Finding higher education books
Use Library Search to find books in the Library's collection, both in hard copy and online.
- Build key terms such as "higher education" or "scholarship of teaching and learning" (as phrases) into your search alongside other relevant keywords.
- Alternatively, run your search, then refine your results by subject terms such as 'higher education' or 'teaching and learning'.
Access physical books by visiting the appropriate Library location and using the call number to find an item on the shelves.
Access eBooks by logging in with your UQ username and password. For further guidance see Using eBooks.
Finding higher education reference books
Consult reference material to get a broad overview of your topic and to identify key concepts, theories and researchers in the field. Such material may include subject or discipline specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, introductions or guides.
Find reference material in Library Search by combining a topic keyword with one of the material type descriptors, for example: 'higher education handbook'. These are a few examples.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher EducationPublication Date: 2020
The Oxford handbook of higher education systems and university managementPublication Date: 2019
Oxford research encyclopedias. EducationPublication Date: 2018 onwards
Encyclopedia of international higher education systems and institutionsPublication Date: 2019
Featured eBooks
Writing about Learning and Teaching in Higher Education
Writing about Learning and Teaching in Higher Education offers detailed guidance to scholars at all stages-experienced and new academics, graduate students, and undergraduates-regarding how to write about learning and teaching in higher education. It evokes established practices, recommends new ones, and challenges readers to expand notions of scholarship by describing reasons for publishing across a range of genres, from the traditional empirical research article to modes such as stories and social media that are newly recognized in scholarly arenas. The book provides practical guidance for scholars in writing each genre-and in getting them published. To illustrate how choices about writing play out in practice, we share throughout the book our own experiences as well as reflections from a range of scholars, including both highly experienced, widely published experts and newcomers to writing about learning and teaching in higher education. The diversity of voices we include is intended to complement the variety of genres we discuss, enacting as well as arguing for an embrace of multiplicity in writing about learning and teaching in higher education.
Publication Date: 2020
Action Research in Teaching and Learning
Practical and down-to-earth, the second edition of Action Research in Teaching and Learning is an ideal introduction to the subject, offering a distinctive blend of the theoretical and the practical, grounded firmly in the global higher education landscape. Written in an accessible style to build confidence, it provides easily adaptable, practical frameworks, guidelines and advice on research practice within a higher education context. The reader is guided through each stage of the action research process, from engaging with the critical theory, to the practical applications with the ultimate goal of providing a research study which is publishable. Supplemented by useful pedagogical research tools and exemplars of both qualitative and quantitative action research studies, this new edition features chapters engaging with teaching excellence and analysing qualitative and quantitative research, additions to the resources section and a new preface focusing more explicitly on the ever-growing number of part-time academics. Action Research in Teaching and Learning combines a theoretical understanding of the scholarly literature with practical applications and is an essential, critical read for any individual teaching or undertaking action research.
Publication Date: 2019
The Routledge International Handbook of Student-Centered Learning and Teaching in Higher Education
The movement away from teacher-centered toward student-centered learning and teaching (SCLT) in higher education has intensified in recent decades. Yet in spite of its widespread use in literature and policy documents, SCLT remains somewhat poorly defined, under-researched and often misinterpreted. Against this backdrop, The Routledge International Handbook of Student-Centered Learning and Teaching in Higher Education offers an original, comprehensive and up-to-date overview of the fundamentals of SCLT and its discussion and applications in policy and practice.
Publication Date: 2021
Building Knowledge in Higher Education
From pressures to become economically efficient to calls to act as an agent of progressive social change, higher education is facing a series of challenges. There is an urgent need for a rigorous and sophisticated research base to support the informed development of practices. Yet studies of educational practices in higher education remain theoretically underdeveloped and segmented by discipline and country. Building Knowledge in Higher Education illustrates how Legitimation Code Theory is bringing research together from across the disciplinary map and enabling practical change in a rigorously theorized way. The volume addresses both students and educators. Part I explores ways of supporting student achievement from STEM to the arts, from introductory courses to doctoral training, and from using new digital media to reflective writing. Part II focuses on academic staff development in higher education, reaching from curriculum design to pedagogic practices. All chapters focus on issues of contemporary relevance to higher education, showing how Legitimation Code Theory enables these issues to be understood and practices improved.
Publication Date: 2021
Tips on using eBooks
The Library provides access to a range of eBooks.