Databases
Use these key databases to find journal articles and other data:
-
PubMedCitations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
-
Web of ScienceA collection of citation databases and citation analysis tools covering the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.
-
ScopusA multidisciplinary abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, book reviews and conference proceedings.
-
CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, nucleotide and protein sequences, reactions, spectra and patent and journal references. Note: Before using SciFinder for the first time you must REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
-
BioCycA collection of Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for understanding their data. It allows users to visualize the layout of genes within a chromosome, or of an individual biochemical reaction, or of a complete biochemical pathway. BioCyc provides a reference on the genomes and metabolic pathways of thousands of sequenced organisms.
-
Scriver's OMMBID the online metabolic and molecular bases of inherited diseaseOMMBID is a compendium of genetic disorders and information from the entire field of genetics
-
ReaxysSearch scientific topics, substances, reactions and properties in Reaxys.
- Watch a video on how to plan a search on a topic in Reaxys
Safety
-
Chemgold III ( Chemwatch)University of Queensland preferred database of Material Safety Data Sheets
-
CRC handbook of laboratory safetyThe ideal reference book for OSHA safety standards and government regulations.
Related guides
-
Laboratory protocols and methodsSets of instructions that allow scientists to recreate experiments in their own laboratory.
Digital Essentials
-
Digital EssentialsSelf-paced online tutorials that will guide you through searching for information and completing your assignments.
Complete these modules to build your study and assignment skills:
-
Getting started at the UQ LibraryThis module will introduce you to the resources, services and support available at the Library.
-
Artificial IntelligenceThe module discusses the use of AI at UQ and has practical examples of how to prompt AI tools, evaluate AI-generated content, and properly acknowledge and reference your use of AI in assignments.
-
Write, cite, submitThis module will help you plan your assignments, reference properly to avoid plagiarism and get tips on submitting assignments.
Reuse this guide
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International Licence, except where otherwise noted.