Cross-curriculum priorities
- QCAA "Embedding the cross-curriculum priorities: Advice and resources"Guiding document providing links to resources for embedding the three cross-curriculum priorities.
- AustLit Environments for Cross-Curriculum PrioritiesThese Learning Environments provide rich content and resources for teachers and librarians to help them to identify texts relevant to the three cross-curriculum priorities.
The Learning Environments are also designed to support digital literacy development for students as database users.
Recomended Books
Indigenous education in Australia: Learning and teaching for deadly futures
This is an essential, practical resource for pre- and in-service educators on creating contexts for success for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students. Based on the latest research and practice, this book provides an in-depth understanding of the colonised context within which education in Australia is located, with an emphasis on effective strategies for the classroom. Throughout the text, the authors share their personal and professional experiences providing rich examples for readers to learn from. Taking a strengths-based approach, this book will support new and experienced teachers to drive positive educational outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.
Publication Date: 2021
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education: An introduction for the teaching profession
Addresses key issues and challenges faced by teacher education students and assists them to understand the deeper social, cultural and historical factors shaping Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education. Using the personal accounts of the authors as a starting point, the third edition features applied learning activities, critical thinking questions and real-life examples.
Publication Date: 2019
Learning and Teaching in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Education
Learning and Teaching in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education helps pre-service teachers prepare themselves for teaching Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students in urban, remote and rural primary and secondary schools.
ISBN: 0190329408Publication Date: 2022
Teaching Indigenous Students
Practical and effective strategies for helping indigenous students achieve.
Publication Date: 2015
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander library guides & collections
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and Cultures
- Queensland Department of Education Indigenous portalThis portal provides access to resources and information aimed at improving outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and young people across the spectrum of education.
- State Library of Queensland: Curriculum Connect First Nations resourcesSLQ First Nations resources includes various professional development opportunities, as well as curriculum resources for teachers to use in the classroom across a range of year levels and subject areas.
- AIATSIS Curriculum resourcesCurriculum resources for teachers to use in classrooms. Comprehensive landing page for various AIATSIS resources/collections and links to recommended external resources.
- Healing Foundation: Stolen Generations resource kit for teachers and studentsCurriculum resources (Literature/books) and teacher development courses for embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures in their teaching and classroom.
- NgarrnggaCurriculum resources that incorporate Indigenous knowledge withe the aim of empowering teachers to integrate Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures in their teaching. This project is led by First Nations educators, supported by the University of Melbourne and BHP.
- NarragunnawaliReconciliation Australia's Narragunnawali online platform supports schools and early learning services in Australia to develop environments that foster a high level of knowledge and pride in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories, cultures and contributions. [from website]
- ABC Education: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and CulturesMultimedia/video curriculum resources for teachers to use in the classroom.
- SBS Learn: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Histories and CulturesCurriculum resources, searchable by subject area and year level, for teachers to use in the classroom.
- AustLit: Teaching with BlackwordsCurriculum resources (Literature/books) and teacher development courses for embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures in their teaching and classroom.
Note: UQ students and staff can access the subscription content by logging in through the AustLit database.
Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia
- Asia Education Foundation: Curriculum resourcesLinks to teaching and learning resources across all year levels and subject/learning areas to support teachers to embed 'Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia' understandings and knowledges.
- SBS Learn: Asia and Australia's Engagement with AsiaCurriculum resources, searchable by subject area and year level, for teachers to use in the classroom.
Sustainability
- Sustainability in SchoolsAccess resources to help embed sustainability in the classroom, the school, the community or across networks. The 'Resources Portal' contains classroom-ready resources and the 'Teacher resources' provides links to some of the best education for sustainability websites.
- Queensland Museum NetworkA blog containing links to resources to to support sustainability education.
- Cool Australia: Curriculum materialsThis organisational site collates a range of sustainability, curriculum aligned resources to explore.
- SBS Learn: SustainabilityCurriculum resources, searchable by subject area and year level, for teachers to use in the classroom.
- Queensland Government Sustainable SchoolsThis website provides all Queensland schools with a central hub for sustainability resources.