APA 7th referencing style - print version

Author(s) of book – family name and initials. (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Swartz, 2019)

OR

Swartz, W. (2019). Descriptive psychology and the person concept: Essential attributes of persons and behavior. Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/C2017-0-00372-5

Author(s) of book – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Whittingham & Coyne, 2019)

OR

Whittingham and Coyne (2019) 

Always list the authors in the order in which they appear in the publication.

Cite both authors for each use of reference.

Whittingham, K., & Coyne, W.  (2019). Acceptance and commitment therapy: The clinician's guide for supporting parents​. Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/C2017-0-01265-X

Author(s) of book – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Sheldon et al., 2019)

Sheldon et al. (2019) found that....

Cite last name of first author followed by et al.

Sheldon, P., Rauschnabel, P. A., & Honeycutt, J. M. (2019). The dark side of social media: Psychological, managerial, and societal perspectives. Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/C2017-0-04063-6

Author(s) of book – family name and initials (for first 19 authors), . . . final author name and initial(s).  Title of book – italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Harris et al., 2019)

Harris et al. (2019) found that....

Cite last name of first author followed by et al

Harris, K., Johnson, W., Matthews, L., Wilson, K., Lewis, S., Bailey, T., Kelly, M., Norris, O., James, P., Harrison, I., Grant, Q., Vince, J., Patterson, Y., Carson, H., Allison, T., Lang, R., Roberts, G., Gordon, N., Yates, J., . . . Holland, F. (2019). Brisbane city history. University of Queensland.

Title of book - italicised. (Year). Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

Management is defined as (CCH Macquarie Dictionary, 1993)

OR

CCH Macquarie Dictionary (1993) defines…

Cite in the text the first few words of the title and the year. Italicise the book title.

The CCH Macquarie dictionary of business. (1993). CCH Australia.

Anonymous - only if author is specifically named as “Anonymous”. (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Anonymous, 1996)

Use only if author is specifically named as Anonymous

Anonymous. (1996). Primary colors: A novel of politics. Random House.

Author(s) of book – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Queensland Health, 2002)

Queensland Health (2002) recommends that….

Queensland Health. (2002). Best practice guidelines for the management of type 1 diabetes in children and adolescents. 

If the author name is the same as the publisher, omit the publisher.

Book

Add a comma , after each group author eg. Queensland Health, in the Author field

Author(s) of book – family name and initials. (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if stable

(Khan, Kunz, Kleijnen & Antes, 2011)

OR

Khan, K., Kunz, R., Kleijnen, J., & Antes, G. (2011). Systematic reviews to support evidence-based medicine : how to review and apply findings of healthcare research. CRC Press.

Author(s) of book – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of book - italicised (Edition number ed.). Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(DeHart, Sroufe, & Cooper, 1995)

DeHart, Sroufe, and Cooper (1995) state the idea that…

DeHart, G. B., Sroufe, L.A., & Cooper, R. G. (1995). Child development: Its nature and course (4th ed.). McGraw-Hill.

The edition statement is placed after the title of the work. This is not necessary for a first edition.

Editor(s) of book – family name and initials, use & for multiple editors. (Ed. or Eds.). (Year). Title of book - italicised. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Hoffmann & Bublitz, 2017)

OR 

Hoffmann and Bublitz (2017)

Treat multiple editors same as multiple authors

Hoffmann, C. R., & Wolfram Bublitz, W. (Eds.). (2017). Pragmatics of social media. De Gruyter. https://doi.org/10.1515/9783110431070

If the book's chapters are written by different authors to the editor(s), you must reference each chapter you use as a book chapter.

Author(s) of book – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of book - italicised (Translator name - first initial. last name, Trans.; Edition - if available). Publisher. (Original work published Year). DOI or Web address - if available

(Ylinen, 2007/2008)

Include original year of publication and year of translated publication.

Ylinen, J. (2008). Stretching therapy: For sport and manual therapies (J. Nurmenniemi, Trans.). Churchill Livingstone. (Original work published 2007)

Book

Enter translator’s name in Translator field

Add Original work published Year to Original Publication field

Author(s) of chapter – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of chapter. In Editor(s) – initial(s) and family name - of book (Ed. OR Eds.), Title of book – italicised (pp. Page numbers). Publisher. DOI or Web address (if available)

Note:

Format for 2 editors - Initial(s) and family name & Initial(s) and family name: eg. A. B. Smith & C. Jones (Eds)

Format for 3 or more editors - Initial(s) and family name, Initial(s) and family name, & Initial and family name:
eg. A. B. Smith, C. Jones, & D. E. McDonald (Eds) 
- Please note the comma before the ampersand when there are 3 or more editors

(Rattan, 2019)

Use the chapter authors, not the editors of the book

Treat multiple authors in same format as books

Rattan, A. (2019). How lay theories (or mindsets) shape the confrontation of prejudice. In R. K. Mallett & M. J. Monteith (Eds.), Confronting prejudice and discrimination: The science of changing minds and behaviors (pp. 121-140). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/B978-0-12-814715-3.00008-4

Author(s) of section – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year of publication). Title of section. Title of database – italicised. DOI or Web address (if available)

(Engelhard, 2001)

Engelhard (2001) has argued that ....

Englehard, G. (2001). Review of the closed high school placement test. In B. S. Plake & J. C. Impara (Eds.), The fourteenth mental measurements yearbook. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=mmt&AN=test.2083&site=ehost-live

Book chapter

Author(s) - last name, initial(s) or company name - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of brochure or pamphlet [Brochure OR Pamphlet]. Web address 

(Queensland Government, 2021)

Queensland Government (2021) found that ....

Queensland Government. (2021). Queensland’s COVID safe future [Pamphlet]. https://www.covid19.qld.gov.au/__data/assets/pdf_file/0016/127150/DPC7309-COVID-19-Restrictions-roadmap.pdf?nocache-v27

Author(s) of paper – last name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year, Month Date). Title of paper - italicised. [Type of paper eg. Paper presentation]. Conference Name, Location. DOI or Web address - if available.

