Skip to main content

Referencing manuscripts from the Fryer Library

What details to include when referencing manuscripts from the Fryer Library.

Manuscript details to include

If you are including Fryer manuscript material in your publication, we suggest that you include the following information so that other researchers can easily locate it.

Some referencing styles give clear instructions on how to include manuscript details in the bibliography or reference list but others do not. Check your specific referencing style guide. If you are uncertain how to arrange these details to comply with the referencing style you are using, ask your lecturer, supervisor or editors to whom you are submitting your paper or article.

Manuscripts from the Fryer collection

Note: Other manuscript collections will have different numbering systems and details. The Fryer call number begins with UQFL.

  1. The name of the specific item  (this may include author/title or details of correspondents)
  2. The name of the collection
  3. The number of the collection
  4. The box number, item number, or job number
  5. The folder number (if applicable)
  6. The full name of the library: Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library

Examples

Thomas Keneally, ‘Research notes on armistice’, Thomas Keneally Collection, UQFL12, Box 1, Folder 1, Fryer Library, The University of Queensland Library

Brisbane Botanic Gardens, (undated), Fryer Library Postcard Collection, UQFL478, PIC121, Fryer Library, The University of Queensland Library

Karl Langer, Proposed layout, Civic Centre, Town of Kingaroy, August 1960, Karl Langer Collection, UQFL158, Job no 1123a, Fryer Library, University of Queensland Library

Individual manuscript items

Note: Fryer call number begins with F, H, FVF, FGF, FTPF.

  1. The name of the item (author, title)
  2. The number of the item
  3. The full name of the library: Fryer Library, The University of Queensland Library

Example

Thomas Graham, Log book of H.M.S. Warspite, F431, Fryer Library, The University of Queensland Library.