In a footnote, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
The title of the journal is italicised.
A month or a season can be omitted.
| Type | Format |
|---|---|
| Elements of citation |
Author -- Title in inverted commas -- Journal title -- Volume, issue, year (in brackets) -- Page number(s) -- URL (if consulted online) (13.26) |
| Footnote |
9. Kriston Rennie, "The normative character of monastic exemption in the early medieval Latin west," Medieval Worlds 6 (2017): 71, https://doi:10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61. |
| Bibliography |
Rennie, Kriston. "The normative character of monastic exemption in the early medieval Latin west." Medieval Worlds 6 (2017): 61-77. https://doi:10.1553/medievalworlds_no6_2017s61. |
| EndNote reference type |
When citing a journal article in print use "Journal Article" When citing a journal article consulted online or from a database use "Electronic Article" |
| Type | Format |
|---|---|
| Elements of citation |
For two or more authors, list both in a footnote and the bibliography. For three to six authors, list only the first in a note followed by et al. and up to six in the bibliography For works with more than six authors, list the first three in the bibliography followed by et al. (13.78) |
| Footnote |
10. Martin Crotty, and Craig Stockings, "The Minefield of Australian Military History," Australian Journal of Politics and History 60, no. 4 (2014): 581. |
| Bibliography |
Crotty, Martin, and Craig Stockings. "The Minefield of Australian Military History." Australian Journal of Politics and History 60, no. 4 (2014): 580-91. |
| EndNote reference type |
When citing a journal article in print use "Journal Article" When citing a journal article consulted online or from a database use "Electronic Article" Ensure you place authors on separate lines |