Chemical databases and physical properties
- ReaxysAccess to millions of chemical structures, properties, reactions and journal references. Data is taken from the Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent chemistry databases.
- CAS SciFinder-nWorld's largest collection of chemistry and related science information. Search for substances, reactions, and patent and journal references.
PLEASE NOTE: Before using SciFinder for the first time you MUST REGISTER in order to create a personal user name and password using the instructions in the link.
- SpringerMaterialsComprehensive research platform with information on materials, their properties and uses.
Bioengineering and biomaterials databases
- PubMedCitations and abstracts for biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.
- IEEE Xplore digital libraryProvides full-text access to IEEE and IEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and current IEEE Standards.
Statistics and energy databases
- OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data.
- Australian Bureau of StatisticsAustralia's national statistics body. Contains statistics on Australian people, economy, industry, environment and regional areas.
- EU energy in figures statistical pocketbook 2020European Union statistics on energy.
- Global trends in renewable energy investment 2020Trends in renewable energies.
- International Renewable Energy Agency - StatisticsStatistical tables.
- Energy citations databaseThe Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates.
Engineering databases
- ENGINEProvides access to Australian engineering information, and in particular to publications of the Institution of Engineers, Australia. Covers all branches of engineering, including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, electrical, electronic, mechanical, military, structural, transport and water. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia.
Petroleum engineering and metallurgy databases
- One PetroOnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry.
- Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) digital librarySociety of Exploration Geophysicists journal and e-book collection. These include publications of SEG, the Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society and the Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists. Full text of resources is available.
- GeoRefGeoRef covers the world's literature in geology and geosciences and is produced by the American Geological Institute. GeoRef indexes over 3000 journal titles as well as books, maps, reports, most US Geological Survey publications, theses and dissertations. Includes information from Geoscience Australia. Accessed via the EI Engineering Village platform.
- One MineA collaborative effort among multiple societies to place the world's most comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research in one place. This online collection includes technical documents, conference papers, articles, pre-prints and late papers. The database consists of more than 90,000 documents, including over 12,000 documents from AusIMM.
- Data MetallogenicaA mineral deposit database.
- American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) datapagesSelected access to publications.
Case Studies
- Engineering Case Studies OnlineThis collection provides a range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. Includes documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
Planning your search
- Searching in databasesAdvice on how to focus your search.
- Evaluating information you findLearn how to critically evaluate information resources.
Not held by UQ?
Request document delivery Use document delivery to request items we don't hold in the UQ Library collection, such as scanned copies of journal articles and book chapters.