Chicago 17th edition author-date - print version

The Chicago Manual of Style allows for two different types of reference styles. There is the Notes and Bibliography Style, and the Author-Date System (a variation of the Harvard style).  This Guide is for the Author-Date system.

In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and year of publication. Each in-text citation matches up with an entry in a reference list, where full bibliographic information is provided.

An intext reference may look like (Blanshard 2006, 151) while its reference entry may look like:

Blanshard, Alastair. 2006. Hercules: A Heroic Life. London: Granta.

Any subsequent lines in a reference are on a hanging indent.  A hanging indent is an indent that indents all text except the first line.

Most of the recommendations in the notes and bibliographies version of Chicago 17th edition are identical for the author-date system.

Unlike notes and bibliography style, each entry in the reference list must correspond to a work cited in the text.

Punctuation marks and spaces within the citation are very important. Follow the punctuation and spacing as given in the examples.

Be careful where you input information into fields in the reference types in Endnote as the same information may need to be placed in different fields for different styles.  This is particularly relevant to inputting of dates.

It is important to understand the basics of referencing and why it is important. 

A referencing style is a set of rules on how to acknowledge the thoughts, ideas and works of others in a particular way. Different types of sources eg. books, articles, each have a specific format, determined by the referencing style you are using.

Referencing is a crucial part of successful academic writing, avoiding plagiarism and maintaining academic integrity in your assignments and research.

Watch Introduction to referencing (YouTube 3m43s) to learn about the basics of referencing.

Many types of publication examples have been provided in this guide. If you cannot find the example you need, you can:

• consult The Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition.
• view the reference lists of articles in publications that use Chicago style
• consult the Instructions to authors, if writing for a journal
• type the title of the item into Library Search to see if it has a suggested citation
• adapt the rules of a similar publication type to the item
• consult other institutions’ style guides
• consult with your tutor or course coordinator.

Amongst the changes and additions some of the more important include:

In journal citations, when the date of publication includes month and day, the year may be repeated to avoid ambiguity (15.14; 15.49; 15.50 etc).

Citing author-date sources by title when no author is credited (15.39).

Citing blog posts and blogs in author-date format (15.51).

For a full list see What’s New in the 17th Edition

Authors’ names are normally given as they appear with the source itself. In reference lists, this includes the use of initials. When periods are used, space appears between them (Wells, H. G.). When periods are omitted, as in some journals’ styles, no comma intervenes between last name and initials, and no space appears between the initials (Wells HG). If the author, editor, or translator for the work is unknown, the reference list entry should normally begin with the title. Invert the name in the reference list (e.g. Blanshard, Alastair). In the text, include only the last name. For books with multiple authors only invert the first name. For more information see the specific reference type that you wish to cite.

If a publication issued by an organization, association, or corporation carries no personal author’s name on the title page, the organization may be listed as author in the reference list.

In Endnote, when entering the name of a corporate author, that is, an entity such as a government body or a company, you must place a comma at the end of the name. Commas in the names themselves must be duplicated in Endnote. 

Titles and subtitles in reference lists should be treated according to the rules set forth in 14.85–99. Some of these rules include:

Italics are used for the titles of books, journals, newspapers and blogs, movies, video games, and paintings.

Quotation marks are generally reserved for the titles of subsections of larger works including chapter and article titles and the titles of poems in a collection.

For English-language works, titles are capitalized headline-style in source citations. In headline style, the first and last words of title and subtitle and all other major words are capitalized.

A colon is used to separate the main title from the subtitle even if no colon appears in the source itself.

Some journals in the natural sciences prefer sentence-style capitalization for titles (see 8.158), tend not to use quotation marks or italics, and abbreviate journal titles (see 15.46). Please check to ensure that the correct style in being used.

Where a full day/month/year date for access dates for websites, dates for conferences etc is required, Chicago 17th ed recommends using in U.S. format e.g. May 13, 2010. However, check with your School to see if dates should be in Australian order e.g. 13 May, 2010.

When citing a reprint or modern edition, it is sometimes desirable to include the original date of publication. The original date is listed first, in parentheses.

When the publication date of a printed work cannot be ascertained, the abbreviation n.d. takes the place of the year in the reference list entry and text citations.

Chicago requires an access date in citations of websites and other sources consulted online only if no date of publication or revision can be determined from the source. 

Be careful where you input information into fields in the reference types in Endnote as the same information may need to be placed in different fields for different styles. This is particularly relevant to inputting of dates.

When the same page (or page range) in the same source is cited more than once in one paragraph, the parenthetical citation can be placed after the last reference or at the end of the paragraph (but preceding the final period). When referring to different pages in the same source, however, include a full parenthetical citation at the first reference; subsequent citations need only include page numbers.