(Norton et al., 2018)

Norton et al. (2018) stated that ....

Norton, M., Moloney, G., Burke, S., Sanson, A., & Louis, W. (2018, September 27-30). Psychological responses to social threats: From stigma to solidarity [Paper presentation]. 2018 APS Congress Psychology advancing into a new age, Sydney, NSW, Australia.

Conference paper

Add type of paper to Type field

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month, Date). Title - italicised [Poster presentation]. Conference Name, Location. DOI or Web address - if available

(Snoswell, 2016)

Snoswell (2016)

Snoswell, C. (2016, October 31 - November 3). Models of care for store-and-forward teledermatology in Australia [Poster presentation]. 7th International Conference on Successes and Failures in Telehealth, Auckland, New Zealand.

Conference paper

Add Poster presentation to Type field

Author(s) of paper – last name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year, Month Date(s)). Title of paper - italicised. [Type of paper eg. Paper presentation]. Conference Name, Location. DOI or Web address - if available (Conference cancelled)

(Johnson, 2020)

Johnson (2020) stated that ....

Johnson, R. (2020, May 4 - 8). Positioning the library as a place of cultural safety. [Paper presentation]. ALIA National 2020 Conference: Courageous And Audacious, Sydney, Australia. (Conference cancelled)

Conference paper

Add type of paper to Type field

Add (Conference cancelled) in URL field after web address

Investigator(s). (Year). Title of dataset - italicised (Version - if needed)  [Description of format or type]. Name of publisher - if available. DOI or Web address

(Wong & Langevin, 2007)

Wong and Langevin (2007) found that ....

Wong, K. K., & Langevin, W. E. (2007). Policy expansion of school choice in the American states, 1991-2005 (Version 1) [Dataset]. ICPSR. http://doi.org/10.3886/ICPSR20427.v1

Group author name(s). (Year). Title of dataset - italicised (Version - if needed) [Description of format or type]. Name of publisher - if available. DOI or Web address

(Pew Hispanic Center, 2004)

The Pew Hispanic Center (2004) reported that ....

Pew Hispanic Center. (2004). Changing channels and crisscrossing cultures: A survey of Latinos on the news media [Data file and code book]. http://pewhispanic.org/datasets/

Investigator(s). (Year). Title - italicised OR [Description of data - if untitled] [Unpublished raw data]. Data source - if available. 

(Sherlock & Mulvihill, 2018)

Sherlock and Mulvihill, (2018) found that ....

Sherlock, D., & Mulvihill, A. (2018). MASTER Focus Program: Outline of skills [Unpublished raw data]. The University of Queensland.

Author(s) or editor(s) of work – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors or editors. (Ed. or Eds. - if editor used). (Year). Title - italicised (Edition - if other than first). Publisher.

(Wolman, 1989)

In Wolman (1989), it was argued that ....

Wolman, B.B. (Ed.). (1989). Dictionary of behavioral science (2nd ed.). Academic Press.

Book

Edited book (if editor used)

Author(s) or editor(s) of work – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors or editors. (Year). Entry title. In Editors - initial(s). Initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors (ed. or Eds), Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition ed.). Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Redmond, 2009)

Redmond (2009)

Redmond, B. F. (2017). Affective events theory. In S. G. Rogelberg (Ed.), The SAGE encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology (2nd ed.). Sage. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781483386874.n10

Group author name. (Year or n.d.). Title of entry. In Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised. Retrieved Month Date, Year, from Web address

(American Psychological Association, n.d.)

American Psychological Association (n.d.) defined ....

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Mindfulness meditation. In APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved November 21, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/mindfulness-meditation

Entry title. (Year). In Editors - initial(s). Last Name - use & for multiple editors, Title of dictionary or encyclopaedia - italicised (Edition - if other than first ed.). DOI or Web address - if available

(Action theory, 2002)

Use entry title, not editors.

Action theory. (2002). In C. Calhoun (Ed.), Dictionary of the social sciences. https://www-oxfordreference-com/view/10.1093/acref/9780195123715.001.0001/acref-9780195123715-e-18?rskey=WCYpQn&result=18

Note. From (use for reprinted) or Adapted from (use for adaptations) “Title of Article,” by Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name - initial(s). Author - last name, Year, Title of Journal, Volume(Issue - if available), p. xx. (DOI or Web address - if available).Copyright Year by Name of Copyright Holder (if no permission needed) OR CC License (if Creative Commons) OR Reprinted with permission (if permission needed) OR In the public domain (if in public domain).

Mäkikangas, M., Schaufeli, W., Leskinen, E., Kinnunen, U., Hyvönen, K. and Feldt, T. (2016). Long-term development of employee well-being: A latent transition approach. Journal of Happiness Studies, 17(6), 2325–2345. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10902-015-9696-7

Journal article

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, insert the in-text citation as usual in Word. Highlight the reference, go to Edit and Management Citations and in the Formatting menu, click on Show Only in Bibliography then on OK.

Note. From (use for reprinted) or Adapted from (use for adaptations) Title of Book (any edition or volume information, p. xxx), by Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name initial(s). Author - last name, Year, Place of Publication: Publisher. Copyright Year by Name of Copyright Holder (if no permission needed) OR CC License (if Creative Commons) OR Reprinted with permission (if permission needed) OR In the public domain (if in public domain).

If you are using it in a published work, at the end include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission. 

Glaszious, P., Irwig, L., Bain, C., & Colditz, G. (2001). Systematic reviews in health care: A practical guide. Cambridge University Press.

Book

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, insert the in-text citation as usual in Word. Highlight the reference, go to Edit and Management Citations and in the Formatting menu, click on Show Only in Bibliography then on OK.

