Biotechnology
This discipline combines elements from many areas, such as molecular genetics, microbiology, immunology, physics, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and business.
Explore this guide and related guides for relevant resources for biotechnology.
Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles and other data:
-
PubMedCitations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
-
Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
-
ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
-
CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related scientific information. Search for substances, reactions, retrosynthesis tools to aid in predicting routes to novel compounds using AI, nucleotide and protein sequences, patents and journal articles. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
-
ReaxysA database which assists with locating physical property data for compounds, reaction data or scholarly papers about organic and inorganic chemicals. Also contains links to claims in patent literature and bioactivity data.
-
International pharmaceutical abstractsCovers drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics
-
BioCycA collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for understanding their data. It allows users to visualize the layout of genes within a chromosome, or of an individual biochemical reaction, or of a complete biochemical pathway. BioCyc provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms.
-
TAIR - ArabidopsisThe Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) provides a comprehensive resource for plant geneticists and others working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes. More data and information is available using the subscriber edition from UQ Library. In addition, it includes the Arabidopsis Genome Initiative (AGI) and Arabidopsis lab protocols.
Plan your search
-
Advanced searchingAdvice on how to focus your search.
-
Evaluating information you findCheck your results are suitable for your assignment or research.
Reuse this guide
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence, except where otherwise noted.