The Curriculum collection
The Curriculum Collection contains resources that can be used by UQ School of Education students to prepare for and use during their professional experience, as well as to support their coursework. Resources includes school textbooks, young adult novels, picture books, sets of readers, posters and teacher resource materials.
Use Library Search to find physical items in this collection. Search by keyword, title or author, then refine the results by selecting the Collection filter of 'Curriculum'.
Browse the Curriculum Collection
Browse the Curriculum Collection located in Central Library on Level 4.
Journals to support teaching curriculum
Use Library Search to locate journals and periodicals relating to teaching a curriculum or learning area.
- Journal search - by name (e.g. English in Australia) or keyword (e.g. history teaching)
- Use the advanced search feature and search by Subject for 'English language -- Study and teaching -- Periodicals'
- The Literature BaseJournal for teaching Australian children's and young adult literature
Central Library Journal Z1037.A1 L5
Online portals for learning resources
- QCAA - Australian Curriculum Learning areasCurriculum support, advice and resources for implementing the Australian Curriculum across all learning areas
- ScootleInteractive teaching materials that align with the Australian National Curriculum, available free to all Australian and New Zealand schools. UQ staff and students can create an individual login via the link below.
- Scootle registration for UQ students and staffUQ students and staff can register at this link.
- inclusionEDinclusionED uses evidence and research to inform the teaching practice of educators to meet the diverse needs of a range of learners.
Websites: Learning objects and online teaching resources
- Aussie educator -- Teaching ResourcesThis site provides a large collection of links to useful materials for teachers in specific subject areas. Choose a subject area from this 'Teaching Resources' page, or select 'Curriculum' from the website menu, and then choose a subject area.
- Prac Resources Wiki -- Subject resourcesClick on a subject heading to view links to resources by subject area and school year level. Resources recommended by librarians, teachers and student teachers.
- FUSE -- Victorian Dept of Education and TrainingFree resources for primary and secondary teaching, mapped to subject areas in the Victorian curriculum.
- Illuminations -- Resources for Teaching MathFree interactive materials plus lesson ideas, organized by year level and maths subject area. From the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (USA).
- Queensland Museum -- ResourcesA large, free, searchable collection of online learning materials, including streaming video, fact sheets, activities, games. Physical museum specimens and kits can be borrowed through QM Loans.
- State Library of Queensland - Curriculum Connect Learning resourcesCurriculum-linked learning resources across key learning areas.
- CurrikiFree, shared teaching resources in a range of formats. All materials vetted by teachers and organized by subject and age group. Over 50,000 resources. Not for profit. Free registration required.
- Twinkl - Australian resourcesFree teaching, planning and assessment resources for teachers aligned to the Australian Curriculum.
- Cool AustraliaFree educational resources including units of work, learning activities and support resources for use in the classroom.
- edutopiaThis websites offers resources for educators and showcases how to adopt or adapt best practices and communicate innovation and real world learning.(US site).
- Lucas Education ResearchA nonprofit operating foundation initiative that focuses on the design and evaluation of innovative practices in K-12 schools (US site).
- Australian War Memorial - Classroom resourcesOnline resources and activities incorporating sources and stories of the Memorial's collection for classroom use.
- Bureau of Meteorology: Curriculum materialsResources designed for students and teachers from the Bureau of Meteorology (BOM).
- AustLit for schools"A primary resource for teachers and students of Australian literature, theatre, film, television, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies."
- Geography Teachers Association of Victoria, Inc.Resources for primary and secondary education.
Teacher professional associations - Resources to support teaching curriculum
Websites for teacher professional associations, networks or organisations can be a valuable source of teaching resources, as well as providing professional information and links. The following list is not exhaustive; investigate other professional associations in your specific subject area via a general internet search.
- Primary English Teaching Association Australia (PETAA) - Teaching resourcesAustralian national association for primary English teaching. An active publisher of very useful books and magazines for teachers. Some free material provided online.
- Australian Teachers of Media -- Metro MagazineExcellent study guides for feature films, available free as iBooks, apps, and pdfs. Enter your email in order to download.
- Australian Literacy Educators' Association (ALEA)Provides access to public resources, past conference papers and other materials to support literacy education.
- Science Teachers Association of Queensland (STAQ)Investigate the 'Resources' tab for links to free resources and ideas for teaching in science.
- Top drawer teachersExpert advice, teaching suggestions, classroom activities and other resources for teachers of mathematics, developed by The Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers (AAMT).
- Kodaly AustraliaThe Kodaly method of teaching music is a sequential, cumulative and developmental program, based on an aural-vocal approach. Click on the 'Free resources' tab to access activity sheets, games, reference and classroom resources.