Note. From (use for reprinted) or Adapted from (use for adaptations) “Title of Chapter,” by Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name - initial(s). Author - last name, in Editor - first name initial(s). Editor - last name (Ed.), Title of Book (any edition or volume information, p. xxx), Year, Place of Publication: Publisher. Copyright Year by Name of Copyright Holder (if no permission needed) OR CC License (if Creative Commons) OR Reprinted with permission (if permission needed) OR In the public domain (if in public domain).

If you are using it in a published work, at the end include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission. 

Doust, J. (2010). Evidence about diagnosis. In T. Hoffman, S. Bennett, & C. Del Mar (Eds.), Evidence-based practice across the health professions (pp. 128-144). Elsevier Australia.

Book chapter

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, insert the in-text citation as usual in Word. Highlight the reference, go to Edit and Management Citations and in the Formatting menu, click on Show Only in Bibliography then on OK.

Note. From (use for reprinted) or Adapted from (use for adaptations) “Title of Web Document,” by Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name - initial(s). Author - last name, Year (http://xxxxxx). Copyright Year by Name of Copyright Holder (if no permission needed) OR CC License (if Creative Commons) OR Reprinted with permission (if permission needed) OR In the public domain (if in public domain).

If you are using it in a published work, at the end include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission. 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2016). Health is not the same for everyone. https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/australias-health/australias-health-2016-in-brief/contents/health-is-not-the-same-for-everyone

Report

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, insert the in-text citation as usual in Word. Highlight the reference, go to Edit and Management Citations and in the Formatting menu, click on Show Only in Bibliography then on OK.

Short Title of the Act - italicised Year - italicised (Jurisdiction abbreviation) s. Subdivision number - if applicable. Web address

Long title should only be used if there is no short title.

(Major Events Act 2014 (Qld) s. 3)

Major Events Act 2014 (Qld) states that ....

EndNote: In Edit & Manage Citations in Word, choose Exclude Year in Formatting. Then in Suffix field, type space (Qld) and click on OK.

Major Events Act 2014 (Qld). https://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/view/pdf/inforce/current/act-2014-060

Book

Add Act title Year to Title field

Add Jurisdiction abbreviation to Year field

Short Title of the Bill Year (Jurisdiction abbreviation) s. Subdivision number - if applicable. Web address

Long title should only be used if there is no short title.

Healthy Futures Commission Queensland Bill 2017 (Qld) s. 23

As found in the Healthy Futures Commission Queensland Bill (2017, s. 23) .....

EndNote: In Edit & Manage Citations in Word, choose Exclude Year in Formatting. Then in Suffix field, type space (Qld) and click on OK.

Healthy Futures Commission Queensland Bill 2017 (Qld) s. 23. https://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/view/pdf/bill.first/bill-2017-007

Web page

Add jurisdiction abbreviation to "Year" field

Add section to "Edition" field

(Commonwealth, 2010)

EndNote: Go to Edit and Management Citations in Word and add comma Year to Suffix text box eg. , 2022

Commonwealth. Parliamentary debates. Senate. 2 February 2010. 1. http://parlinfo.aph.gov.au/parlInfo/download/chamber/hansards/2010-02-02/toc_pdf/7347-8.pdf;fileType=application%2Fpdf#search=%222010s%202010%22

Unpublished work

Add Chamber to Department field

Add Day Month Year to Date field

Add Volume number to Place Published field

Author(s) - Last name, initial - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title - italicised. [Image description]. Site name. Web address

The University of Queensland, n.d.

The University of Queensland (n.d.) shows that...

The University of Queensland. (n.d.). [Photograph of baby koala in tree]. https://www.uq.edu.au/news/article/2020/01/new-umbrella%E2%80%99-species-would-massively-improve-conservation

Artwork

Add type of image to Type of Work field

Author(s) - Last name, initial - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title - italicised. [Infographic]. Site name. Web address

(Ivett, 2017)

Ivett (2017) showed that ....

Ivett, K. (2017). Women and equality in national parliaments. [Infographic]. Kantar Information is Beautiful. https://www.informationisbeautifulawards.com/showcase/1850-women-and-equality-in-national-parliaments

Artwork

Add Infographic to Type of Work field.

Creator(s) - Last name, initial - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title - italicised. [Photograph]. Site name. Web address

(Watson, n.d.)

Watson (n.d.) demonstrates that ....

Includes title 

Waton, C. (n.d.). Red-capped robin [Photograph]. Australian Geographic. https://www.australiangeographic.com.au/topics/wildlife/2019/09/a-guide-to-australias-most-colourful-robins/

No title

Gilligan, J. (n.d.). [Photograph of Australian cassowary sleeping]. Australian Geographic. https://www.australiangeographic.com.au/topics/wildlife/2019/10/jungle-royalty-the-enigmatic-cassowary/

If there is no title, include a brief description in square brackets [ ] where the title goes. Do not italicise.

Artwork

If no title, add brief information to Description field.

Add Photograph to Type of Work field

Author(s) - use & to combine authors. (Year). Title - italicised [Clip art OR Stock image]. Site name. Web address

(Lucky Business, n.d.)

Lucky Business (n.d.)

Lucky Business. (n.d.). Close up view of student taking notes during lecture [Stock image]. shutterstock. https://www.shutterstock.com/image-photo/close-view-student-taking-notes-during-309289910

Artwork

Add Clip art OR Stock image to Type of Work field

Add provider of image eg. shutterstock to Publisher field

Author(s) - use & to combine authors [Instagram name]. (Year, Month Day). Title or content up to first 20 words - italicised [Photograph(s)]. Instagram. Web address

(The University of Queensland Library, 2019)

The University of Queensland Library (2019) showed that....

The University of Queensland Library [uniofqldlibrary].(2019, October 21). St Lucia is looking extra gramable this morning. Happy Monday everyone! [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/B32v1CUFTQ3/

Short form web addresses can also be used

Social media

Name of interviewee - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title/ or description of interview - italicised [Interview]. Name of archive or place stored; Owner. Web address

(Sabbatini, 1993)

Sabbatini (1993) stated that ....

