Library Guides: Chicago 17th edition notes and bibliography: Newspaper or magazine articles

Citing newspaper or magazine articles

Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs, and the like are cited similarly. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database.

Regular columns or features may carry headlines as well as column titles. Like the names of sections, these should appear in roman, capitalized but without quotation marks, when they are included in a citation.

Because a newspaper’s issue of any given day may include several editions, and items may be moved or eliminated in various editions, page numbers can be cited in a note but are usually omitted from a bibliography entry.

Newspaper or magazine articles

Elements of citation	Author (if known) -- Title of article in inverted commas -- Title of publication (italicised) -- Month, Day, Year (and time if applicable) -- Section (if applicable) -- URL
Footnote	^19. Megan Cassidy-Welch, "Why lessons from the past can help us understand the refugee debate," The Conversation, 14 July, 2011, 7.14am AEST, Politics + Society, https://theconversation.com/why-lessons-from-the-past-can-help-us-understand-the-refugee-debate-2110. ^20. Rob Pegoraro, “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple,” Washington Post, 5 July, 2007, LexisNexis Academic.
Bibliography	Cassidy-Welch, Megan. "Why lessons from the past can help us understand the refugee debate," The Conversation, 14 July, 2011 7.14am AEST, Politics + Society, https://theconversation.com/why-lessons-from-the-past-can-help-us-understand-the-refugee-debate-2110. Pegoraro, Rob. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, 5 July, 2007. LexisNexis Academic.
Endnote reference type	Newspaper article Add the year, date and time into the Year field If there is a newspaper edition add this to the Title field eg. The Courier Mail, Weekend Edition To display the Section, edit the output style for Chicago 16. To do this go to Edit Output Style, choose Chicago 16, then choose Bibliography and Templates. Add ",\| Section,\|" to the "Newspaper Article" field. To display the URL, edit the output style for Chicago 16. To do this go to Bibliography then Templates and add ", URL\|." to the "Newspaper Article" field.

Elements of citation

Author (if known) -- Title of article in inverted commas -- Title of publication (italicised) -- Month, Day, Year (and time if applicable) -- Section (if applicable) -- URL

Footnote

^19. Megan Cassidy-Welch, "Why lessons from the past can help us understand the refugee debate," The Conversation, 14 July, 2011, 7.14am AEST, Politics + Society, https://theconversation.com/why-lessons-from-the-past-can-help-us-understand-the-refugee-debate-2110.

^20. Rob Pegoraro, “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple,” Washington Post, 5 July, 2007, LexisNexis Academic.

Bibliography

Cassidy-Welch, Megan. "Why lessons from the past can help us understand the refugee debate," The Conversation, 14 July, 2011 7.14am AEST, Politics + Society, https://theconversation.com/why-lessons-from-the-past-can-help-us-understand-the-refugee-debate-2110.

Pegoraro, Rob. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, 5 July, 2007. LexisNexis Academic.

Endnote reference type

Newspaper article

Add the year, date and time into the Year field

If there is a newspaper edition add this to the Title field eg. The Courier Mail, Weekend Edition

To display the Section, edit the output style for Chicago 16. To do this go to Edit Output Style, choose Chicago 16, then choose Bibliography and Templates. Add ",| Section,|" to the "Newspaper Article" field.

To display the URL, edit the output style for Chicago 16. To do this go to Bibliography then Templates and add ", URL|." to the "Newspaper Article" field.