Skip to Main Content

Legal Research Guide

Find databases and websites important for legal research.

Case law databases

Key databases for Australian case law

Lexis+
Lexis+ contains a range of legal material including case law, selected legislation, journal articles, commentary, looseleaf services, and Halsbury's Laws of Australia.
Westlaw Australia
Westlaw Australia contains Australian and New Zealand legal content including cases, legislation, looseleaf services, and journal articles. Westlaw Australia replaces Westlaw AU.
CCH iKnowConnect
Provides full-text access to primary and secondary materials relating to domestic and global securities, banking, trade regulation, government contracts, telecom, information technology, federal energy guidelines, transportation law, and products liability and safety.
Australasian Legal Information Institute : AustLII
This free service contains judgments from all Australian jurisdictions. Citator information can be accessed via Lawcite.
Jade
Access Australian legislation and case law using this free service. Includes JADE Citator Search.

Key databases for International or foreign case law

Westlaw UK
Contains UK and some European case law. Use Law Reports Online to access decisions from the authorised law reports (AC, Ch, Fam, QB).
ICLR online
Contains full collection of authorised law reports (AC, Ch, Fam, QB) for England and Wales from 1865 onwards.
LexisNexis (International)
Contains extensive collection of case law with primary focus on North America. Includes international case law collection.
Westlaw
Includes case law from Australia, UK, Europe, Canada, Hong Kong and the United States. Contains international case law.

HeinOnline contains a full reprint of English Reports, Canadian Supreme Court Reports, Early American case law and the Sessions law library (sessions law from US, Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register).

Find a case by abbreviation or law report title

Use these resources to find law report series and court abbreviations.

How to find a case

Authorised reports

Australian reports

Canadian reports

New Zealand reports

New Zealand Law Reports

UK reports

Australian case law by jurisdiction

International case law by jurisdiction

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2024 8:01 AM
URL: https://guides.library.uq.edu.au/legal-research-guide
Print Page

Subjects: Law

Tags: Advocacy, Family law, intellectual property, IP law, law, Mooting, taxation law