Sabbatini, G. (1993, September 10). Musical performance of Giuseppe Sabbatini [Interview]. Studs Terkel Radio Archive; The Chicago History Museum. https://studsterkel.wfmt.com/programs/musical-performance-giuseppe-sabbatini?t=NaN%2CNaN&a=%2C

Not included in reference list

Do not cite individually, because this could compromise confidentiality.

Quote anonymously, for example, “Participant A said”.

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume – italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s).

(Lowrie & Diezmann, 2009)

Lowrie and Diezmann (2009) have found that ....

Lowrie, T., & Diezmann, C. M. (2009). National numeracy tests: A graphic tells a thousand words. Australian Journal of Education, 53, 141-158.

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume – italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s). DOI address OR Web address (if no DOI available)

(Osman, 2010)

OR

Osman (2010) thought that….

Osman, M. (2010). Controlling uncertainty: A review of human behavior in complex dynamic environments. Psychological Bulletin, 136(1), 65-86. http://doi.org/10.1037/a0017815

The volume number is in italics

Journal article (print)

Electronic article 

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume – italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s). DOI address OR Web address (if no DOI available)

(Kerrigan & Kingdon, 2010)

Kerrigan and Kingdon (2010) mentioned that ....

Kerrigan, A. M., & Kingdon, C. (2010). Maternal obesity and pregnancy: A retrospective study. Midwifery, 26, 138-146. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.midw.2008.12.005

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume – italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s). DOI address OR Web address (if no DOI available)

(Skenderian et al., 2008)

Skenderian et al. (2008) stated that ....

Skenderian, J. J., Siegel, J. T., Crano, W. D., Lac, A., & Alvaro, E. E. (2008). Expectancy change and adolescents' intentions to use marijuana. Psychology of Addictive Behaviors, 22, 563-569. https://doi.org/10.1037/a0013020

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials for first 19 . . . Last Author family name, initial(s). (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume – italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s). DOI address OR Web address (if available)

(Nath et al., 2008)

Nath et al. (2008) have said that ....

Use only the first author’s last name followed by et al., for every use of the reference.

Nath, A. P., Ritchie, S. C., Grinberg, N. F., Tang, H. H., Huang, Q. Q., Teo, S. M., Ahola-Olli, A. V., Wurtz, P., Havulinna, A. S., Santalahti, K., Pitkanen, N., Lehtimaki, T., Kahonen, M., Lyytikainen, L. P., Raitoharju, E., Seppala, I., Sarin, A. P., Ripatti, S., Palotie, A., . . . Inouye, M. (2019). Multivariate genome-wide association analysis of a cytokine network reveals variants with widespread immune, haematological, and cardiometabolic pleiotropy. American Journal of Human Genetics, 105(6), 1076-1090. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ajhg.2019.10.001

List all authors up to 19 names.

For 21 or more authors, include the first 19, then an ellipsis - ... - followed by the last author's name.

Title of article. (Year). Title of journal - italicised, Volume - italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s). DOI OR Web Address (if no DOI available)

("Vitamin K for Newborns", 2016)

Use the first words of the article title.

Use double quotation marks around the article title.

Vitamin K for newborns. (2016). Journal of Midwifery & Women's Health, 61(5), 675-676. http://doi.org/10.1111/jmwh.12550

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised. Advance online publication. DOI address OR Web address (if no DOI available)

(Allan, 2010)

Allan (2010) found that ....

Allan, H. (2010). The perils facing nurse education: A call for leadership for learning. Nurse Education Today. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.nedt.2010.01.002

Journal article

Add Advance online publication to Article Number field

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (in press). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised. DOI address OR Web address (if no DOI available)

(Baldwin & Keefer, in press)

Baldwin and Keefer (in press) stated that ....

Baldwin, M., & Keefer, L. A. (in press). Being here and now: The benefits of belonging in space and time. Journal of Happiness Studies. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10902-019-00214-7

Journal article

Add in press in Year field

Author(s) of article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of article. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. DOI address.

(Shaw et al., 2005)

Shaw et al. (2005) stated that ....

Shaw, K., O'Rourke, P., Del Mar, C., & Kenardy, J. (2005). Psychological interventions for overweight or obesity. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003818.pub2

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume - italicised(Issue number), Article article number. DOI address OR Web address (if no DOI available)

(de Boer et al., 2014)

de Boer et al. (2014) stated that ....

de Boer, M. J., Steinhagen, H. E., Versteegen, G. J., Struys, M. M. R. F., & Sanderman, R. (2014). Mindfulness, acceptance and catastrophizing in chronic pain. PloS One, 9(1), Article e87445. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0087445

Journal article

Add the word Article followed by the article number in the Pages field of the reference eg. Article e87445 

Author(s) of journal article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of journal article. Journal name – italicised, Volume – italicised(Issue or number), Page number(s).

(Duffy, 2012)

Duffy (2012) have found that ....

Dufty, N. (2012). Using social media to build community disaster resilience. The Australian Journal of Emergency Management, 27(1), 40–45.

Author(s) - use & for multiple authors. (Year, Month Day). Title of slides or lecture topic – italicised [PowerPoint slides]. Site name. Web address

(Johnson, 2008)

Johnson (2008) stated that...

Johnson, A. (2008). Week three: Foucault [PowerPoint slides]. Learn.UQ. https://learn.uq.edu.au/

Online multimedia

Add PowerPoint slides to Type of Work field

Add Site name to Distributor field

Name of author(s) or the institution responsible, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of slides – italicised [Type of format]. Site information eg. SlideShare. Web address

(Surden, 2017)

Surden (2017)

Surden, H. (2017). Artificial intelligence and law overview [PowerPoint slides]. SlideShare. https://www.slideshare.net/HarrySurden/harry-surden-artificial-intelligence-and-law-overview

Online multimedia

Add Type of format to Type of Work field

Add Site information to Distributor field

Case name - italicised (Year). Volume Law Report Abbreviation Starting Page Number. Web address

(Montevento Holdings Pty Ltd v Scaffidi, 2012)

As found in Montevento Holdings Pty Ltd v Scaffidi (2012)...

