Reusing content from this guide
Attribute our work under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
Key databases
- GeoRef (via EI)GeoRef covers geology and the geosciences and indexes over 3000 journal titles as well as books, maps, reports, most US Geological Survey publications, theses and dissertations. Includes information from Geoscience Australia. Accessed via the EI Engineering Village platform. Click to proceed to full text access where available.
- ScopusIndexes journals, book chapters and conference papers in a wide variety of disciplines. Click to proceed to full text where available.
- Web of ScienceIndexes peer reviewed articles from leading science, arts and humanities and social science journals. Proceed to full text access where available.
- AESISAESIS indexes published and unpublished Australian geoscience, minerals and petroleum literature. Covers 1975-2001.
- CAS SciFinder-nIndexes chemistry and related geochemistry journals providing links to full text where available. First time users must register to use it in order to create a personal user name and password.
More databases for Earth Sciences
- Wiley Digital ArchivesSearch for primary source documents from the Royal Geographical Society (with IBG) which include historical maps and pamphlets relating to geology across the Commonwealth.
Reference Books
Key reference books for definitions and background information to help you get started with your assignments and research projects.
Encyclopedia of Geology by Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of Paleontology by Publication Date: 1999
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by Publication Date: 2013
