Finding journal articles
- Library SearchUse Library Search to search for scholarly, peer reviewed journal articles available in the University of Queensland Library collection. Not all full-text resources will be available to graduates, alumni or community to access. Please check the license conditions for any electronic resource to discover if you can access a resource online.
- Resources for UQ alumniDatabases and other resources accessible by UQ alumni
- Open Access DatabasesA list of databases with open access content, including manuscript databases, photographic collections and biographical tools
Searching subject specific databases is often useful for a more targeted search. Not every resource available in Library Search is available to students who have graduated or discontinued their studies, or may not be currently registered students.
Go to the subject page in the side menu to see recommended resources.
Free online databases
- Google Advanced Search(depending on what country you are in, or the operating system you prefer to use), and alternate browsers such as Firefox, Bing, Safari etc are good places to start - choose advanced search within a browser and limit to document type .pdf in order to look for more scholarly articles or reports
- Google ScholarDatabase of scholarly papers which Google has collected or scraped from publisher web sites, university repositories and other sites around the world. They are rich collections of academic and grey literature, across a wide range of disciplines. Not every citation leads to a full text paper however
- Bielefeld Academic Search EngineAn academic search engine developed in Germany. It accesses over 7000 sources and it provides full text access to approximately 60% of the material indexed within it
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access JournalsA directory of journals in a wide range of disciplines, which are available in full text. Not every issue of each journal has been indexed and made available in full text
- Semantic ScholarA web engine set up in 2015 to use AI to quickly scan research and extract automatically abstracts, tables, figures, and citations.
- PubMed - The National Library of Medicine's free database of medical and health related publications. Not every citation leads to a full text paper
Finding books
- Finding books in other library collections, other than UQBrowse library collections from around the world
- InTech OpenRead, share and download more than 5,000 peer-reviewed Open Access books
- Open Educational ResourcesOpen access textbook collections
Alert services
Many databases permit you to set up alert services where a topic or keyword which you save will be regularly searched. If any new articles match your topic, you will be emailed with these citations.
- JournalTOCSThe largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). Over 36,000 journals including over 17,000 selected Open Access journals and over 12,000 Hybrid journals are available from almost 4000 publishers. You can get an alert when a new issue is published.
- Google ScholarOpen the menu at the top left of the Google Scholar screen to go to Alerts and create an account. Once you have an account you can set up Saved Search Alerts to type in your keywords or topic and indicate how frequently you want to be advised of new papers. Look for the Create Alert button on the search results screen.
Academic writing
- Academic phrasebankUniversity of Manchester's guide to academic writing.