Montevento Holdings Pty Ltd v Scaffidi (2012). 246 CLR 325. https://www-westlaw-com-au/

Webpage

Add Volume, Law Report Abbreviation, Starting Page Number to Publisher field

Case name - italicised [Year] Volume Law Report Abbreviation Starting Page Number. Web address

(Nothdurft & Anor v QGC Pty Limited & Ors, 2017)

As found in Nothdurft & Anor v QGC Pty Limited & Ors (2017)....

Nothdurft & Anor v QGC Pty Limited & Ors [2017] QLC 41. http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/cases/qld/QLC/2017/41.pdf

Web page

Add Volume, Law Report Abbreviation, Starting Page Number to Publisher field

When document finalised, convert to plain text and change Year brackets to square [ ]

Singer or composer - last name, initial(s). (Year). Song Title [Song]. On Album Title - italicised. Record Company. (Original work published Year - if needed). Web address - if needed

(Simon & Garfunkel, 1965)

Simon and Garfunkel (1965) wrote about ....

Simon, P. & Garfunkel, A. (1965). The sounds of silence [Song]. On Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M. Columbia. 

Music

Singer or group name. (Year). Title of album - italicised [Album]. Record Company. (Original work published Year - if needed). Web address - if needed

(U2, 1988)

U2 (1988) sang about ....

U2. (1988). Rattle and hum [Album]. Island; Sun Studio; Point Depot; Danesmoat; STS Studio; A&M Studios; Ocean Way.

Online multimedia

Author(s) of article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Newspaper title – italicised, Page number(s) - if available. Web or DOI address - if available

(Lytton, 2020)

Lytton (2020) argued that ....

Month Day not included in in-text reference

Lytton, C. (2020, January 18). The playground game re-energising gym classes. Brisbane Times. https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/national/the-playground-game-re-energising-gym-classes-20200117-p53sga.html

Title of article. (Year, Month Day). Newspaper title – italicised, Page number(s) - if available. Web or DOI address - if available

("Meeting the needs", 2001)

Month Day not included in in-text reference.

Meeting the needs of counsellors. (2001, May 5). The Courier Mail, 22.

Author(s) of article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year, Month Day - if available). Title of article - italicised. Name of news website. Web address

(McGhee & Burt, 2019)

McGhee and Burt (2019) argued that ....

Month Day not included in in-text reference.

McGhee, R. & Burt, J. (2019, November 22). Bushfire crisis costing Queensland and northern NSW millions. ABC News. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-11-22/queensland-bushfire-crisis-nsw-fires-cost-insurance-damage-bill/11725920

Web page

Add 'Name of news website' to the Publisher field.

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day - if available). Article title. Magazine name - italicised, volume - italicised(Issue - if available), Page(s) - if available. DOI or Web address - if available

(Flora, 2017)

Flora (2017) has found that ....

Month Day not included in in-text reference.

Flora, C. (2017, September 5). The hardest word. Psychology Today, 50(5). https://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/201709/the-hardest-word?collection=1105674

If any elements eg. page numbers are missing, leave them out.

Magazine article

Author - last name, initial(s) (Role eg. Host). (Year - Year). Title - italicised, [Type Podcast]. Publisher. Web address - if available

(Malcolm, 2002-present)

Malcolm (2002-present)

Malcolm, L. (Host). (2002-present). All in the mind [Audio podcast]. Australian Broadcasting Corporation. https://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/allinthemind/

If access via app or no web address, leave out web address

Podcast

Convert to plain text. Add (Host) after author name.

Author - last name, initial(s) (Role eg. Host). (Year, Month Day). Episode Title (No. Episode Number - if available) [Type podcast episode]. In Series Title - italicised. Publisher. Web address - if available

(Malcolm, 2019)

Malcolm (2019)

Malcolm, L. (Host). (2019, September 8). Inside talking therapy [Audio podcast episode] All in the mind. Australian Broadcasting Corporation. https://www.abc.net.au/radionational/programs/allinthemind/inside-talking-therapy/11478090

If access via app or no web address, leave out web address

Podcast

Convert to plain text. Add (Host) after author name.

K. P. Miles (personal communication, August 6, 2018)

Or

(L. J. Henderson, personal communication, February 5, 2017)

Author - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of post. Blog name - italicised. Web address

(Conason, 2018)

Conason (2018) stated that ....

Conason, A. (2018, October 5). Why you should consider group therapy. Eating Mindfully. https://www.psychologytoday.com/au/blog/eating-mindfully/201810/why-you-should-consider-group-therapy

Blog

Author - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of post comment or up to first 20 words [Comment on the article "Article or post title"]. Blog title - italicised. Web address

(Hordofa, 2019)

Hordofa (2019)

Hordofa, A. B. (2019, October 9). I am very interested to read it and congratulates the author for the finding! [Comment on the post "In the eye of the beholder: Why you should care about color blindness when designing scientific images"]. Elsevier Researcher Academy. https://www.elsevier.com/connect/authors-update/in-the-eye-of-the-beholder

Use name of person making comment as author

Include title of comment or up to first 20 words of comment as title

Shortened web address can be used

Blog

Author - last name, initial(s) or group name [Username - if available]. (Year, Month Day). Title of video - italicised [Video]. YouTube - or similar site name. Web address

(O'Brien, 2017)

O'Brien (2017) demonstrated that ....