When Jasper compliments his mother’s choice of car “his cheeks blotch indignantly, painted by jealousy and rage” (Chaston 2000, 47). On the other hand, his mother’s mask never changes, her “even-tanned good looks” (56), “burnished visage” (101), and “air-brushed confidence” (211) providing the foil to the drama in her midst.

To refer to two or more sources in the same text citation, separate the sources with semicolons.

(Butcher and Elson 2017; Blanshard 2006)

The order in which they are given may depend on what is being cited, and in what order, or it may reflect the relative importance of the items cited. If neither criterion applies, alphabetical or chronological order may be appropriate.

Additional works by the same author(s) are cited by date only, separated by commas except where page numbers are required.

(Butcher and Elson 2017, 21; 2019, 475).

Additional references prefaced by “see also”.

A reference to a book must include enough information to lead interested readers to the source.

The title of the book is italicised. 

List the name of the author(s) or editor(s) or, if none are listed, name of institution standing in their place. An author’s name and the title of a book should generally be cited according to how it appears on the title page.

In a note, the author’s name is given in the normal order. In a bibliography, where names are arranged alphabetically, it is usually inverted (last name first).

In the reference list, include the page range for the chapter or part. In the text, cite specific pages.

Confirm with your course coordinator or check your course profile before using Artificial Intelligence (AI) in your assessment. Some assessment pieces do not permit the use of AI tools, while others may allow AI with some limitations.

Any permitted use of AI for assessment must be acknowledged appropriately. Your course coordinator will provide guidance on how to reference the use of AI tools. Some possible examples include:  

• citing or referencing in the text or list of references
• inclusion in your methodology
• an appendix including a full transcript of any prompts and AI-generated responses.

AI models sometimes produce incorrect, biased or outdated information. Verify the accuracy of AI-generated content using reliable sources before including it in your work.

Additionally, there may be legal or ethical issues to consider when using AI. Works created by non-humans are not eligible for copyright protection under Australian law. If you intend to publish work incorporating AI-generated content, check the publisher guidelines about what is allowed.

When interacting with AI models, you should be cautious about supplying sensitive information, including personal, confidential or propriety information or data.

Find out more about using AI tools in your studies.

Where an assignment requires ChatGPT to be cited, you must reference all the content from Generative AI tools that you include. Failure to reference externally sourced, non-original work can result in Academic misconduct.

References should provide clear and accurate information for each source and should identify where they have been used in your work.

Content from generative AI is a nonrecoverable source as it can't be retrieved or linked.

Citing generative AI content for specific referencing styles

1. Check the referencing style used in your course for specific guidelines for how to cite generative AI content.
2. If there are no specific guidelines, we recommend that you base it on the reference style for personal communication or correspondence.

The following sections have examples of how to cite generative AI for different styles.

Based on APA Style guidance.

In-text

Author of generative AI model, Year of version used

Example:

(OpenAI, 2022)

OpenAI (2022)

Reference list

Author of AI model used. (Year of AI model used). Name of AI model used (Version of AI model used) [Type or description of AI model used]. Web address of AI model used

Example:

OpenAI. (2022). ChatGPT (Dec 20 version) [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com/

The full transcript of a response can be included in an appendix or other supplementary materials.

Visit How to cite ChatGPT for more information.

Interim advice and guidance

Essentially use rule 7.12 that covers written correspondence. This is included in the bibliography (rule 1.13). Include the name of the creator and recipient first.

OpenAI, ChatGPT to Fred Jones, Output, 24 February 2023.

Note:

^Number Output from [program], [creator] to [recipient], [full date].

¹Output from ChatGPT, OpenAI to Fred Jones, 24 February 2023. 

Text explaining the prompt that was used can be included in the footnote. The full detail can also be included in an appendix.

¹ Output from ChatGPT, OpenAI to Fred Jones, 24 February 2023. The output was generated in response to the prompt, ‘What is the history of the Law School at The University of Queensland’: see below Appendix C.

In-text citation or note

^Number.Originator of the communication, medium, Day Month, Year.

¹ OpenAI's ChatGPT AI language model, response to question from author, 7 February, 2023.

Guidance based on How do I cite generative AI in MLA style? from the official style website.

In-text citation

(Short form Title of source) 

(“Describe the symbolism”) 

Work cited

“Title of source” prompt. Name of AI Tool, version, Company, Date content was generated, General web address of tool. 

“Describe the symbolism of the green light in the book The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald” prompt. ChatGPT, 13 Feb. version, OpenAI, 8 Mar. 2023, chat.openai.com/chat. 

