Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Library help
For general queries about maps-
Contact the librarian team for help and advice.
Where do I find maps?
All maps, atlases and digital map data held by the University of Queensland Library are listed in Library Search. Maps are available in several formats including:
- Printed sheets or atlases
- Digital data either on electronic databases or via the Internet
Map types
- Cadastral - boundary and survey maps
- Topographic - terrain and physical landscape
- Geological - topographic maps with geological features including mineral resources, soil, bedrock, strata
- Census - population and housing
- Administrative including Electoral and Local Government
- Historical - any of the above
- Bathymetric - map of underwater terrain
Find maps online and/or in the:
- Central Library
- Architecture and Music Library
- Fryer Library
- Gatton Library
- Library Warehouse (off-site storage of maps)
Online resources
UQ Library and free resources are available online:
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThe David Rumsey Map Collection was started over 30 years ago and contains more than 150,000 maps. The collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania.
- Geoscience AustraliaIncludes online tools, maps of Australia, interactive maps and interactive 3D models
- MinesOnlineMaps"MinesOnlineMaps makes it easy to identify resource opportunities across the state by letting you view, query, analyse, extract and print spatial information about the mining and resources industry. Access is free and no registration is required."
- NASA Earth ObservatoryNASA Earth Observatory provides free online images and global maps.
- National MapNationalMap is a website for map-based access to spatial data from Australian government agencies. It is an initiative of the Department of Communications and the Arts now currently managed by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and the software has been developed by Data61 working closely with the Department of Communications and the Arts, Geoscience Australia and other government agencies.
- NearmapHigh quality 2D photo maps of Australian cities and towns updated 6 times a year. Useful for planning, architecture and construction, environmental studies and insurance studies. Changes over time can be seen using TimeView on the map page and locations can be seen from the side using the MultiView button on the map page when zooming in to building level detail.
- Old Maps OnlineAccess to over 400,000 historical maps from around the world. Collection is searchable by location.
- Qld dept of Environment and Science - Environmental maps and data onlineLinks to environmental maps.
Map of Australia
Image courtesy of the University of Texas Libraries, The University of Texas at Austin.
Click the image to view a larger version in a new window.
Fires in Australia
Source: Fires in Northern Australia: NASA Earth Observatory. NASA images by Jeff Schmaltz. 2017