.0
This book provides an introduction to the genetic concepts of reproductive systems, recombination, mutation, segregation and linkage analysis, inbreeding, quantitative inheritance, fertility regulation, population genetics and polyploidy.

Covers all of the topics in a typical first course in differential calculus. Initially it focuses on using calculus as a problem solving tool (in conjunction with analytic geometry and trigonometry) by exploiting an informal understanding of differentials (infinitesimals).

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
This open textbook includes various features designed to enhance the student learning experience. These include a multitude of high-quality figures and images within each chapter that help to clarify key concepts and are optimized for viewing online. Self-test assessment questions are embedded in each online chapter that help students focus their learning.

CC BY 4.0
Introduction to Environmental Sciences and Sustainability is a college-level Open Educational Resource (OER) that focuses on the most relevant environmental science issues and addresses ways to incorporate sustainable practices. This resource is targeted at environmental science students.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Introduction to Neuroscience  is designed for undergraduate students enrolled in introductory neuroscience courses. This first edition will guide students through the structure and function of nervous system cells and nervous system structures, signaling within the nervous system, and introduce various sensory systems.

CC BY-NC 4.0
Focuses on genomics and plant biotechnology approaches used in plant breeding, the analysis of genomic data, and their application in quality control measures.

CC BY-NC 4.0
Veterinary Histology is a microscopic anatomy textbook focused on domestic species, including the dog, cat, cattle, horses, swine, and camelids. This digital textbook provides comprehensive, system-specific text as well as high-resolution, annotated images along with chapter-specific glossary of terms and learning objectives.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
An introduction to the history of The University of Queensland as it relates to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, cultures and communities.

CC BY-NC-SA
Created to support the UQ community to build stronger relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and non-Indigenous peoples across the University. The Language of Relationships Guide aims to inform students and staff of appropriate language and provide tools for non-Indigenous peoples in the context of formal, academic communication and everyday conversations that will build and enhance those relationships.

CC BY 4.0
A multidisciplinary introduction to the social sciences with an applied approach to the study of human society. This book examines diverse aspects of social life from multiple perspectives, incorporating analytical and methodological insights in a wide range of social science disciplines, including sociology, anthropology, political science, public policy, psychology and human geography.

CC BY-NC-ND
The first open source and open access textbook on Australian politics, Australian Politics and Policy provides a unique, holistic coverage of politics and public topics for use in university courses.

CC BY-NC 4.0
The teaching and learning activities in this book were designed by pre-service History teachers at Deakin University, Australia. The activities cover a wide range of topics from ancient history through to early twenty-first century history and are designed to develop students' historical thinking.

CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
This book examines parliamentary management in the national parliaments of Australia and the United Kingdom. Without claiming to be a ‘how to’ book, it attempts to provide a relatable account of how parliamentary officials and members of parliament carry out their inherently complex roles and how they might be assisted by contemporary public management approaches.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
The authors of ‘Trauma Informed Behavior Support’, Dr Kay Ayre and Dr Govind Krishnamoorthy, speak with interdisciplinary experts from education and mental health about trauma informed education and practical strategies to support students.

CC BY-NC 4.0
This text endeavours to focus on wellbeing promotion in educational contexts as schools and other educational contexts play a pivotal role in teaching students about nonviolence, promoting understanding of diversity, endowing people with a shared purpose and meaning and the skills and behaviours to create a more inclusive, healthy, and positive future.

CC BY 4.0
ChatGPT in Higher Education explores the positive integration of AI in academia and the ways that it might enhance pedagogy, research, and professional development.

CC BY-NC-SA 4.0