Open Textbooks @ UQ
- Open Textbooks @ UQUQ's open textbook creation platform on Pressbooks. Find, create, adopt and adapt open textbooks for your courses.
Check the Open Textbooks @ UQ catalogue for the full list of books.
Open textbooks by subject
A selection of recently published open textbooks by subject:
Open textbook collection
- Open Educational Resources (OERs) - TextbooksThis collection includes both open textbooks created by UQ staff and students on the Open Textbooks @ UQ platform, and open textbooks available through collections such as OpenStax College and the Open Textbook Library.
Indigenising curriculum
The language of relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples - Introductory guide by Publication Date: 2023CC BY-NC-SA
Created to support the UQ community to build stronger relationships between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and non-Indigenous peoples across the University. The Language of Relationships Guide aims to inform students and staff of appropriate language and provide tools for non-Indigenous peoples in the context of formal, academic communication and everyday conversations that will build and enhance those relationships.
UQ has a Blak history by Publication Date: 2024CC BY-NC-SA 4.0. Available on Open Textbooks @ UQ.
An introduction to the history of The University of Queensland as it relates to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, cultures and communities.
- Indigenising curriculum resourcesFind a rich and curated collection of library resources and innovative approaches for embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander curriculum and inclusive teaching practices in programs.
More eTextbooks collections
Search for a particular topic or browse for eTextbooks in your subject area. You may be required to register to access or download the books.
- Pressbooks directoryAn index of OER books and content published across Pressbooks networks. Search and filter books by keyword, subject, license, and more.
- LibreTextsClick Explore the Libraries to find open books in different subject areas.
- Open Textbook LibraryFind free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks.
- OpenBook PublishersFree online editions available in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read online, downloaded or reused.
- OpenStax CNX LibraryOpenStax allows you to share and freely adapt educational materials such as courses, books, and reports.
- WikibooksOver 2000 open content textbooks that anyone can edit.
Open access eBooks
Australian
- JCU Open eBooksJames Cook University's Open Textbook catalogue.
- La Trobe eBureauLa Trobe University's open book platform.
- RMIT Open PressOpen textbooks by RMIT authors.
- Sydney Open LibrarySydney Open Library (SOL) hosts academic monographs and textbooks published by Sydney University Press in open access, covering subjects across the humanities and social sciences.
- University of Adelaide PressPeer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes from Adelaide-led research and collaborations across the world.
- UniSQ Open Text catalogueUniversity of Southern Queensland free and open textbooks catalogue.
International
- Public Domain Review - BooksA collection of books in the public domain. Search by century, genre, content and more
- JSTOR open access eBooksFreely available eBooks for anyone to use under the terms of a Creative Commons license.
- Project GutenbergFree ebooks to download or read online.
- Directory of Open Access BooksSearch for your subject or browse through over 7000 academic peer-reviewed books and chapters.
- InTech Open Access BooksScience, Technology & Medicine Open Access book publisher.
- NCBI BookshelfOnline access to books and documents in life science and healthcare
Reports and papers
- World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)Open access repository for the World Bank's research outputs and knowledge products.
Open Access book publishers
- Publishers of OA BooksOA Directory's list of publishers of open access books.