O’Brien, B. [Brenna O]. (2017, May 5). NVivo 11 training - full video (5/4/17) - updated [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNo-Qxsp-mk

Social media

Add title to Post text field

Add Month Day to Post Date field

Add username to Handle field

Add YouTube to Provider field

Username - exactly as posted. (year, month day). Title of video [Video]. Site name (eg. YouTube). Web Address

(ssiconamed, 2013)

ssiconamed (2013) noted that ....

ssiconamed. (2013, July 5). Tutorial NVivo [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7AtFisYXo9k

Social media

Add title to Post text field

Add Month Day to Post Date field

Add YouTube to Provider field

Title of entry. (Year, Month Date or n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved Month Date, Year - if needed, Web address

("Mindfulness-based cognitive therapy", 2019)

"Mindfulness-based cognitive therapy" (2019)

Archived Version Available

Mindfulness-based cognitive therapy. (2019, July 10). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Mindfulness-based_cognitive_therapy&oldid=905716408

Use archived version (click on "View History" to check). Include listed date in (Year, Month Date) section.

No Archived Version

Mindfulness-based cognitive therapy. (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved November 20, 2019, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Mindfulness-based_cognitive_therapy&oldid=905716408

If no archived version available, use n.d. in (Year) and include Retrieved information (as below)

Archived Version

Electronic book section

No Archived Version

Dictionary

Patent inventor last name, initials. (Year patent issued). Patent title - italicised (Country Patent No.). Name of official source of patent information - usually patent office. Web address - if available

(Graboski, 2016)

Graboski (2016)

Graboski, T. M. (2016). Solar hot water and recovery system (Australian application no. 2016253585). IP Australia. http://pericles.ipaustralia.gov.au/ols/auspat/applicationDetails.do?applicationNo=2016253585

Report

Add Country Patent No. to Report Number

Add official source of patent to Publisher

Name of standards organisation. (Year). Title of standard - italicised (Standard number). Publisher (print) or Web address - if available

(Standards Australia, 2016)

Standards Australia (2016)

Standards Australia. (1989). Electrical equipment for coal mines - Insulating materials - Materials for insulating power conducting components (AS 1147.1-1989). https://www-saiglobal-com/PDFTemp/osu-2019-12-09/0496997084/11471.PDF.

Report

Add standard number into Report Number field

J. T. Lewis (personal communication, May 14, 2018)

(K. Taylor, personal communication, March 17, 2019)

Author - last name, initial(s) or corporate name. (Year, Month Day). Title - in italics [Press release]. Web address

Office of Fair Trading. (2018, August 17). Community groups key to seniors staying engaged [Press release]. https://www.qld.gov.au/law/laws-regulated-industries-and-accountability/queensland-laws-and-regulations/fair-trading-services-programs-and-resources/fair-trading-latest-news/media-statements/community-groups-key-to-seniors-staying-engaged

Press release

Author(s) - last name, initial(s) or company name - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of report - italicised  (Report number - if available). Publisher - include if different to author. Web address - if available

(Queensland Department of Innovation and Tourism Industry Development, 2016)

Queensland Department of Innovation and Tourism Industry Development (2016) found that ....

Queensland Department of Innovation and Tourism Industry Development. (2016). Advancing tourism 2016-20. https://www.publications.qld.gov.au/dataset/advancing-tourism/resource/df997cf7-14fc-47b1-ac99-ddc7f0975967

Author(s) - last name, initial(s) or company name - use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of report - italicised (Report number - if available). Publisher - include if different to author. Web address - if available

(The Coca-Cola Company, 2017)

The Coca-Cola Company (2017) has found that ....

The Coca-Cola Company. (2017). 2016 sustainability report. http://www.coca-colacompany.com/content/dam/journey/us/en/private/fileassets/pdf/2017/2016-sustainability/2016-Sustainability-Report-The-Coca-Cola-Company.pdf

Report

Author of post - last name, initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Content or caption of the post - up to the first 20 words - italicised [Image attached - if needed] [Content form eg. Video, Status update, Infographic]. Social media service eg. Facebook. Web address - short web address can be used

(University of Queensland, 2017)

The University of Queensland (2017) found that ....

University of Queensland Library. (2017, October 4). The winners of the 2017 Queensland Literary Awards will be revealed at tonight’s ceremony. Good luck to all shortlisted writers! [Status update]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/pg/uniofqldlibrary/posts/

Social media

Author of post - last name, initial(s) [Twitter Name]. (Year, Month Day). Content or caption of the post – up to the first 20 words - italicised [image attached - if needed] [Tweet]. Twitter. Web address 

(University of Queensland Library, 2017)

The University of Queensland Library (2017) noted that ....

University of Queensland Library [@UQ_Library]. (2017, October 4). Turtles down by UQ St Lucia lakes today. Air conditioned library or enjoying the sun and the view - tough choice! [Image attached] [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/uqlibrary/status/915782138905034752

Social media

Add Image Attached to Original Post field.

Author(s) - use & to combine authors [Instagram name]. (Year, Month Day). Title or content up to first 20 words - italicised [Photograph(s)]. Instagram. Web address

(The University of Queensland Library, 2019)

The University of Queensland Library (2019) showed that....

The University of Queensland Library [uniofqldlibrary].(2019, October 21). St Lucia is looking extra gramable this morning. Happy Monday everyone! [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/B32v1CUFTQ3/

Social media

Author – last name, initials OR group name. (Year). Title of page - italicised (eg. Home, Photos) [Facebook page]. Facebook. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from Web address

(The University of Queensland Library, n.d.)

The University of Queensland Library (n.d.) mentioned that.....

The University of Queensland Library. (n.d.). Home [Facebook page]. Retrieved November 29, 2019, from https://www.facebook.com/uniofqldlibrary

Social media

Author(s) last name, initial(s) or group author(s). (Year). Title of software - italicised (Version ver. number) [Computer software]. Publisher. Web address

(Psychology Software Tools, 2021)

Psychology Software Tools (2021) found that ....

Psychology Software Tools. (2021). E-Prime (Version 3.0) [Computer software]. Psychology Software Tools. https://pstnet.com/products/e-prime/

Computer program

Author(s) last name, initial(s) or group author(s). (Year). Title of software - italicised (Version ver. number) [Mobile app]. Apple Store OR Google Play. Web address

(Psycnet Software, 2020)

Psycnet Software (2020) found that ....

