Language and linguistics

The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art account of the complex field of translation studies.

Provides a comprehensive survey of key terms and concepts (such as Abusive Translation, Minimax Principle, Texteme and Thick Translation), types of activity (Autotranslation, Dubbing, Signed Language), and school approaches (Leipzig School, Manipulation School, Nitra School).

An accessible and comprehensive introduction to the study of translation. Combining traditional text-based views with the context of translation in its widest sense, it presents an integrated approach to methodology in order to critically address influences such as power and gender, as well as cultural, ethical, political and ideological issues.

Offers a practical guide based on extensive research in areas as varied as lexis, grammar, pragmatics, semiotics and ethics. Provides a solid basis for training a new generation of well-informed, critical students of translation.

Literary Translation introduces students to the components of the discipline and models the practice. Three concise chapters help to familiarize students with: what motivates the act of translation how to read and critique literary translations how to read for translation. A range of sustained case studies, both from existing sources and the author¿s own research, are provided along with a selection of relevant tasks and activities and a detailed glossary.

Scientific and Technical Translation focuses on texts that are typically translated in scientific and technical domains, such as technical instructions, data sheets and brochures, patents, scientific research articles and abstracts, popular science press releases and news reports.

Introducing Translation Studies provides information on the translation theory or theories, illustrative texts with translations, case studies, a chapter summary, and discussion points and exercises on a range of translation topics.

This Handbook offers a comprehensive and engaging overview of contemporary issues in Literary Translation research through in-depth investigations of actual case studies of particular works, authors or translators.

The Routledge Handbook of Interpreting provides a comprehensive survey of the field of interpreting for a global readership.

The authoritative reference for anyone with an academic or professional interest in interpreting. All key issues and concepts in interpreting studies are brought together and covered systematically and in a structured and accessible format.

Drawing on recent peer-reviewed research in interpreting studies and related disciplines, Dialogue Interpreting helps practising interpreters, students and instructors of interpreting to navigate their way through what is fast becoming the very expansive field of dialogue interpreting in more traditional domains, such as legal and medical, and in areas where new needs of language brokerage are only beginning to be identified, such as asylum, education, social care and faith.

An Introduction to Court Interpreting has been carefully designed to be comprehensive, accessible and globally applicable. Starting with the history of the profession and covering the key topics from the role of the interpreter in the judiciary setting to ethical principles and techniques of interpreting, this text has been thoroughly revised.

The conference interpreting skillset – full consecutive and simultaneous interpreting – has long been in demand. This comprehensive coursebook sets out an updated step-by-step programme of training.

An innovative and comprehensive guide that can be applied to a wide range of dialogue settings this educational tool for trainers in all fields of dialogue interpreting addresses not only the two key areas of Community- and Public Service Interpreting, the legal and health sectors, but also business interpreting.