Dictionaries
The Macquarie dictionary and thesaurus onlineAustralia's national dictionary.
Pintupi-Luritja dictionaryPublication Date: 2022Pintupi-Luritja dictionary. Print Fourth Edition, two volume set.
- Australian National Dictionary (online)This free online dictionary brings the wealth of information contained in The Australian National Dictionary within easy reach.It is the first comprehensive, historically based record of the 10,000 words and idioms that make up the Australian contribution to the English language. It records the historical development of Australian words and phrases from their earliest use to the present day.
- Oxford Dictionaries : Language Matters OnlineThe website features fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and study materials for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
- Oxford English dictionary onlineThe OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.
The UQ Library holds dictionaries of many languages. Search UQ Library to find dictionaries of specific languages. Use search terms such as swahili language dictionaries.
Introductory resources
Encyclopedia of language and linguistics by Publication Date: 2006An encyclopedia of all matters related to language and linguistics, It has been described as "the definitive and indispensable scholarly reference publication, on all branches of linguistics for any library where linguistics is taken seriously.
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics by Publication Date: 2010Providing a comprehensive survey of the field, the many connections among its various sub-disciplines, and the likely directions of its future development, the Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics provides a panoramic and comprehensive look at this complex and vigorous field.
The Routledge Companion to Sociolinguistics by Publication Date: 2006This companion is for anyone who is interested in how and why people speak and write with such diversity. It also includes articles by leading scholars in the field on: methods of observation and analysis; social correlates; socio-psychological factors; socio-political factors; and, language change.
The Pragmatics Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2010Covers concepts and theories that have traditionally been associated with pragmatics, but also recent areas of development within the field, scholars who have had a significant influence on pragmatics, interdisciplinary exchanges between pragmatics and other areas of enquiry and all major research trends.
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by Publication Date: 2008Includes many terms, grouped into entries in the areas of phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics. It contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols, along with an updated International Phonetic Alphabet.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by ISBN: 0199675120Publication Date: 2014The third edition of The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, andsociolinguistics.
Corpora
A list of corpora for many different languages is available from the Text analysis and text mining - Language coprora guide.
- International Dialects of English ArchiveOnline archive of recordings of English dialects and accents.
- Speech Accent ArchiveOnline archive of recordings of native and non-native speakers of English from around the world.