Psycnet Software. (2020). The psychology blog (Version 2.0) [Mobile app]. Google Play. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.newandromo.dev7998.app965243 

Computer program

Author(s) of section – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year of publication). Title of section. Title of database – italicised Retrieved, Month Date, Year - of retrieval, from Web address

(Zachary, 2018)

Zachary (2018) has argued that ....

Zachary, K. C. (2018). Treatment of seasonal influenza in adults. UpToDate. Retrieved May 3, 2018, from https://www-uptodate-com/contents/treatment-of-seasonal-influenza-in-adults

Electronic article

Add Month Date, Year to Date Access field

Author(s) of article – family name and initials, use & for multiple authors. (Year). Title of article. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. DOI address.

(Shaw et al., 2005)

Shaw et al. (2005) stated that ....

Shaw, K., O'Rourke, P., Del Mar, C., & Kenardy, J. (2005). Psychological interventions for overweight or obesity. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.CD003818.pub2

(Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, 2016)

The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (2016) has found that ....

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2016). Australia's health 2016. https://www.aihw.gov.au/getmedia/9844cefb-7745-4dd8-9ee2-f4d1c3d6a727/19787-AH16.pdf.aspx?inline=true

Report

Include comma at end of author eg. Australian Institute of Health and Welfare,

(Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia, 2018)

The Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (2018) states that ....

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. (2018). Code of conduct for nurses. http://www.nursingmidwiferyboard.gov.au/Codes-Guidelines-Statements/Professional-standards.aspx.

Report

If a group author(s) is used, include comma at end eg. Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia,

Title of entry. (Year - use n.d. if no year available). In Title of work - italicised. Web address

Allergy. (2018). In Australian Medicines Handbook. https://amhonline.amh.net.au/chapters/allergy-anaphylaxis/allergy?menu=vertical. 

Electronic book section

Title of entry. (Year - use n.d. if no year available). In Title of work - italicised. Web address 

Aspirin tablets. (2018). In British Pharmacopoeia Online. https://www.pharmacopoeia.com/monographs/Aspirin-tablets.pdf

Electronic book section

Title of entry. (Year - use n.d. if no year available). In Title of work - italicised. Web address 

Principles of appropriate antimicrobial prescribing. (2015). In Electronic Therapeutic Guidelines Complete. https://tgldcdp.tgl.org.au/viewTopic?topicfile=antimicrobial-use-principles#toc_d1e123

Electronic book section

Title of entry. (Year - use n.d. if no year available). In Title of work - italicised. Web address 

Betamin. (2018). In MIMS Online. https://www.mimsonline.com.au/Search/ShowPDF.aspx?xmlDoc=02183.xml&XSLKey=PIxsl_pdf&PathKey=AbbrevPIxmlPath

Electronic book section

Note. From (use if reprinted) or Adapted from “Title of Article,” by Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name and Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name, Year, Title of Journal, Volume(Issue - if available), p. xx. (DOI or Web address - if available). Copyright statement.

If you are using it in a published work, at the end include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission. 

Killen, A., & Macaskill, A. (2015). Using a gratitude intervention to enhance well-being in older adults. Journal of Happiness Studies, 16(4), 947–964. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10902-014-9542-3

Journal article

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, in Word, insert the in-text citation as usual. Highlight the reference, go to "Edit and Management Citations" and in the "Formatting" menu, click on "Show Only in Bibliography" then on "OK".

Note. From (for reprinted) Adapted from Title of Book (any edition or volume information, p. xxx), by Author - first name initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name initial(s). Author - last name, Year, Publisher. (DOI or Web address - if available). Copyright statement. 

If you are using it in a published work, include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission at the end.

Glaszious, P., Irwig, L., Bain, C., & Colditz, G. (2001). Systematic reviews in health care: A practical guide. Cambridge University Press.

Book

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, in Word, insert the in-text citation as usual. Highlight the reference, go to "Edit and Management Citations" and in the "Formatting" menu, click on "Show Only in Bibliography" then on "OK".

Note. From (or reprint) or Adapted from “Title of Chapter,” by Author first name - initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name - initial(s). Author - last name, in Editor - first name initial(s). Editor - last name (Ed.), Title of Book (any edition or volume information, p. xxx), Year, Publisher. (DOI or Web address - if available). Copyright statement.

If you are using it in a published work, at the end include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission. 

Doust, J. (2010). Evidence about diagnosis. In T. Hoffman, S. Bennett, & C. Del Mar (Eds.), Evidence-based practice: Across the health professions (pp. 128-144). Elsevier Australia.

Book chapter

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, in Word, insert the in-text citation as usual. Highlight the reference, go to "Edit and Management Citations" and in the "Formatting" menu, click on "Show Only in Bibliography" then on "OK".

Note. From (if reprinted) or Adapted from “Title of Web Document,” by Author - first name initial(s). Author - last name and Author - first name initial(s). Author - last name, Year (Web address). Copyright statement. 

hIf you are using it in a published work, at the end include Reprinted [or Adapted] with permission. 

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. (2016). Health is not the same for everyone. https://www.aihw.gov.au/reports/australias-health/australias-health-2016-in-brief/contents/health-is-not-the-same-for-everyone

Web Page

To ensure the in-text reference does not appear, in Word, insert the in-text citation as usual. Highlight the reference, go to "Edit and Management Citations" and in the "Formatting" menu, click on "Show Only in Bibliography" then on "OK".

Executive Producer(s) (Executive Producer(s)). (Years - it aired, use present if still airing). Title - italicised [TV series]. Production Compan(ies); Broadcaster Name.

(Benioff et al., 2009-2011)

Benioff et al. (2009-2011)

Benioff, D., Casady, G., Doelger, F., Gerardis, V., & Weiss, D. B. (Executive Producers). (2011–2019). Game of thrones [TV series]. Television 360; Grok! Studio; Generator Entertainment; Bighead Littlehead; Home Box Office.

Audiovisual material

As last step, convert to plain text. Add (Executive Producers) as needed.

