Browsing books in the Library
Find books on second-language acquisition in the Central Library at call number P118.2.
Books on the acquisition of specific languages will be shelved with other books on those languages. For example, books on the acquisition of English as a second language will be found at PE1128.
Introductory resources
Routledge encyclopedia of second language acquisition by Publication Date: 2013A user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications.
Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning volume 1 by Publication Date: 2005Intended for researchers, practitioners, graduate students, faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs, and all other professionals in the field of second language teaching and learning.
Handbook of research in second language teaching and learning volume 2 by Publication Date: 2011Intended for researchers, practitioners, graduate students, faculty in teacher education and applied linguistics programs, and all other professionals in the field of second language teaching and learning.
Theories in Second Language Acquisition (3rd ed) by Publication Date: 2020This volume is an ideal introductory text for undergraduate and graduate students in SLA and language teaching.
Introducing Second Language Acquisition by Publication Date: 2017Provides comprehensive coverage of fundamental concepts, including second language acquisition (SLA) in adults and children, in formal and informal learning contexts, and in diverse socio-cultural settings, and takes an interdisciplinary approach, encouraging students to consider SLA from linguistic, psychological and social perspectives.
Specialised databases
- Linguistics and language behavior abstractsThis database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- ERICERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.
- DELTAAThis small database lists publications on the teaching and learning of English as a second language in Australasia.