The Library's Special Collections, including that of the Fryer Library, has manuscript and archival collections which can provide primary source material to support your research. Some of the different types of material include:
Papers and Records
Papers (of individuals) and records (of organisations or groups) have a variety of material in them. For example, the Records of the Queensland Art Fund contains meeting minutes, annual reports, correspondence and newspaper cuttings. The Papers of artist Harold Parker also contain correspondence and newspaper cuttings, but also includes sketches, personal papers and exhibition catalogues.
Larger collections, with a call number beginning UQFL, are housed in one or more manuscript boxes, and many have a finding aid which lists the contents of the boxes. Smaller collections, often a single folder, have a call number beginning with F. Both UQFL and F manuscripts can be found using UQ Library Search. A list of our major art collections is also available online.
Ephemera refers to written or printed matter, often designed to be temporary, including posters, pamphlets, postcards, flyers and zines.
One example of art-related ephemera in Fryer Library are the Fryer Gallery Files, identified by a call number starting FGF. These files contain invitations, exhibition catalogues and price lists. They are a useful source of contemporary information on artists and exhibitions.
Some exhibition catalogues have been catalogued to the Fryer books collection. Find these using UQ Library Search.
For help to find or search collections, contact the Fryer Library: firstname.lastname@example.org or phone +61 7 3365 6236