Library Guides: Geography: Get started

Key databases

ScienceDirect
A database offering full text access to articles in a wide variety of science disciplines.
Scopus
A database indexing journal articles, book chapters and conference papers across a number of disciplines with links to full text access.
Web of Science
A peer reviewed database of articles across the sciences, arts and humanities and social sciences with links to full text papers.

GeoRef (via EI)
The database covers geology, geomorphology and the geosciences in particular the geology of North America since 1693 and the rest of the world since 1933. From Nov 2003, it includes indexed material from Geoscience Australia. Includes journals, books, dissertations, maps, reports, and most U.S. Geological Survey publications
How to search GeoRef for geosciences articles - video (4:40min)
more...less...
Images Copyright © GeoRef hosted on the Engineering Village Platform from Elsevier

Tourism Research Australia Online
Data includes results from the International and National Visitor Surveys.

TRID
TRID provides access to more than 1.3 million records of transportation research worldwide for human geography studies.
Wiley digital archives
Search the historical papers of the Royal Geographical Society (IBG) which can provide access to primary source documents including maps relating to studies of specific regions and cultures.
More geography databases
More environmental science databases
More databases - economic and business research

Quick reference

Key reference books for definitions and background information to help you get started with your assignments and research projects.

Advanced students and researchers may wish to use the SAGE research methods online resource to find books and reference material, cases, podcasts and videos from other researchers, discussing the methodology they use to work on research projects from start to publication.