Taxonomic resources
- ZootaxaZootaxa is a peer-reviewed international journal of high quality papers on any aspect of systematic zoology.
- Taxonomy Research & Information Network (TRIN)Addresses critical gaps in taxonomic knowledge of key Australian animal and plant groups.
- ZooBankZooBank is intended as the official registry of Zoological Nomenclature
- Index AnimaliumSherborn's Index Animalium is a compendium of zoological taxonomic species nomenclature from 1758 to 1850.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemAuthoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
- Catalogue of Lifecomprehensive and authoritative global index of species. It contains a species checklist and taxonomic hierarchy for 1.8+ million species
- Species 2000Species 2000 and Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) product, the Catalogue of Life, is the most comprehensive and authoritative global index of species currently available. Latest version: June 2016
- Algae BaseAlgaeBase is a global algal database of taxonomic, nomenclatural and distributional information -166,672 species and infraspecific names, 22,910 images, 64,466 bibliographic items and 504,393 distributional records.
Specialised resources
- LUCID identification keysLucid tools are knowledge management software applications designed to help users with identification or diagnostic tasks.
- Infopest (Growcom)Infopest is a comprehensive database of registered Australian chemicals. Previously produced by the Qld Dept of Employment, Economic Development and Innovation (DEEDI), Infopest is now owned and managed by Growcom. Provides accurate, up-to-date information for the effective control of weeds, pests and diseases in a wide range of crops and livestock.
- International Plant Protection Convention - IPPCThe IPPC develops resources including; International Standards for Phytosanitary Measures (ISPMs) for safeguarding plant resources, procedures and references; pest surveillance, monitoring; import regulations, pest risk analysis; compliance procedures, phytosanitary inspection methodologies; pest management; post entry quarantine; exotic pest emergency response, control and eradication; and export certification.
- Global Biodiversity Information Facility - includes Arthropoda and other projectsSee also the option to search across all projects.
Maps
See Map Guide
All maps, atlases and digital map data held by the University of Queensland Library can be found via UQL search. Maps are available in several formats including:
- Printed sheets or atlases
- Digital data either on electronic databases or via the Internet
- Intergovernmental Committee on Surveying and Mapping (formerly Australian Gazetteer)Contains geographical names in Australia provided by the Intergovernmental Committee on Surveying and Mapping.
Multimedia resources
- Kanopy Streaming - SciencesDocumentaries, vocational and technical titles
- Video and audioFind video and audio, including feature films, documentaries, music and TV shows.
Writing and research texts
How to write a PhD in biological sciencesPublication Date: 2021
Writing effective ecological reportsPublication Date: 2021
Science research writing: For native and non-native speakers of EnglishPublication Date: 2020
Think, do, and communicate environmental sciencePublication Date: 2021
Scientific writing and communicationPublication Date: 2020
Science poster design guidePublication Date: 2021
Scientific publishing and presentationPublication Date: 2023