The text of your document must include:

• Type of communication
• Communicator
• Date in this format (Day Month Year)

In an online chat with OpenAI's ChatGPT AI language model (7 February 2023) ...

If you use ChatGPT or other generative AI to help you generate ideas or plan your process, you should still acknowledge how you used the tool, even if you don’t include any AI generated content in the assignment.

Provide a description of the AI tool used, what you did and the date accessed.

Save a copy of the transcript of your questions and responses from the generative AI tool. You can:

• Take a screenshot
• Right click and select Save as to save the webpage file.

Different publishers are taking different approaches to whether generative AI is allowed.

If you are writing for publication, you should check the publisher's information for authors.

In an in-text reference, cite specific page numbers. In the reference list, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. A DOI is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.

The title of the journal is italicised. 

When only a volume and issue number is available, the issue number is placed in parentheses. When only an issue number is used, it is set off by commas and not enclosed in parentheses. 

It is often sufficient simply to describe web pages and other website content in the text (“As of May 1, 2017, Yale’s home page listed . . .”). If a more formal citation is needed, it may be styled like the examples below. For a source that does not list a date of publication or revision, use n.d. (for “no date”) in place of the year and include an access date.

An access date is required in citations of websites and other sources consulted online only if no date of publication or revision can be determined from the source.

It is often sufficient to cite blog posts, like newspaper and magazine articles, entirely within the text. If a more formal citation is needed, a reference list entry may be appropriate. Comments on a blog post are not included in reference lists; instead, they should be cited in the text. For example, A comment on Boaretto (2017) from FoodieBC (on December 21, 2017) insisted that . . .

Citations to social media can usually be limited to the text. If a more formal citation is needed, a reference list entry may be appropriate. In place of a title, quote up to the first 160 characters of the post. Comments are cited in reference to the original post.

Private content, including direct messages, is considered a form of personal communication and should be cited as such.

In the reference list, include the real name and a screen name, if both are available. In the text, cite the name under which the entry is listed

Well-known reference books, such as major dictionaries and encyclopedias, are normally cited within the text. Most other reference works, however, are more appropriately listed with full publication details like any other book resource.

To cite substantial, authored entries in a reference work cite the contributions much like a multi-authored book.

For continually updated online resources, an edition number will usually be unnecessary. Instead, include a posted publication or revision date for the cited entry; if none is available, supply an access date. Time stamps may be included for frequently updated resources.

When citing a print dictionary or encyclopaedia, not only the edition number (if not the first) but also the date the volume or set was issued must be specified. 

Titles of theses and dissertations appear in quotation marks otherwise they are cited like books.

The kind of thesis, the academic institution, and the date follow the title. 

If the document was consulted online, include a URL or, for documents retrieved from a commercial database, the name of the database and, in parentheses, any identification number supplied or recommended by the database.

Personal communications, including email and text messages and direct messages sent through social media, are usually cited in the text only; they are rarely included in a reference list.

In a parenthetical citation, the terms personal communication (or pers. comm.), unpublished data, and the like may be used after the name(s) of the person(s) concerned, following a comma. If the medium is important and not mentioned in the text, it may be incorporated into the parenthetical reference.

Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs, and the like are cited similarly. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database.

In the reference list, it can be helpful to repeat the year with sources that are cited also by month and day. Page numbers, if any, can be cited in the text but are omitted from a reference list entry. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database.

Regular columns or features may carry headlines as well as column titles. Like the names of sections, these should appear in roman, capitalized but without quotation marks, when they are included in a citation.

Because a newspaper’s issue of any given day may include several editions, and items may be moved or eliminated in various editions, page numbers can be cited in a note but are usually omitted from a bibliography entry.

As there are no directions given in Chicago author-date for conference papers, these instructions have been adapted from the notes-bibliography style.

A paper included in the published proceedings of a meeting may be treated like a book chapter. If published in a journal, it is treated as an article.

Details of the sponsorship, location, and date of the meeting at which a speech was given or a paper, slides, or poster presented follow the title. This information is put in parentheses in a note but not in a bibliography. If the information is available online, include a URL.

Works with only a handful of citations to legal and public documents may be able to limit these to the text.  Note that in legal style, parentheses within parentheses are used. To avoid such awkward constructions in the text, however, Chicago advises using notes for citations to legal and public documents whenever possible (see 14.271).

For legal materials, Chicago recommends using the The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (see 14.269). Chicago further states: for citation guides used in Canada, see 14.293; for those used in the United Kingdom, see 14.297. Following the broad principle of using citation styles used within a specific jurisdiction, we recommend using the Australian Guide to Legal Citation 4th edition when citing legal materials.