Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Bibliographic databases
- PubMedCitations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
- EmbaseBiomedical and pharmacological bibliographic records from Embase and MEDLINE.
- Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
- CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
- BioCycA collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them. It includes selected publications, with a focus on E. coli, B. subtilis, H. sapiens, and S. cerevisiae.
Bioinformatics databases
- OBRC: Online Bioinformatics Resources Collectionthe OBRC provides quick access to the major bioinformatics databases, software tools, and related literature on the Web.
- EMBL-EBI - ServicesThe European Bioinformatics Institute is part of EMBL, Europe’s flagship laboratory for the life sciences. EMBL_EBI Services offers the world’s most comprehensive range of freely available and up-to-date molecular databases.
- NCBI - National Centre for Biotechnology InformationThe National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
- GenBank at NCBIGenBank, the NIH genetic sequence database, has an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.