Research guides
Research guides can help you locate research materials in international arbitration law.
Books
The Principles and Practice of International Commercial Arbitration by ISBN: 9781316606285Publication Date: 2017
Looseleaf services
- International commercial arbitration / Gary B BornCommentary and materials on commercial arbitration. Volume 1. International arbitration agreements -- volume 2. International arbitral procedures -- volume 3. International arbitral awards.
- Domke on Commercial ArbitrationDomke on Commercial Arbitration is an guide to commercial arbitration includes statutes, treaties, rules, and procedures with detailed appendixes, plus sample forms and clauses.
International conventions and treaties
Many international agreements and conventions are available in the United Nations Treaty Series Online, including:
- Convention on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Arbitral Awards ('New York Convention')
- European Convention on International Commercial Arbitration ('European Convention')
- Inter-American Convention on International Commercial Arbitration of 1976 ('Panama Convention').
- United Nations Treaty Series Online CollectionContains over 200,000 treaties and international agreements since 1946. Under Article 102 of the Charter, 'every treaty and every international agreement entered into by a Member of the United Nations after the coming into force of the Charter must be registered with the Secretariat and published by it' (United Nations Treaty Collection)
Arbitral rules
Look for arbitral rules on the websites of the various arbitral institutions. International Arbitration Materials on Westlaw also holds arbitral rules. The following print sources also provide access to arbitral rules:
CISG Database
The CISG database offers access to the treaty text and legislative history, cases on CISG, and other scholarly materials.
Awards and cases
Many awards are not publicly available. Below are some sources of arbitral awards and decisions
- International Arbitration Materials (via Westlaw)Includes arbitration rules and awards from ICSID, ICC, NAFTA, Permanent Court of Arbitration, and WIPO.
- Digest of International Investment JurisprudenceFree service by the International Investment Law Centre Cologne at the University of Cologne. Search the entire digest or browse by topic, articles or case
Selected arbitral awards may be published in the following publications:
- ASA BulletinOfficial publication of the Swiss Arbitration Association (ASA). Contains Arbitral awards from ICC, ICSID and the Swiss Chambers of Commerce (“Swiss Rules”), as well as cases from Swiss courts.
- Journal de Droit InternationalAlso held online at 1874 to 1945 on Hein Online.
- World Trade and Arbitration MaterialsIncludes arbitral awards and court decisions, news from arbitration centres relating to world trade.
- Reports of International Arbitral AwardsArbitral and judicial awards rendered between states.
Secondary sources
- Kluwer law onlineContains journals relating to international law and arbitration.
See also: databases listed under the 'Journal articles' tab.