IBISWorld
This database provides detailed analyses of Australian industries, covering major players, industry performance and outlook, market characteristics, industry participants and recent news articles. Includes access to the IBISWorld Australia Specialised Industry Reports.
You can search for reports by keyword or company name (eg. Zara) or browse by subject.
Business Source Complete
You can search Business Source Complete to find analyst information, such as SWOT Analyses, Company Reports, Industry Reports and Market Research. The video below will provide some general information on how to start searching for this type of information.
Commercial industry and market reports
Much market research into company brands is conducted by commercial market research firms such as those listed below. Some reports may be freely and publicly available on their websites (but usually such companies charge for these reports); some commentary may be attainable via blogs or other publications. For example:
Market reports or company profiles for publicly listed companies can be researched via the databases suggested on this page. Private companies are more difficult to collect information on. This might be something to consider when choosing your brand.
For further information on searching for company and industry information, consult the library guide on Company and industry information.
Passport
Passport provides data on countries and markets, offering historical statistics and forecasts, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.
Passport has produced a series of helpful videos. You may wish to start with the "Getting Started" tutorial and list of Frequently Asked Questions [FAQs] which will help you use this database more efficiently and effectively.
Statistics and demographic data
For demographic information on possible consumer markets or focus groups, consult the 2021 Australian Census data
Options include choosing Quick Stats or Community Profiles - type in the postcode or the name of the suburb you are looking for. eg. Milton or 4064.
To look at data from previous years, use the drop down box to change the census year.
Other demographic data
- Queensland State Statistical Indicators
- ABS National Regional Profiles
- ABS Browse Statistics
- Queensland Government Statistician's Office. For example, "briefing note comments on the latest release of the monthly turnover of retail businesses" in Queensland are available via the Retail Trade page.
- HILDA Statistical Reports - The Household, Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia Survey is a nationally representative longitudinal study of Australian households managed by the Melbourne Institute
Other interesting websites
- CMO
An online media publication focused on delivering "customer insights and digital and social media marketing trends"
-
Superbrands AustraliaA global organisation that promotes the discipline of branding. Includes case studies for major global brands.
-
Trend WatchingTrendwatching.com is an independent trend firm, scanning the globe for the most promising consumer trends, insights and related hands-on business ideas.