Episode writer's name - last name, initial(s) (Writer), & Director name - last name, initial(s). (Director). (Year, Month Day). Title of television series episode (Season ..., Episode ...) [Television series episode]. In Executive producer - inital(s), last name (Executive producer(s)), Television series name - italicised. Production Companies - use ; to separate multiples.

(Writer's last name & Director's last name, Year)

(Rappaport & Dubin, 1983)

Rappaport and Dubin (1983) found that ....

Rappaport, J. (Writer) & Dubin, C. S. (Director). (1983, January 24). Say no more (Season 11, Episode 12) [Television series episode]. In B. Metcalfe (Executive producer), M*A*S*H. 20th Century Fox Television; CBS.

Television episode

As last step, convert to plain text. Add (Director), (Writer) or (Executive producer) as needed.

Author - last name, initial(s). (Year). Title of thesis – italicised [Doctoral dissertation or Master's thesis, Institution]. Archive name. http://www.xxxxxx

(Axford, 2007)

Axford (2007) found that ....

Axford, J.C. (2007). What constitutes success in Pacific Island community conserved areas? [Doctoral dissertation, University of Queensland]. UQ eSpace. http://espace.library.uq.edu.au/view/UQ:158747

Thesis

Add Archive Name to Name of Database field.

Author - last name, initials. (Year). Title of thesis – italicised (Publication No. - if available) [Doctoral dissertation or master's thesis, Institution]. Database Name. 

(Leigh, 2010)

Leigh (2010) reported that ....

Leigh, J. (2010). Self-determined mindfulness and attachment style in college students (Publication No. 305210119) [Doctoral dissertation, Indiana State University]. ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global.

Thesis

Add Publication Number to Document Number field.

Director(s) - or similar eg. Executive Producer, use & for multiple names (Director - or similar descriptor eg. Producer). (Year). Title of film or movie - italicised [Film; list details of format eg. two disc special edition - if needed]. Production Company. Web address - if available

(Wilder, 1959) 

Wilder (1959)

Wilder, B. (Director). (1959). Some like it hot [Film]. Ashton Productions; The Mirisch Corporation.

Scott, R. (Director). (2006). Blade runner [Film; director's cut on DVD]. Roadshow.

Film or broadcast

As last step, convert to plain text. Add (Director) as needed.

Author - last name, initial(s) or group name [Username - if available]. (Year, Month Day). Title of video - italicised [Video]. YouTube - or similar site name. Web address

(O'Brien, 2017)

O'Brien (2017) demonstrated that ....

O’Brien, B. [Brenna O]. (2017, May 5). NVivo 11 training - full video (5/4/17) - updated [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNo-Qxsp-mk

Social media

Add title to Post text field

Add Month Day to Post Date field

Add username to Handle field

Add YouTube to Provider field

Author(s) - use & to combine authors [Instagram name]. (Year, Month Day). Title or content up to first 20 words - italicised [Video]. Instagram. Web address

(The University of Queensland Library, 2019)

The University of Queensland Library (2019) showed that....

The University of Queensland Library [uniofqldlibrary]. (2019, October 21). Visit the High-Use and Requested Items section on level 1 of Central Library [Video]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/B2BQbfRlabj/

Social media

Add title to Post text field

Add Month Day to Post Date field

Add username to Handle field

Author(s) of page – person or organisation, use & for multiple authors. (Year, Month Day - if available). Title of page - italicised. Website name. Web address

(Shapiro & Cowan, 2017)

Shapiro and Cowan (2017) mentioned that ....

Only include Year

Shapiro, R. E., & Cowan, R. (2017, January 10). Key points about caffeine and migraines. American Migraine Foundation. https://americanmigrainefoundation.org/resource-library/caffeine-and-migraine/

Web Page

Add Month Day to Last Update Date field if needed.

Group author name. (Year, Month Day - if available). Title of page - italicised. Website name - if needed. Web address

(Mayo Clinic, 2017)

Mayo Clinic (2017) stated that ....

Only include Year

Mayo Clinic. (2017, March 8). Nutrition and healthy eating. https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/caffeine/art-20045678?p=1

Web Page

Add Month Day to Last Update Date field if needed.

Group author name. (n.d.). Title of page - italicised. Website name - if needed. Web address

(Australian Psychological Society, n.d.)

Australian Psychological Society. (n.d.). Anxiety disorders. https://www.psychology.org.au/for-the-public/Psychology-Topics/Anxiety

Leave out the name of the website if the author and site name are the same.

Web Page

Author(s) - last name, initials. (Year). Article title in original language [English translation of article title]. Journal name - italicised, volume - italicised(Issue - if available. Not italicised), Page(s). DOI or Web address - if available

(Guimard & Florin, 2007)

Guimard and Florin (2007) argued that ....

Guimard, P., & Florin, A. (2007). Les evaluations des enseignants en grande section de maternelle sont-elles predictives des difficultes de lecture au cours preparatoire? [Are teacher ratings in kindergarten predictive of reading difficulties in first grade?]. Approche Neuropsychologique des Apprentissages chez l'Enfant, 19, 5-17. http://doi.org/10.4000/rfp.4219

Journal article

Add English translation to Translated Title field.

Author - last name, initial(s), & last name, initial(s). (Year). Title - italicised [English translation of title]. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if available

(Mangelsdorf, 2020)

Mangelsdorf (2020) argues that...

Mangelsdorf, J. (2020). Positive psychologie im coaching: Positive coaching für coaches, berater und therapeuten [Positive psychology in coaching: Positive coaching for coaches, consultants and therapists]. Springer. https://doi-org/10.1007/978-3-658-27632-4

Book

Add English translation of title to Translated Title field.

Author(s) - last name, initial(s). (Year). Original Title - italicised  [Title - English translation]. Publisher. DOI or Web address - if needed

(Najm, 1966)

Najm (1966) stated that ....

Najm, Y. (1966). Al-qissah fi al-adab Al-Arabi al-hadith [The novel in modern Arabic literature]. Dar Al-Thaqafah.