Finding journal articles
Use these key databases to find journal articles related to biology.
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
- ScienceDirectA full text database covering multiple disciplines such as life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences and humanities.
- Research libraryVia ProQuest - includes journals, magazines and newspapers on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
- JSTORThe JSTOR archive of digitised full text journals, covering arts and sciences but does not include current issues.
- CSIRO online journalsThis is not a database, it is the journal publishers page and you can search in specific CSIRO titles. Full text journals published by CSIRO Publishing. Australian content. Covers a wide range of scientific disciplines including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences and environmental management.
How to search for journal articles
- Advanced searchingThe Find quality information guide has tips to help you build your search strategy.
- Advanced searchingAdvice on how to focus your search.
- Is the journal peer reviewed?In Ulrichsweb:
1. Type in the name of the journal.
2. If there is an icon of a black and white jersey beside the journal title then it is peer reviewed/refereed.